We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Camden Gem"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #11 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Our maiden trip to midcoast Maine was truly wonderful and relaxing. We are so glad we stayed at The Timbercliffe. The Inn is in a great location. Nestled on a wooded hillside, overlooking the bay, on the north end of town. This is a 200 year old home and it has been very lovingly restored and decorated in it's time period. The rooms are beautiful and everything is clean and neat. Each morning, we sat with other guests at the long table in the diningroom, which seats 12 people. We had a great time exchanging travel stories with the other guests at breakfast. Breakfast was delicious, and beautifully presented. In the evenings, after a day of exploring, it was so relaxing to sit by the fireplace in the library, or the gathering room. You always came home to some of Karen's yummy cookies. Dave and Karen are excellent hosts. They make you feel right at home. They told us about places to see that only someone who lives there would know, not just the popular tourist spots. We look forward to returning to Timbercliffe next year. Thank you Dave and Karen, for a wonderful time. We couldn't have asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ikeltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

We are from Australia and stayed 4 nights .Karen and Dave our hosts couldn't do enough to ensure a happy stay Dave with his easy going manner and Karen whose breakfasts each morning are different and varied .Their hospitality made our stay so enjoyable .
We had the Chauncey room ,which we booked some months earlier,it was huge with its own fireplace ,large ,comfy king bed with views over Penscobert Bay .
Timbercliffe is an old traditional home extremely well maintained and decorated in a manner to suit the home ,so it's not flash and brassy .It is wonderfully comfortable with a large sitting room and fireplace ,a separate library room ,covered verandah where you can sit in the early evening or as we did have breakfast on those warmer mornings .
We have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone ,just bare in mind you are not staying at a 6 star hotel .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Timbercliffe is simply a wonderful place to stay when visiting Camden and it's surrounding areas. The innkeepers, Karen and Dave are wonderful hosts and truly make you feel at home during your stay. This was my 3rd stay(and my wifes 4th) at the Timbercliffe and besides the beautiful Inn, gourmet breakfasts and charming atmosphere, Dave and Karen are possibly the Timbercliffe's greatest assets. Nothing is too much trouble, including dietary requirements and restaurant recommendations and they have many interesting tales to share.

We stayed in the Goodwyfe Mary Chamber and it's a wonderful room. Large but cozy and with great views down to the water, it's also very quiet and welcoming after a day exploring the wonderful Camden region.

The Inn is within a 15 minute walk to the center of Camden , past some beautiful homes and gardens and Camden itself has many areas of interest to keep you occupied.

The Timbercliffe is an absolutely wonderful place to spend some time and along with Karen and Dave it is the only place we want to be when we visit Camden. Great food, great times and great company make the Timbercliffe an amazing experience. Stay here and experience it for yourself!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thundakowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending two nights at the Timbercliffe Cottage this past August (we stayed in the Goodwyfe Mary Chamber). We had one of those ideal Maine weekends where it was sunny and warm during the day and cozy and cool at night. The Timbercliffe and its precious innkeepers, Dave and Karen, offered the perfect spot to enjoy it all.

Both of our mornings began with an incredible gourmet breakfast by Karen, who tries to incorporate local and seasonal produce into all of her dishes. Not to mention the homemade cookies she bakes every afternoon - yum! We spent several hours of reading and relaxing on their beautiful, expansive porch where we took in great views of Camden Harbor. After exploring downtown Camden (we found our 15 minute walk from the inn to downtown a great way to see the town and definitely manageable if you're active), we returned to wind down in the beautifully appointed living room where Dave had the fireplace going for the perfect ambience on a cool Maine night.

We loved everything about our weekend at the Timbercliffe - from the luxurious linens and freshly ground coffee to the historic touches that highlight the Victorian beauty of the home without making it seem like a stuffy old house. Dave and Karen really know the surrounding areas and are quick to offer the best spots for dining and sightseeing. We highly recommend choosing the Timbercliffe Cottage and can't wait for our next visit to this piece of heaven in mid-coast Maine!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We just returned from 2 nights at Timbercliffe. Everything you read about is true. From the moment we opened the front door we felt at home. Dave and Karen are so welcoming and easy going. They have thought of everything. Everyone should stay here at least once in their lifetime. Make sure to eat all your breakfast, because there is so much to explore in Camden you will need the energy. The walk to town is not to be missed. It took about 10-15 minutes, passing by beautiful homes, make sure to get directions from Dave, to take Sea St and then walk around harbor park. With out his suggestions we would have missed the incredible waterfall!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weigh2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We recently enjoyed four nights at Timbercliffe Cottage and have been mentally composing a review and wondering how to do this wonderful home and inn keepers justice. I can only echo all the positive comments made by all the other reviewers. Go and stay with Dave and Karen at Timbercliffe and you will have a place you will want to return to for another chance to make happy memories.

Room Tip: We are sure any room will have it's own charm.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roonie218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed for two nights in June 2013. Very comfortable rooms. Great porch where you can sit and relax. Homemade cookies and coffee/tea available for guests any time. Too far to walk into town, so you'll have to drive. Owners were very nice and gave lots of info on things to do. Breakfasts were wonderful.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Louis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbercliffe, Owner at Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Thank you for you nice comments. Also, thank you for mentioning our location. As stated by a previous review we are approximately a 15 minute walk to the Camden business district and there is a sidewalk for your safety. Many of our guests do walk into town and prefer our location because we have very few issues with road noise as we are located onTimbercliffe Drive.

Warmest regards,


Dave and Karen Kallstrand
Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
1.0 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
659 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#3 of 10 in Rockport
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Camden Windward House
Camden Windward House
#4 of 19 in Camden
395 reviews
7.1 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Camden Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 7 Timbercliffe Dr, Camden, ME 04843-4524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range: £128 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timbercliffe Cottage Bed and Breakfast is in a senic location on Timbercliffe Drive with romantic views of Penobscot Bay. This historic home is centrally located between downtown Camden, Maine and Camden Hills State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing