We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm refreshes”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swan House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Pictou, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old world charm refreshes”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent three days in Camden this month, and two wonderful nights at Swan House. We have stayed at many B & Bs in recent years and Swan House has to rate among the very best. The 'home' rooms and those in the cottage are immaculately kept and artistically appointed. Lyn and Ken are among the happiest, most engaging couples we have seen in our B & B travels and the breakfasts are unparalleled--and she even has the recipes for her gourmet main and dessert items for sale in a handsome cookbook! Free WiFi, but no TVs in the rooms--which really only added to the atmosphere. Any 'quibbles'? Well, few B & Bs seem to have quite enough bathroom shelf space or any conveniently-located electric outlets that aren't already filled with their lamps cords, so finding an outlet for recharging iPads and phones is difficult (I finally found a plug in the bathroom). Swan House will be a 'must-stay' for us when in the area again. Superlative accommodations and atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brianie370z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and I recently stayed for one night at the Swan House. Ken and Lyn were very pleasant and helpful in recommending places to go and things to do in the area. Our room was quiet. Like many other reviewers have mentioned, the breakfast is simply exquisite! There was a large spread of various cereals and granola, fruit, and homemade pastries, along with a main entree. Everything was delicious, and Lyn even printed out a copy of the recipe for her homemade granola. The Swan House is a short walk into town and is in a quieter area than the heavy traffic that goes along Route 1. Overall we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lvpup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris Plains, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We just returned from Camden, ME where we stayed at the lovely Swan House B&B. Ken & Lyn are gracious hosts with attention to detail. The Swan Loft is picture prefect, cozy and clean and spacious. The breakfast spread every morning was super delicious, with endless coffee, lots of pastries, home made treats and fresh fruit. Lyn even shared her recipe for a delicious pear crisp that I just had to have. Lyn insisted we pack leftover pastries for our day trips. We received plenty of tips and info on what to do and see. They recommended a spectacular light house tour, a museum visit on a rainy day and that sought after experience of eating lobster at a Lobster Shack right on the water. Thank you! We had a great time. We hope to be back next year. Ivana & Reggie.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

4 of us were at Swan House last week, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! From the moment we were greeted by Lynn and Ken we knew we had made the right choice. The rooms are very clean and cozy. The breakfast every morning was simply phenomenal, a wide assortment of pastries, fresh fruit, and a hot entree. Camden is a lovely town to visit and we shall again. As a visitor you have many choices to stay in Camden, and I assure you that you can't go wrong staying at Swan House !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLewis1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentwood, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Swan House in 2005. I know it's been a while but I don't think TAdvisor has been around that long. We stayed one night and found it very accommodating and quiet. It is just outside of town making it a peaceful setting. Hosts were very nice and breakfast was excellent. I would recommend for the value. The Youngtown Inn up the road ( also recommended ) has an amazing chef owner. Go there for a dinner but call ahead, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TangiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Delightful doesn’t begin to describe the experience that awaits you at the Swan House in beautiful Camden, Maine. Longtime innkeepers, Ken and Lyn, operate a B & B that is a cut above the rest. From the wonderfully decorated spacious rooms, to a gazebo to relax in and maybe sip a bottle of local wine, to Mount Battie in the back yard, this is a place to rest the mind, body, and soul. Oh, and to top it all off, Lyn is a master of breakfast creations sure to please the fussiest palate. We have been going every October since 2005 and meet others who have been going even longer. That speaks for itself

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnmteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers-1993, Owner at Swan House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review! We're glad that you have chosen The Swan House as your special getaway, to relax, unwind, and to enjoy the annual friend's reunion with us and the other guests that you've met over the years. We could not be happier that your first visit back in 2005 has resulted in return trips to Camden and our inn. You two are the best! See you next October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, Ky.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This was our first experience staying in a B&B and what a great experience it was. Room was great and extremely clean. We stayed in the Leda room which had a good size bathroom attached. Breakfast was worth the price of the room and our host and hostess were very cordial and accomadating. Would definitely stay here again if we are ever back in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers-1993, Owner at Swan House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
It truly was a pleasure to meet you! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Swan House B & B! It's nice to know that our inn was your very first B & B experience, and that it proved to be an enjoyable one for you. Bed and Breakfasts are a great option for travellers who prefer the ambiance and security of staying in a comfortable older home, as opposed to a hotel environment. We're also happy to know that you enjoyed breakfast. We try to provide our guests with the best breakfast possible to start their day. Please come visit with us again someday if your travel plans bring you back to Camden, Maine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.5 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.5 mi away
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Camden Place
The Inn at Camden Place
#15 of 19 in Camden
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Swan House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 49 Mountain St, Camden, ME 04843-1635
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Swan House Bed & Breakfast Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing