We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for lunch on the Harbor”

Peter Ott's on the water
Ranked #9 of 48 Restaurants in Camden
Price range: US$8 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, View, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located on Camden Harbor next to the public landing, serving lunch and dinner. Enjoy our comfortable warm inside seating with two fireplaces or our outside seating, only feet from the harbor and schooners with panoramic views of Camden Harbor.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch on the Harbor”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I went to lunch with a friend as we were in the area and wanted to eat at a place where we could enjoy the beautiful weather. Peter Ott’s was the place to go. We must have timed eating lunch at the right time as we did not have to wait for an outdoor seat to open up. The atmosphere was great as we could have a personal discussion as well as enjoy the surroundings. Our food was great and cooked as expected. The service was very good until we were done with our meal and waiting to settle our bill. Our waitress seemed to have been gone for a good 10-15 minutes after clearing our table from our plates. It wasn’t a huge deal but we were expecting the service to be a bit better.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 321GregB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    206
    102
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food, Excellent Service”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Our company was visiting Maine on business, and I and three of my associates had dinner at Peter Ott's. We didn't have a reservation, but they were very accommodating. Our waitress Kelsey was very helpful and courteous, and while we only planned on staying for drinks, we ended up staying for dinner.

What a great decision. Our appetizers were excellent, and my main course, the haddock, was off the charts. We even thanked the head chef because we were so pleased.

Great evening all around!

Helpful?
4 Thank chasepattison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great view--medium food”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The view from our table was great but service was slow. The food is basic and the prices are high. Go here for drinks and get dinner somewhere else.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Charming location, good food.”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I was exploring the middle coast of Maine on a solo day trip and Peter Ott's was filled with diners and it was right on the harbor pier. Hostess was terrific and didn't blink when I asked for a table for one. Clam chowder was very good and the calamari and arugula salad was fresh and crispy. The pairing was just enough to fuel some post lunch shopping and further travels to Rockport and Rockland. Parking in Camden in August is somewhat of a nightmare.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally5450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average ”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I sat at the bar for a drink and quick lunch. The lobster corn chowder was delicious, caprese salad was ok. Bartender was busy preparing drinks for the rest of the restaurant, and talking to other guests so the service wasn't the best.

Helpful?
Thank Jbas0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peter Ott's on the water also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Peter Ott's on the water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing