We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing meal!”
Review of Francine Bistro

Francine Bistro
Ranked #10 of 48 Restaurants in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Miami Fl
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing meal!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had reservations for Primo but my pure accident we stopped first for dessert and were so impressed we cancelled Primo and booked Francine's . The meal was amazing, service was superb and everything was perfect.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank turly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    83
    44
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arlington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We had the mussels and the chicken. Both were very good and unique. The restaurant itself has a cool ambiance and our server was very helpful in picking our dishes. Ask for the focaccia bread it was delicious. I would say worth a trip.

Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland Center, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"not impressed"”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The chef's combinations were spot on--a delight to the taste buds. The problems lie with the wait staff who forgot about us, the bar tender rolling his eyes when I sent my drink back-lack of ginger in a Ginger Gin special drink and when I asked to have what the table next to me was having I was told it was special just for them and I could not order it. The food was the only good part of the evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Boothbay, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top rated for midcoast Maine”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The bistro style, eclectic flair of this very forward, trendy establishment was a delight. The food choices were excellent, preparation and presentation excellent and the service was first rate and attentive. We drove 1 and 1/2 hours to go eat there and we would definitely do it again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ernie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMDEN
Level Contributor
122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Our Camden Favorite”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

There are many good restaurants in our town, but Francine has always been the one we go to when we want a special evening. Some complain that it's too noisy or that the menu is too limited, which can be true, but the food and celebratory atmosphere never fails to give us the feeling of having had a special night out after a dinner at Francine. (And they will almost always turn down the volume of the background music if I ask.) Items that other restaurants slack off on, like salads or sides, are given special attention here, and there's seldom a sour note in their presentation or service. City visitors are always impressed by Francine's casual sophistication and ask to go back when next in town. It may cost a little more than other Camden restaurants, but we continue to think that it's a good value.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CHARLES G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Francine Bistro also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Francine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing