We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort with Environmental Sensitivity”
Review of Birchwood Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birchwood Lodge
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I just spent 3 wonderful days and nights in Camden, the jewel of mid-coast Maine. My trip was enhanced by my restful nights in the comfort of my room at the Birchwood Motel. The room was recently renovated, from the furniture to the bed with cozy, new bed linens, to new bathroom fixtures. It was spotless! Breakfast was a perfect balance of fruit and fresh home-made scones, topped off with the most delicious organic, fresh coffee. I even had a coffee to go, with an extra scone!! The innkeepers, Jenny and Eric, were gracious hosts who made sure my stay was comfortable and my needs were met and my questions about local spots were answered. And as a bonus, all this is done in an environmentally conscious and responsible approach to inn keeping. This appealed to my personal values about protecting the environment even while staying in a comfortable, spotless room!! I look forward to staying at the Birchwood again soon!!
Wayne M.

Room Tip: All rooms have a vast view of Penobscot Bay, so no need to worry about picking a good room. They ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wjmboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Well appointed motel just outside of Camden, lovely view over Penobscot bay, pleasant covered veranda with chairs outside room, organic vegetable garden , chickens, forest behind adjacent to state park. Rooms and bathroom immaculate, with good cross ventilation. Unexpected light breakfast of fresh fruit and home baking with coffee, serve yourself, and enjoy patio with morning sun. We liked it a lot, and the owners/landlords were most hospitable, inviting. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank marc b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We just spent 2 relaxing nights at the Birchwood and were very pleased with our king room. Everything was spotless and the mattress was very comfortable to sleep on. And so many pillows! That was nice!

Solar heated water was plentiful and the front porch offered a lovely view of Penobscot Bay. The property is very quiet (their check-in ends at 7pm) which was so relaxing. Great coffee and nibbles in the morning. I do wish coffee could be available a little before 7am or relent and have Keurigs in each room :-) We were downtown at Mariners by 6am for coffee and breakfast - we do get up early, I admit!

Minor complaints - our bathroom window was directly overlooking the back "cottage" and with only a sheer curtain, it felt a bit exposed when taking a shower. Also, I did miss having a tub. Not a necessity certainly, but I do like to soak at the end of busy day "relaxing" on vacation!

Room Tip: Rooms farthest from the house/office may not have as good a view of the bay, but will be the quietes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gala62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We spent a terrific weekend here over the summer, and couldn't have been happier. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the location convenient, the grounds lovely, even the view is gorgeous. Jenny and Eric are fantastic hosts, always helpful and passionate about their mission and location. And the price is incredibly reasonable for the area, a real find. A perfect getaway spot without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

What a delightful surprise! The water is heated by solar energy and the sheets are dried in the sun for that wonderful fresher than fresh smell. The room was immaculate, the bed very comfy, lovely soft colors in the quilt and blanket. Breakfast with fresh homemade muffins and scones, fresh fruit and juice was just right. Jenny was very helpful, it's very convenient to Camden, and a lovely view. I really enjoyed my visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with our stay at the Birchwood Motel. Our rooms were very clean with nice décor...perfect for our 4 night stay there. We enjoyed having our homemade continental breakfast each morning with fresh organic muffins and scones, fresh fruit, coffee and tea. We had a great time meeting others. Jenny, the owner was so helpful by giving us tips of where to eat and things to see and do. We also enjoyed the view of the ocean from our porch. We will definitely stay at the Birchwood again when we come back to Maine!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHRISTINE806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had a lovely three days, using Birchwood Motel as our base to explore Maine.

The host, Jenny, could not have been more welcoming, gave us some great tips on where to go and where to eat etc. She was very generous with her time and also laid on coffee and home baked scones for breakfast time snacks*. For the price, the rooms are pretty large, ultra clean and the beds comfy. Got a great night sleep each day.

Only thing to say is that it is more than a little walk outside Camden so it is not the place to book if you want a drink in Camden and a short walk back to your lodgings!

*On breakfast, there is another review on here about not having a breakfast laid on but I don't think that's fair- the website says "Simple light continental breakfast: strong coffee (locally-roasted, organic, fair-trade), tea, fresh fruit and pastry (often using our own or other locally-grown fruit) offered each morning." That's what is provided and the scones were lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilBowen1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camden hotels
2.8 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
2.8 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
642 reviews
2.9 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
179 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
390 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cedar Crest Inn
Cedar Crest Inn
#8 of 10 in Camden
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Lodge

Address: 530 Belfast Rd, Camden, ME 04843-4522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camden
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room is water view at unique solar-powered Birchwood Lodge and Farmette - an adorable roadside eco inn on Coastal Route One in charming Camden, Maine with clean simple accommodations that are more like European-style guest rooms or an agricultural bed and breakfast than the other motels, hotels or inns of Camden and Midcoast Maine. Set across the road from Penobscot Bay amid our lush gardens. Located just 2.5 miles north of Camden's downtown harbor district. Offering guest rooms, cottage and a two bedroom vacation apartment. Light continental breakfast of organic coffee and teas, fresh fruit, juice, and a wholesome homemade scones made with organic ingredients, fruit and eggs raised right here at Birchwood is offered each morning in our spacious common area. Clean, green and uniquely Camden, Maine. What more do you really need? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Camden
Birchwood Motel Camden
Birchwood Lodge Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing