We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner”
Review of Cappy's Chowder House - CLOSED

Cappy's Chowder House
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We ate at Cappy's after touring the delightful town of Camden. The Lobster Roll was awesome and the service and atmosphere are superb. Great place to eat when in Camden.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuckTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    448
    244
    91
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orono, ME
Level Contributor
133 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Ridiculous”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

While I recognize that rents in Camden are very high, there is no excuse for the 53 dollar lunch price tag on two very small orders of scallops with sweet potato fries with one beer and one ice tea. The waiter was terse, rushed, and inattentive. The decor was shabby and dated in the "new" part of their restaurant. You can do so much better in Camden, travelers, pass on this and choose another.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HarpGirl207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the expanded space!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

There is nothing over the top about Cappys. The chowder is excellent, the ambiance fun and relaxed, and the prices are reasonable.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BusyMomofFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corrales
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Too much grease”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Very mediocre food. My fish had so much sauce that I could have been eating anything. My husband's dish was almost too greasy to eat..

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“One of our favorite spots”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Love the location and the food. Also had many great beers. Finally the atmosphere is very much a Maine place to be

Recommended highly

Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cappy's Chowder House also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing