We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Restaurant; Good Food; Great Views”
Review of Waterfront

Waterfront
Ranked #7 of 49 Restaurants in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fun Restaurant; Good Food; Great Views”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We didn't plan to, but we ended up eating lunch and dinner in this restaurant on a recent November Saturday.

We were looking for a restaurant with a waterside view and a seafood menu...this fit the bill for lunch and we were seated in the bar area by the window. We really wanted to have lobster rolls, but to our surprise, they didn't have them on the menu. We actually decided to leave, and talked to the manager on the way out. She assured us that we could indeed get lobster rolls - they just weren't on the winter menu. So we stayed and had some lobster rolls, beers and Bloody Marys. One member of our party even had the whole lobster. We were glad we stayed because we enjoyed the food and the atmosphere.

Later that night, we were in a group of 8...after talking through a few options, the group settled on Waterfront, so that's how we ended up there twice in one day.

For dinner, we tried the lobster chowder (lobster stew?) and a whole lobster. Again the food was good and a good time was had by all...this is not fine dining, but a good option for casual lunch or dinner on the water.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    412
    166
    55
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN USA
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Camden”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We went to the Waterfront at the suggestion of friends we were visiting, who live there. We had a good dinner, excellent service, and very nice atmosphere. We would go back there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ramcclain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful located with a nice view. Very good quality for the money”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We came through Camden and found this restaurant located in the sun at the Harbor side. We did expect ot have a good view - but nothing else in particular. Fortunately we were very positively suprised and enjoyed our lunch so much - that we 2 days later came back for the same. Very good inded

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JorgenG2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Greeat view; good food”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

It is such a joy to be able to sit on the water and so few places in the world allow this. To be able to enjoy the view and have very good food is even better. We had a great lunch here, feasting on east coast seafood. Sigh!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank marjorie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food, nice place on the water”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I arrived in Camden late on a rainy night and picked Waterfront because it was one of sevral recommended to me, and it was easy to find. I wasn't disappointed. Started with good chowder--not the best I;ve had, but thick and tasty, and lobster with linguine. The sauce was rich but not too much so, the portion perhaps a bit to generous, and it was full of lobster, nice big chunks of meat--rare in my experience for a lobster pasta. Service was helpful, friendly, reasonably quick--o complaints at all. It's a classic New England waterfront fish spot, looks just like places I used to visit many years ago, with its wood panelling, and homey atmosphere, casual and friendly. If you love waterfront views, note that the Camden waterfront isn't lit after dark, but the view should be great in the day, and the dining room is arranged so that everyone gets a view. All in all, not the meal of a lifetime, but a very good meal and a welcoming atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hillretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterfront also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing