We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco friendly and guest friendly”
Review of Birchwood

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birchwood
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Orono, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Eco friendly and guest friendly”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The Birchwood Motel offers crisp white sheets, fluffy towels, and spotless accommodations. When not desiring a large multi course breakfast in a town with many such places.. head for the Birchwood. Breakfasts are fresh fruit and homemade muffins or scones. Coffee is strong and good. Decaf is unfortunately instant. Would recommend brewed decaf for those who must have it for a variety of health reasons and who love good coffee.
We stayed the night and very much enjoyed the company of guests chatting and sitting in the breakfast- lounge area as most were from out of state and being Mainers, we were able to give suggestions on best spots for views, easy hikes, and lobster rolls.
The Birchwood respects the environment and offers simple, comfortable rooms and breakfast. We felt welcome and recommend this charming old fashion and special spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSH1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    25
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
54
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed two nights here during our last trip to Camden. The owner was wonderful and actually upgraded us to the cottage for free since it wasn't booked and we were sleeping 3 people to 2 beds in our original booking. She also had a lot of good tips to give us on where to eat and as overall very friendly and welcoming. The rooms themselves were very cozy and comfortable, just like home, and we even had a fridge and small kitchen and a kitchen table to eat/work at. There was a breakfast in the morning of coffee, juice, fruit, and homemade muffins that we all really enjoyed. The wi-fi was nice and fast, unlike most other places I've stayed! The motel is about 2 miles outside of town, so it's only a 5-7 minute drive to get to the harbor. Overall, we had a great experience and will definitely return in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VJ_Di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I have been to Camden many times. This past June, I spent a long weekend here and it was the best lodging I've had in Maine. Yes, the rooms are clean and comfortable but what made it special was the environmentally sensitive operations and the lovely simplicity of the space. The flowers were blooming outside and the area was quiet, but not too far from town. The lobby was lovely and the breakfast was outstanding. Great scones, fruit, coffee. I will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This very well-run establishment takes its green credentials very seriously. The owners have spent a great deal of thought and effort into running an "small carbon footprint" motel that is very comfortable, exceptionally clean, and exceptional value (for the area). If you want choice antiques and haughty owners, you won't find it here. The owners are friendly and caring, but they don't hover or jump to anticipate your every whim or add extra (expensive) touches. They take great pride in Maine - offering Maine-made beds and bedding, soap hand-made in Maine, Maine grown fruit, and their own baked goods. You can spend much more money at motels and b&bs just down the road, but you won't sleep any better or in any more comfort. This was our second stay at the Birchwood, but it certainly won't be the last. Very highly recommended to the value conscious/eco-caring traveler.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My family recently vacationed in Maine and spent several days at the Birchwood. It was an excellent stay. The hosts were exceptionally friendly and their suggestions for hikes and restaurants were spot on. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable; the coffee strong and the homemade scones and biscuits were delicious. It is an easy drive to Camden and Rockland and makes a great home base for day trips. Jen even supplied us with a mini-fridge to keep some adult carbonated beverages cold. We would recommend the Birchwood to anyone looking for an economical, friendly place to stay while in the Camden area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_Bor_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlottetown
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed at the charming Birchwood Motel last week and were very pleased with everything. Friendly service, clean, bright & comfortable rooms, a lot of nice touches.The owners have obviously put a lot of thought into how to make their guests comfortable- delicious homemade baking made on site for breakfast with great coffee, very clean rooms with comfortable beds...what they do, they do well. I would stay again, without a doubt!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank airstreamerreddirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

One of the cleanest places we have ever stayed...you could have eaten off the floor! But that's about all I can say...the whole place was very bland and with no hot beverages available until breakfast,it was not a comfortable stay.Surely, as the owners are so eco friendly,it would be more green to provide coffee than to have a dozen or so cars taking the 6 mile round trip to Camden to buy hot drinks. Breakfast was minimal and we are much too old to be using jam/jelly jars to drink water out of...quirky but no!We would not stay again as for only 20 dollars more we have had much better accommodation in New England.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank wizbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
2.9 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
140 reviews
1.2 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
214 reviews
2.8 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
600 reviews
2.3 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
161 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood

Property: Birchwood
Address: 530 Belfast Rd, Camden, ME 04843-4522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Camden
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camden
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room is water view at unique solar-powered Birchwood - an adorable roadside lodge in charming Camden, Maine with clean simple accommodations that are more like European-style guest rooms or an agricultural bed and breakfast than the other motels, hotels or inns of Camden and Midcoast Maine. Set across the road from Penobscot Bay amid the lush gardens of our farmette. Located just 2.5 miles north of Camden's downtown harbor district. Offering guest rooms, cottage and a two bedroom vacation apartment. Light continental breakfast of organic coffee and teas, fresh juice and fruit and a wholesome homemade baked good offered each morning in our spacious common area. Clean, green and uniquely Camden, Maine. What more do you really need? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Camden
Birchwood Motel Camden
Birchwood Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing