We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Can't Wait To Go Back!"”
Review of Abigail's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abigail's Inn
Ranked #14 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“"Can't Wait To Go Back!"”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My young son and I arrived on the doorstep of Abigail's Inn feeling quite weary from a long day not going as we had hoped. I was preparing to put on a brave face for our host when the door opened and we quite literally fell into the open arms of Beth, who embraced us with the most incredible warmth and welcome - she made me tea and her children took mine off to play. The Inn is fresh, clean, beautiful and cozy, Beth and Kipp accommodated a food allergy with grace (and deliciousness!), it was a lovely neighborhood to walk around, and we cannot wait to come back. This is a very, very special place, and we were delighted to find new friends as well as a lovely home-away-from-home.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuburbanMythology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
59
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The owners are incredibly nice, the main building is a fabulous example of its period, and the location is perfect. I stayed in one of the rooms in the outbuilding (attached to the house), and it was very nice with several extra touches I did not expect - a period building, fully renovated as two rooms. Breakfast was very good. There is lots of parking. A perfect example of a small B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skipper090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This is a beautiful bed and breakfast inn very close to the main street. we walked everywhere. The room we stayed in (The Jefferson Davis Room) was perfect in every way. Owner, Beth welcomed us and was very pleasant. Kip, her husband, served up the best breakfast...both made our stay memorable. We shall return (see our photos).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My husband took me to Maine for a milestone birthday celebration in late July. What a fantastic time we had in Camden only to be made better by the accommodations at Abigail's Inn! Beth and Kipp could not have been any nicer or more gracious. Their Inn is beautiful and immaculate and full of history. Kipp was a wonderful breakfast chef each morning and very fun to chat with. Beth set us up each day with GREAT suggestions on places to go and eat as well as activities to keep us busy. They really know the area well and have experienced everything they suggested first hand. We stayed in the Copper Beech suite which was HUGE and totally spotless. The bed was dreamy and everything was in perfect order. I would go back in a heartbeat (and wish I could today!)!

Room Tip: Excellent choice for couples wanting private, king sized accommodations. Private entrance in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaveBookWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Had a wonderful stay in the Rose Garden Room. The homemade breakfast was amazing and everyone was so friendly. This BnB is within walking distance into town (just a few mins) and it's very clean! I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We enjoyed this as much as we've enjoyed any B&B. Kipp and Beth are wonderful, just really nice. The house is spotless, the rooms are generous size, breakfast is something interesting every day which is great fun. Most important is that it is a short walk in to Camden; there are many inns that are a good distance away.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMNOQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This was a surprise trip for my wife for her birthday, and all I knew about Abigail's were a few recommendations, so I was unsure of how well it would work out. I had no need to worry; our stay far exceeded my most optimistic expectations.

The location, from one to four blocks to the harbor and town center, is so convenient. The very friendly and helpful innkeepers (Kipp and Beth) go out of their way to make guests feel comfortable and welcome. I asked the owners in advance to put some champagne and flowers in the room and we were greeted by 18 beautiful long-stem roses and an exquisite bottle of brut! Breakfast was excellent and our suite was ultra clean and very beautifully decorated with little to no traffic noise despite our fronting on the street in busiest part of the summer. Comfort was first-class.

Abigail's Inn and its owners are magnificent and we'll be back for an even longer stay at the end of the season. We haven't seen any other B&B's in Camden, so I can't in all honesty say this is the best, but I cannot imagine that there could be anything better, especially for the price. Do yourself a favor and stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashurbanipol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.2 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camden Windward House
Camden Windward House
#6 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Inn

Property: Abigail's Inn
Address: 8 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at one of Camden, Maine's most intimate Bed & Breakfasts with private off-street parking in a great location - just steps from the center of town and the harbor. Choose from one of our 4 well appointed guest rooms, enjoy a delicious breakfast and then start off on your daily adventure - sailing, hiking, kayaking, shopping, dining, or just kicking back on our large front porch. Come rest, relax, and leave the car behind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abigail's Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing