We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”
Review of Cedar Crest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Crest Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
263 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel many many years ago and I swear the rooms have not changed one bit. The hotel is very clean and the people working are very nice but the rooms could use an update as could the bathrooms. Beds were comfortable and linens were nice. The a/c worked well and the place was overall pretty quiet. The wifi worked well. We did not watch tv--it was an older model tv for sure. I think this hotel with its location and price could earn a higher rating if they would just update the rooms. The grounds are lovely with a big yard to sit in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiggygailTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    48
    26
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
62
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Located just outside of downtown Camden, this is a charming old-timey, two-story motor inn. They were willing to book a one-night weekend stay, which many establishments do not allow, and the room rates were very reasonable for a tourist town. The room was spacious and extremely clean, with excellent A/C. The grounds were well kept and there is a pool tucked to the side of the property that we'll make sure to take advantage of next time. There is a restaurant on-site (not associated with the motel) which served a great breakfast. The location is just a short walk into town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nannette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a Great place to stay, the rooms are super clean, and the staff is very nice. The Elm Street Grill is on site, it has live bands Tuesday & Fridays, beer and wine and the food is good, seafood, lobster rolls and thin crust pizza....., fun waitresses.Close to center of town, grocery store is very close as well as Subway,

Room Tip: Rooms in back are great, room 37, 38 & 39 are 1 level, very private. Others are 2 story
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HockeyMom1_5_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Even though we only stayed at the Inn overnight, it was the cleanest and cutes small place I've ever been to. The decor was dated but the cleanliness more than made up for it! The beds were crisp and the overall look was very tidy. You can tell the owners take pride in maintaining this place.

Room Tip: I'd probably ask for something away from the main road if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda FL
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This historic motel is just south of Camden. rooms are furnished with lovely country style appointments. Much nicer than your typical chain motel. The grounds are charming and garden like. The staff clearly is proud of this facility. When we return to Camden, we will be sure to stop here again.

Room Tip: Choose one of the units at the rear of the property. They have a great deck, and are very quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armyveteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We spent 2 nights here and really enjoyed ourselves! We liked the closeness to downtown Camden and large property when I booked from the website.
The rooms are modest if not a little dated, but ours was clean and large and the beds were comfy. We stayed on the lower level because of our kids but, oh how I wish now we'd been above. haha At about 10:30pm our upstairs neighbors got there and started dragging and dropping items on the floor above our heads. I thought my little girl had fallen out of bed at first and jerked awake, heart pounding until I realized what the sound was. They stomped around up there for about half an hour before settling down and after that I rested easy.
Other good things about the property: We loved the pool. It gets to 8 feet deep which is perfect because we're a tall family and it was nice to have water over our heads for once. haha Also it's a little bit heated so it felt really nice. The parking lot is large, plenty of spaces. There's a nice lawn with a playground which my kids made use of several times during our stay. Very pretty landscaping and hidden from the road.
The little cafe that's on the property serves breakfast and dinner. The omelet was really good and filling, I didn't need lunch after eating that! Great wifi connection all around the property.
The thing that stood out most, though, was the service. On our second night the bathtub wouldn't drain out the water. A plumber couldn't come until the morning and I was having a frantic moment imagining our toddler falling in the tub in the middle of the night. But the nice woman at the front desk immediately moved us into another room and was super sweet about everything so I was really thankful about that.
I've been in customer relations in one way or another for over 15 years and I know that sometimes things break or people percieve things differently than we hope, but perfecting the art of service recovery is something that takes patience and consistency. Cedar Crest Inn gets an A++ from me in that regard!

Room Tip: If you're going to be upstairs, tread lightly for the sake of those below! The floors amplify so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dream4Ev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Chose the Cedar Crest for a two night stay on the coast of Maine. The Inn was just opening for the season, so there were very few rooms occupied, but everything was ready and the room great. Beds were comfortable, micro/frige in place, everything we needed, and very reasonably priced for the area. We were just ahead of the season opening holiday but have no doubt the location would be our choice even in busier times. We only tried the on-site restaurant at breakfast, but it turned out to be an excellent choice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.7 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.7 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
592 reviews
1.3 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
127 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
365 reviews
4.7 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Crest Inn

Property: Cedar Crest Inn
Address: 115 Elm St, Rt 1, Camden, ME 04843-1906
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Crest Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Crest Inn is a modest lodging located on a wooded lot in Camden, offering conveniences you need at a cost you deserve. Cedar Crest is high-end motel is located at the southern gateway to Camden village; a section of Rt 1. Most guest rooms are situated far enough from the road not to hear the traffic. View our photo gallery to view some of the thirty-seven guest rooms in three buildings offered to choose from. There is plenty of free parking should you decide to take the 15 minute walk to Camden village. We are just a short distance from harbors filled with both working and pleasure boats setting the scene for picturesque views. Prepare to set sail on a two hour cruise on Schooner Olad or a four day windjammer experience; you’ll be glad you did! Download this map of Camden Hills State Park and plan a great hike. It is just a few miles away and features 30 miles of hiking trails and panoramic views of the bay.Cedar Crest Inn offers friendly service and conveniences, such as a guest laundry and complimentary.Cedar Crest Inn Entrance in Camden, Maine newspapers. Many of our guests extend their stay to fully enjoy all that the Camden area has to offer. Relax in our clean, comfortable guest rooms and enjoy amenities such as free WiFi and our cozy restaurant,Elm Street Grill. Beautiful flowers around the grounds, it was clean and the restaurant was great!We have an outdoor pool, picnic area and outdoor play area. Enjoy watching the songbirds dance along the tops of evergreens that visit 3 acres of professionally landscaped gardens. Or, take a morning walk on 66 acres at nearby Merryspring Nature Center, located just 150 feet from your guest room door. It is our pleasure to provide you with overnight accommodations that make you feel right at home.Our comfortable Camden Maine Hotel is a great place to unwind from everyday stresses. Guests can relax and enjoy attractive surroundings throughout the public areas, while enjoying the inn’s diverse landscape. There are 37 well-appointed rooms, all equipped with cable TV, blow dryers, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers and private bathrooms.We are open May through October. If you would like to visit Midcoast Maine in the cooler months,visit our sister property just down the road, Country Inn at Camden/Rockport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cedar Crest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Crest Hotel
Cedar Crest Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing