We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! Wonderful innkeepers! Comfy beds! Delicious filling breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Captain Swift Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain Swift Inn
Ranked #8 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place! Wonderful innkeepers! Comfy beds! Delicious filling breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Captain Swift Inn one night in mid June as we drove io the coast from Portland to Acadia. We reserved a smaller more inexpensive room at the inn and the lovely innkeeper upgraded us to a larger room across the hall at no additional charge. Very sweet! After a long day of travel we walked downtown for dinner -a nice little walk. We returned to relax in our comfortable bed to watch done Tv. Breakfast was brought out to us by Norm in the morning and we enjoyed warm pears for a first course and blueberry pancakes with additional sided for the main meal. So yummy! A good portion to carry us until an early dinner. We loved staying! Thanks again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davisontravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    24
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
185
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Wonderful accommodations. The dining areas are beautiful. The room was lovely. The breakfasts were delicious. The couple who own the place are delightful people, and so are their dog (not a person) and teenage son.
We had nothing but bad weather but coming "home" to the inn was a joy.
I could go on and on.
FRANTASTIC.

Room Tip: The stairs are kind of steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjx47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had the most fantastic experience at Captain Swift! I hadn't even gotten out of my car door and Linda was there to great us! She gave us all kinds of information upon arrival and showed us all the amenities of the b & b. We went to her recommendation and had a wonderful meal. Breakfast the next day was to die for. Grilled pineapple with a ginger sauce, then huge pieces of French toast and Canadian bacon. I didn't even use syrup! And the coffee was yummy! Room was very comfy, Greensleeves was nicely decorated. But what made this B&B the best was Norm and Linda, they just make you feel special, and their son is awesome, polite and helpful. The omelet we had on day 2 was beautifully cooked . After breakfast here we didn't eat until dinner time! We went on to Portland and I can tell you, I wished that I had stayed in Camden one more night. Portland was a nice place and we enjoyed it, but the B&B left a little to be desired, I guess Linda and Norm spoiled us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarkbar07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I spent Friday and Saturday at the Captain Swift Inn. It is a great B&B in Camden, south of the town center. It is only a couple of blocks from downtown Camden and an easy walk. The hosts were very welcoming and friendly. They provided some great helpful hints about where to go hiking in the area that are not well known unless you are from the area. The room we stayed in was nicely furnished and fairly large. The bathroom was spacious too although I thought the shower itself was a bit small. My wife disagreed.....she thought it was fine. Our breakfasts featured local product where possible and were excellently cooked. Staff were very attentive. The only minor item (and I mean minor) was the room that faced the main street was a bit noisy at times from car traffic. But we would stay in that room again anytime. A very nice place and central to Camden. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Norm and staff not only read the book on how to succeed with a B&B but they wrote it. Could not have been any better and would definitely return. Stayed in the Swift Room - the gas fireplace would make this a great cold weather stay but while we were there it was in the 90s - A/C in the room was much appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Hannah's room was very comfortable for two nights in Camden. (Which is a lovely town). Our hosts were friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Gave great recommendations for things to do in the area. Linens and breakfast both exceeded our expectations. We would go back to the Captain Swift Inn.

Room Tip: Hannah's room was the only one left when I made the reservation. It is right next to the kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeS228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I cannot say enough about the captain swift!!!!! The owners are so friendly, the breakfasts are superb, the coastal hideaway has a loft for children, a refrig and a microwave. We loved our stay and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggied00dle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.6 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Swift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Swift Inn

Property: Captain Swift Inn
Address: 72 Elm St, Camden, ME 04843-1907
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Camden, Maine finest at the Captain Swift Inn. This 1810, Federal-style home sits in the heart of Camden, a beautiful seaside village in Mid-coast Maine. Just a short stroll from the inn and you will find yourself amongst the abundance of Camden's unique shops, galleries, restaurants and the historic windjammers of Camden Harbor... all just waiting for you to explore. The Captain Swift Inn offers guest rooms for romantic escapes, family getaways, or just to relax and renew. A delicious complimentary, multi-course breakfast is served each morning of your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain Swift Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing