We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camden stay on way to Bar Harbor”
Review of Birchwood Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birchwood Lodge
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Were looking for place to stay in Camden on way up to Bar Harbor and chose the Birchwood Motel--which turned out to be the perfect choice. Great room, beautiful grounds with great view and just short ride out of downtown Camden. In the morning before heading out, enjoyed sitting outside with cup of coffee and muffins/fresh fruit salad. Would have loved to have stayed another night or two, will definitely be back next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Donmckaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

I was torn between average and very good for this review. I opted for very good since there were a few more pros than cons.
Pros: The room is clean and in good shape. It has been kept up and looks modern. The price is also decent. Despite some previous reviews, we found the gentlemen at the front desk to be amiable. It is also nice that this is a sustainable and environmentally friendly place.
Cons: When they say light breakfast, they really mean it. Do not count on it for your meal. It's just tiny muffins and a community fruit bowl. Also, I realize this place is in the woods, but comparatively to other places we stayed in woodsy areas, this place seemed to have a slightly higher insect issue than others. I am not sure if any treatment can be done regarding this. There were no ticks, so whatever it was that got in was merely a harmless nuisance.
Push: There is no fridge in the room, but you are welcome to keep items in the main fridge in the office. This did not really inconvenience us. There is no coffee in the room either, also not an inconvenience, but important to their sustainability mission. Be mindful that downtown Camden is not walkable from this place. Google maps says the walk to the happening places in Camden is about an hour, but only a 6 minute drive. This will only be an issue if someone does not care to be a designated driver.
Overall, recommended for a less expensive stay. Thumbs up for being Earth Friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HawkeyeCubs34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Camden is a cosmopolitan oasis on the Maine coast, filled with white people with money. But staying at the Birchwood takes any pretension right out of the visit and makes it more fulfilling than you could have imagined. If your goal is to burnish your posh cred, spend three times as much elsewhere. But if you want a great room with a wonderful view and proprietors who not only care for you but who have devoted themselves and their business to caring for their amazing environment, this is your place. It's called a motel because the layout is a motel: a line of rooms with parking outside the door and a road not far away. But over the road is a beautiful view of Penobscot Bay. The rooms are simple (we didn't see their two larger spaces) but very nicely designed and comfortable. What you don't get is as fulfilling as what you do: amenities that suck energy but aren't that useful are not there -- refrigerators, irons, coffee makers. When they ask you to hang the towels to save energy you believe them (and they are plush, comfortable towels). There's a garden out back that's more farm than garden and your morning scones or muffins have ingredients birthed literally yards away. The proprietors, Jenny and Eric, are caring and knowledgeable and have poured their hearts and souls into building a business that positively impacts their guests and the environement. We would have felt great about our stay even if we didn't feel great about what our stay meant, but add them together and it was an amazing four days.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I just spent 3 wonderful days and nights in Camden, the jewel of mid-coast Maine. My trip was enhanced by my restful nights in the comfort of my room at the Birchwood Motel. The room was recently renovated, from the furniture to the bed with cozy, new bed linens, to new bathroom fixtures. It was spotless! Breakfast was a perfect balance of fruit and fresh home-made scones, topped off with the most delicious organic, fresh coffee. I even had a coffee to go, with an extra scone!! The innkeepers, Jenny and Eric, were gracious hosts who made sure my stay was comfortable and my needs were met and my questions about local spots were answered. And as a bonus, all this is done in an environmentally conscious and responsible approach to inn keeping. This appealed to my personal values about protecting the environment even while staying in a comfortable, spotless room!! I look forward to staying at the Birchwood again soon!!
Wayne M.

Room Tip: All rooms have a vast view of Penobscot Bay, so no need to worry about picking a good room. They ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wjmboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Well appointed motel just outside of Camden, lovely view over Penobscot bay, pleasant covered veranda with chairs outside room, organic vegetable garden , chickens, forest behind adjacent to state park. Rooms and bathroom immaculate, with good cross ventilation. Unexpected light breakfast of fresh fruit and home baking with coffee, serve yourself, and enjoy patio with morning sun. We liked it a lot, and the owners/landlords were most hospitable, inviting. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank marc b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We just spent 2 relaxing nights at the Birchwood and were very pleased with our king room. Everything was spotless and the mattress was very comfortable to sleep on. And so many pillows! That was nice!

Solar heated water was plentiful and the front porch offered a lovely view of Penobscot Bay. The property is very quiet (their check-in ends at 7pm) which was so relaxing. Great coffee and nibbles in the morning. I do wish coffee could be available a little before 7am or relent and have Keurigs in each room :-) We were downtown at Mariners by 6am for coffee and breakfast - we do get up early, I admit!

Minor complaints - our bathroom window was directly overlooking the back "cottage" and with only a sheer curtain, it felt a bit exposed when taking a shower. Also, I did miss having a tub. Not a necessity certainly, but I do like to soak at the end of busy day "relaxing" on vacation!

Room Tip: Rooms farthest from the house/office may not have as good a view of the bay, but will be the quietes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gala62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We spent a terrific weekend here over the summer, and couldn't have been happier. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the location convenient, the grounds lovely, even the view is gorgeous. Jenny and Eric are fantastic hosts, always helpful and passionate about their mission and location. And the price is incredibly reasonable for the area, a real find. A perfect getaway spot without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
2.9 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
175 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
643 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
3.9 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
2.3 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Lodge

Address: 530 Belfast Rd, Camden, ME 04843-4522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camden
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room is water view at unique solar-powered Birchwood Lodge and Farmette - an adorable roadside eco inn on Coastal Route One in charming Camden, Maine with clean simple accommodations that are more like European-style guest rooms or an agricultural bed and breakfast than the other motels, hotels or inns of Camden and Midcoast Maine. Set across the road from Penobscot Bay amid our lush gardens. Located just 2.5 miles north of Camden's downtown harbor district. Offering guest rooms, cottage and a two bedroom vacation apartment. Light continental breakfast of organic coffee and teas, fresh fruit, juice, and a wholesome homemade scones made with organic ingredients, fruit and eggs raised right here at Birchwood is offered each morning in our spacious common area. Clean, green and uniquely Camden, Maine. What more do you really need? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Camden
Birchwood Motel Camden
Birchwood Lodge Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing