We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chowduh”
Review of Cappy's Chowder House - CLOSED

Cappy's Chowder House
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great chowduh”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Lobster salad 'B', southwestern chowder 'A-' Quick friendly service in the bar section which is crowded with small tables. Not easy to move around in. Very pleasant though.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank geezerfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    448
    244
    91
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
STERLING
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and location”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We ate a late lunch here. My wife and I had the mini lobster roll and Chowder special. I had crab and corn Chowder and my wife had the haddock Chowder. Both were excellent. We ate on the bar side and enjoyed it.

Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overrated and noisy and crowded”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Fare is fair at best. Menu is bland and typical with no excitement or surprises. It's active and sometimes loud. Skip it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apopka
Level Contributor
145 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great place to eat later in the evening. Food is very good. The bar areas are fun and the upstairs is a party place.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The clam chowder was excellent and so were the piss clams. Enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and bar area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank c9860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good chowder”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The chowder was good, but not really knock your socks off good, and not a lot of chowder selections.
Fun atmosphere tho, cool place.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank riverboy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cappy's Chowder House also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing