We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inn”
Review of Captain Swift Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain Swift Inn
Ranked #9 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Great Inn”
Reviewed 15 August 2008

Great Inn! Great location, people, breakfast. Very very nice.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NewHampshireChevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    24
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
186
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2008

What a beautiful Inn! We were greeted by the Inn keepers Linda
& Norm when we arrived. After a long drive what a pleasure it was to be offered homemade snacks and a cooling drink.
We were led to our lovely welcoming room, which would be our home for the next several days. Our hosts were able to supply us with knowledgeable information about the area. Before we started off the following morning, we enjoyed a one of a kind breakfast. Wonderful!! Enough to sustain us for the better part
of the day. Each day was a new experience, made more
enjoyable by the patient guidance of the inn keepers. Anyway
we will keep this Inn on our list of "must see again". Keep up
the good work--Linda & Norm!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, hospitality, location, breakfasts, etc. (sorry, couldn't list just one)
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank armstrongPasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2008

We stayed here for a few days last summer. The owners are friendly and do try to accommodate any requests you may have.

I wouldn't say anything about this inn was overly impressive but the beds were comfortable, the room we had was large enough and the breakfasts filled us up.

Upside - the cookies Linda leaves out for the guests! Yum!

I think they also accommodate handicapped guests.

Downside - outdated AC (as previously mentioned). I don't need the newest and shiniest new gadget with a remote but this thing had wood paneling on it!
You can imagine how hard it chugged to cool the room. It took so long that we had to leave it on while we were out so the room wouldn't get overheated. And these are in the recently renovated rooms!

They don't keep the place spic and span clean but it's clean enough. So yes, you will find dust.

Also, if you're not a dog person, this may not be the place for you. Ajax is part of their family and out by the kitchen/dining/common area all day long, which also happens to be right by a room or 2.

  • Liked — cookies!
  • Disliked — outdated AC
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank trippnewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2008

My girlfriend and I came to Camden for a "girl's weekend of shopping." We really appreciated finding a room with separate beds - sometimes not an easy thing to find at a B&B. The location was perfect for getting to the shops or the waterfront with just an easy stroll. Our room was simple and clean and the beds very comfy. The breakfasts really are the best! We figured we saved money because we didn't need to eat lunch on either day we stayed there. The best part of our experience at the Swift Inn were the owners. Norm and Linda are funny, thoughtful, informative, and welcomed us like family! And those cookies... We are planning another trip this summer and we most difinitely will be staying here!
Thank you Linda, Norm, Alex, and Ajax!

  • Liked — the owners
  • Disliked — there was nothing I didn't like
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2visitMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south jersey
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2007

It's hard to admit, but Linda at the Captain Swift Inn makes better cookies than me. In my sphere, I'm known as the cookie lady, but I have nothing on Linda. A friend and I stayed at the Captain Swift Inn on a recent sightseeing trip to Maine. The wonderful cookies were just an example of the extra special care you get at the Inn. I'm a picky eater and my friend is a diabetic, but nothing was too much trouble for Linda. The breakfasts were great, made to order with consideration to our likes and restrictions. The room was very clean and comfortable, with a lovely gas fireplace. When Linda learned I'm a chocaholic, a bowl of Hershey's kisses appeared by the bed. This lovely, historic inn is in a beautiful town. Camden is Maine at its best - a charming, walkable town with a beautiful harbor, waterfalls, quaint shops, Victorian homes. The location of the inn is great - each night I went walking through town. The trip was a gift to my friend who had never been to Maine. By staying at the Captain Swift Inn and being in the town of Camden, she got the real deal! Linda and her husband, Norm are warm, welcoming people meant for the hospitality business. It's evident that they love their adopted town, their inn, and the people who visit. I hope to stay there again whenever I return to Maine.

  • Liked — location, friendliness of innkeepers, cleanliness, great food
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gratefulgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2007

My friend and I stopped here for 3 days in the fall and I could not fault this place one bit. It was one of the best decsions we made in booking this B&B for part of our holiday.
From the huge home made breakafsts to the warm cookies laid out for our return at the end of a night out , we were well looked after. This place is so warm and welcoming it was hard to leave. The rooms were expectionaly clean and were made up each day by the time you finished your two course breakfast. The owners Linda and Norm made you feel so at home. We are looking forward to our return next year.
Perfect place for a perfect town
Christine

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — it is to far aay form home
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2007

Although I can't say that my experience at the Captain Swift Inn was bad, I was hoping and expecting a bit more. The B&B itself was okay, but I thought the room lacked some charm. My main problem, however, is that, although the innkeepers were polite, they were not terribly warm and seemed to keep their distance. (Their little boy, however, was very sweet and friendly.) This surprised me given the other reviews.

So while everything was acceptable, I would probably stay elsewhere if I were returning to Camden.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WilMiRe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.3 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#17 of 19 in Camden
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Swift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Swift Inn

Property: Captain Swift Inn
Address: 72 Elm St, Camden, ME 04843-1907
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Camden, Maine finest at the Captain Swift Inn. This 1810, Federal-style home sits in the heart of Camden, a beautiful seaside village in Mid-coast Maine. Just a short stroll from the inn and you will find yourself amongst the abundance of Camden's unique shops, galleries, restaurants and the historic windjammers of Camden Harbor... all just waiting for you to explore. The Captain Swift Inn offers guest rooms for romantic escapes, family getaways, or just to relax and renew. A delicious complimentary, multi-course breakfast is served each morning of your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain Swift Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing