We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I miss the Timbercliffe already...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #12 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tallong, Australia.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I miss the Timbercliffe already...”
Reviewed 14 June 2009

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in mid May this year. It was our second stay at the Timbercliffe and was just as good as our first(2008). Dave, Karen and Caffrey the Golden Retriever are wonderful hosts/innkeepers and do absolutely everything possible to make your stay a pleasant and memorable one, from sightseeing tips to restaurant recommendations and general good conversation, they are both only too happy to help.
The Timbercliffe itself is a magnificent building, full of history and antiques that add to it's character and ambience. Everywhere you look, there is something to admire and Karen has done a tremendous job in decorating the Timbercliffe to extremely high standards.
Breakfast is awesome, and waking up to the incredible smells of freshly baked goods or canadian maple bacon cooking was a great way to start the day. If you are lucky enough, Dave may even make his "Signature scrambled Eggs"!
Camden's town center is only a minute or two by car, or 10 minutes easy walk. The Timbercliffe's location is convenient, yet quiet in the historic area of Camden with many magnificent homes.
I would not hesitate to recommend the Timbercliffe to anyone looking for superb accomodations in the Camden area, and if we return to Camden again, the Timbercliffe will be the first place we would look to stay.

Shane and Melanie - Australia.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thundakowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
182
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Dave and Karen were wonderful innkeepers, beautiful detail interior decor.
the whole house decorated in primitive and 1800's a lot of detail and hard work you just have to stay there to enjoy every bit of it. The porch had a spectaular view, it was more than just a B&B. within miles to Camden and other wonderful restuarants. Would love to go back. The breakfast was wonderful lots to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug2009_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beautifulview, owner/manager at Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 8 June 2009
Thank you so much for the great review. Just thought we should point out that we are located in the Historic District of Camden, Maine less than one mile from the center of town.

Best regards,

Innkeepers of Timbercliffe Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2009

Timbercliffe exceeded our expectations. Never have I ever wanted to extend my stay during a vacation but Timbercliffe proved to be the exception. Karen and Dave are warm, accomodating, friendly and helpful hosts. The complimentary breakfast was creative and delicious. The overall value is superb when considering the excellent view of Penobscot Bay, the before-mentioned breakfast, the understated and cozy decor and the beautiful East coast surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moodyrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2009

We stayed here at the end of September and had a great time. The attention to detail was outstanding. The inn owners were fantastic and had great ideas on how to enjoy the local area. The breakfast was top notch and we really enjoyed being treated like family. The view from the porch is amazing and can be enjoyed at any time with a great cup of coffee and cookie that was homemade

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, fl
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2008

The hosts at the Timbecliffe inn are very accomodating, and welcome you into their home as if it were your own.
We stayed in the 1620 chamber and our room was very well appointed. However, if you have people in your party who are large, be aware the bathroom in this room is very small. This was minor for us, but definately an observation for review.
Overall we had a wonderful experience at this B&B.

  • Liked — The whole experience
  • Disliked — The small bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Harr7855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

Timbercliffe is run by a nice couple who made us very welcome and did everything they could to make our stay perfect. We found the place on the net after someone recommended the Camden area. As it turned out both were great.

The place is beautifully maintained top to bottom and looks like the perfect New England house. A picture postcard place in every sense.

The room was very nicely laid out and decorated. All the fittings and accessories (i.e. towels and bedding) in the room and bath were top quality. The bedroom was a little cramped but only because it had loads of useful furniture and fittings. We had plenty of cupboard space.

We had the run of the house with use of a great Living room (with fire lit to take of the unexpected August chill - really!!. 14oC daytime temp in Boston), reading room, dining room, kitchen with provisions, patio and porch. Only problem we had was not enough time to take advantage of it all.

We had a view from our room over the bay, but we were a bit inland. Breakfast was all cooked from scratch and the same tip-top quality.

The house is a little way north of Camden town centre, a very quick drive but I guess a long walk which would still be OK if you have time on your hands. The town is very nice. There's a selection of restaurants and the owners recommended a place to us we don't like seafood that much. A common problem in fishing area like this. We spent much of the next day there and still didn't get to see it all. Had a good lunch and browsed around the nice mix of shops. We hope to return and spend more time in the future.

Overall a great place to stay. A bit expensive but you do get quality in return.

  • Liked — Top Quality
  • Disliked — Cost
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 955Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We recently spent two nights in mid August at the Timbercliffe & had a wonderful time. The hosts Karen & Dave are warm friendly & run a super operation with careful attention to every detail. They’re not from Camden, but have been in the area long enough to be an excellent source on local attractions & restaurants. Our room was clean & spotless. The bed was one of the most comfortable of the entire trip. They are located about a mile from the heart of downtown, which makes for a nice & scenic walk. We left the car parked for most of our stay. Breakfast was on the porch & delicious both days. I wish the superb bacon they served was available in the Midwest. We had a delightful stay at a first class B&B. The Timbercliffe is highly recommended.

  • Liked — Clean & comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobV_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.8 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
127 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#4 of 19 in Camden
341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Camden Windward House
Camden Windward House
#5 of 19 in Camden
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 7 Timbercliffe Dr, Camden, ME 04843-4524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timbercliffe Cottage Bed and Breakfast is in a senic location on Timbercliffe Drive with romantic views of Penobscot Bay. This historic home is centrally located between downtown Camden, Maine and Camden Hills State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing