We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Place to Stay in Camden”
Review of Birchwood

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birchwood
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My Favorite Place to Stay in Camden”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I stayed here in 2009 before it was redone. Since then the owners have added wifi and green touches like solar hot water and green amenities. It is set back off of the highway and very quiet. We had the corner king room which was really spacious and clean. The view of Penobscot Bay is what is called a "long view" meaning it is in the distance but still very peaceful and calming when you sit out on the porch that runs the length of the building. In the morning there is good coffee and juice plus delicious home made muffins (which I did not realize when I booked it). I don't come to Maine for a fancy room or the quaintness of a B & B (especially at $250/night). This is a friendly place, well run, and ultimately a great value for someone who wants to get out and enjoy Maine at its best. Just a couple of miles north of town but it feels even more country that Camden itself. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Our Corner King was great. All rooms seem pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okienla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    25
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
53
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Only a short stay but very friendly, new, clean, organic and nice site. Organic coffe that tastes great and home baked muffins. Slept with 4 people in 2 queen size beds. Everything perfect. Can only recommend to come to Camden and sleep here

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheRoxxLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, CT
Level Contributor
923 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed for 3 nights during the 3rd week of August under a special rate available that can be booked through the motel’s website. The motel is situated a few miles north of Camden which we appreciated. It sits on an incline with a distant view from the porch of Penobscot Bay. The owners have chosen to operate it in an eco friendly manner and operate a small organic farm behind the motel. Our recently remodeled, one of six, was spotless and up-to-date though we would have liked to have had a chest of drawers to store our clothes. One pleasant surprise was it included a mini refrigerator. Room rates include a simple continental breakfast of OJ, coffee, fresh fruit salad and breakfast pastry. The pastry each day of our stay was fruit scones. Neither butter nor preserves are provided so these tended to be a bit on the dry side. Overall, we were very happy with our stay and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: A special mid week rate is available for 3 or more nights after mid-August.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Wow! Eco-friendly and sustainable right down to the blueberry scones made fresh by the owner! The soap was from Maine, the mattress, all the furniture were all made in Maine;)
View of the ocean from afar!
Clean and Classy!
Did I mention affordable?! No? Then, yes it was inexpensive compared to other competitors.
I would definitely return again and again.

Sincerely,
Cheryl & Lynn (happy guests from Williamstown, MA)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowJams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed in the motel for one night yet had a wonderful experience. The motel is owned by a family and you can sense it when you're there. The price was fair and had a discount for AAA members. The room was clean and the sheets were bright-clean. Coffee and home-baked cookies in the morning with a great view from the balcony did it for us...
Jenny was really great and helpful.
Very cosy place to stay on the way to Bar Harbour..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T0niCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Birchwood is wonderful and reflects in every way its eco-friendly hosts, Jenny and Eric. My sister and I stayed 5 nights in the brand new 2-bedroom apartment -- we could have stayed forever! This is not your ordinary motel. The property is beautifully situated, the decor is tasteful and thoughtful, our rooms were fresh and spotless, and the breakfast scones were delicious. This is Maine as it was meant to be.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmeliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

Returned to Birchwood and enjoyed it even more than the first time. We had a king room and the room was perfectly clean, the bed was super comfy and the bathroom had been renovated. The owner was extremely helpful with both hiking advice and restaurant recommendations. We will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SatNamMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
1.2 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
2.8 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
2.3 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cedar Crest Inn
Cedar Crest Inn
#8 of 10 in Camden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood

Property: Birchwood
Address: 530 Belfast Rd, Camden, ME 04843-4522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Camden
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camden
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room is water view at solar-powered Birchwood - a vintage roadside lodge in charming Camden, Maine that is more like an agricultural bed & breakfast than a typical motel, hotel or inn. Set across the road from Penobscot Bay amid the lush gardens of its farmette. Owned and operated by a local family, Birchwood is well known as Camden's Best Value. Just 2.5 miles north of Camden's downtown harbor district. Offering a variety of lodging options: standard guest rooms, deluxe rooms, cottage and vacation rentals. Light continental breakfast of organic coffee and teas, fresh juice and fruit and a wholesome homemade baked good offered each morning in our spacious reception. Clean, green and uniquely Camden, Maine. What more do you really need? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Camden
Birchwood Motel Camden
Birchwood Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing