We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, mediocre atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Francine Bistro

Francine Bistro
Ranked #11 of 47 Restaurants in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, NH
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food, mediocre atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We enjoyed our meals, which were creative and delicious. Unfortunately, we found the dining room to be devoid of atmosphere, crowded, with little attention being paid to creating an environment to match the cuisine. The service was excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    81
    44
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bowdoinham, Maine
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

From the first contact of making a reservation for that night to the last sip of coffee after dinner - the experience at Francine's was positive. The wait staff is friendly and attentive but not hovering. The food ... Well, the food is just the best. My husband, who is not effusive about food, was still talking about the best pork chops he's ever had the next day. Each meal was creative combinations of flavors. I cannot recommend this hidden nugget highly enough!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Walkers44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saco, Maine
Level Contributor
80 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Favorite Mid-Coast Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have been to Francine three times in the last year. Each visit was a memorable, delicious experience. First--great waitstaff. Unpretentious, warm, knowledgeable, well trained--always a big help with daunting selection process. Fantastic breads. Imaginative menu featuring predominantly local ingredients. (I enjoyed a spectacular line-caught halibut dish, as good as any I can recall.) Wonderful dishes for meat-eaters, vegetarians, seafood lovers--everyone who loves food prepared with lots of flavorful ingredients. $5 vegetable side dishes are not to be missed. Buy several and share. (Brussels sprouts as God intended them.) Rich, intriguing desserts. (A few too many are goats milk-based for my personal liking.) Great locally roasted coffees and espresso. Nice, long, relaxed meal. Ahh.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaribbeanFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Mountains, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Our Maine best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was our third dining experience. Francine is absolutely our favorite Maine restaurant. We have always been nicely greeted. The waitstaff are professional and friendly. My husband started with roast Rhode Island calamari and raved about it. Very substantial starter. I always order the wild pemaquid oysters. A taste sensation - salty, slightly spicy, creamy, smoky. We each had the herb roast lobster. The lobster was so sweet and tender. Accompaniments were plentiful and flavorful. Particularly enjoyed the vegetable "salad." We hope to return each time we're in Maine!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Reader17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
122 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Very Happy Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were in Camden, ME on our anniversary and wanted a special place for dinner. A lovely lady at the front desk of our motel recommended Francine's. It happened to be her anniversary as well and she insisted in calling ahead for reservations. When we arrived we were escorted to our table and presented with a menu with the date and "Happy Anniversary" printed at the top.

It only got better. The food was spectacular and the service exceptional. A special that evening was braised short ribs (a personal favorite dish) and they were OMG good. The exotic rub and meticulous preparation resulted in a butter tender meat with a deep savory braise. The flavor, the presentation and the ample portions made it a great dining value and overall experience.

As noted in other reviews this is a tiny restaurant with small closely set tables. But it was warm, cozy and charming. A completely wonderful dining experience. We could not have wished for a more wonderful anniversary dinner.

A special Thank You to Rosemary at the Cedar Crest for the recommendation and the personalized reservation.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Francine Bistro also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Francine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing