We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Swift Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain Swift Inn
Ranked #8 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
1 review
“Great Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2008

We loved the Captain Swift Inn. Great food and wonderful inn keepers. Norm and Linda gave us some great recommendations for local activities to see as well as good places for food. Camden is a great place to relax and enjoy yourself. The rooms were well kept and comfortable. We would recommend staying at the Captain Swift Inn.

  • Liked — Great inn keepers
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jessi60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    24
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
185
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Hull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2008

Norm and Linda are the perfect hosts. From the moment we fell out of the car until filling up the boot a few days later they allowed us to share their home and knowledge of the surrounding area. Breakfast at the Captain Swift Inn has to be seen to be believed. It was fresh, interesting and always filling. It usually kept us going until about 5 o'clock when we would return to the Inn for some home made cookies and lemonade or tea if the weather was cool. Thank you so much.

Colin and Sandra (Kingston upon Hull)

  • Liked — Lovely room friendly owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loniemacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2008

Captain Swift Inn is the most enjoyable inn my husband and I have ever stayed at. Whenever we travel, we prefer to stay at B&B's and innkeepers like Norm and Linda are the reason why.

We were greeted from the start with a very warm welcome from Linda and Ajax (who is cuter than our own dog!). Linda was incredibly kind and very helpful. She offered us cookies and ice cold lemonade and gave us suggestions of fun activities. In the morning we enjoyed the largest and most delicious breakfast ever. The stuffed french toast was to die for and Linda and Norm were very social. I felt like I was eating with family.

My husband and I stayed in Greensleeves and we found it very comfortable. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud and the room was decorated perfectly.

It was hard to check out after breakfast on our final day. We can't imagine being happy staying at any other now that we've experienced the amazingly high level of hospitality at the Captain Swift Inn!

  • Liked — All the wonderful food
  • Disliked — My husband gaining weight from eating too much!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank the_scott_umbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2008

The Inn itself was very quaint and clean. The owner's Norm and Linda very friendly & helpful. We stayed in the newer more modern section and had so much space. I think this was a recent add on to the house. We had a fridge and microwave in the room. There were stairs to a second level in our room. Good for extra people. Inn is a very short walk down to the water where the restaurants and shops were. There were yummy cookies and lemonade waiting for us when we arrived and delicious coffee put on a table in the morning. The breakfast was nice, just a little too sweet for us. Sweet peaches and then very sweet french toast. Not a complaint since this is what most people like. We just prefer to eat a little healthier. Norm had asked if we had any dietary requests beforehand and we did not think to tell him we watched our sugar intake. The breakfast room has individual tables so the guests each have their own table, not like most B&B's where everyone sits together. This is a nice feature. You are close enough to strike up a conversation with others if you want but don't feel obligated to chat since you have your own table.
We were very comfortable in our room.It was like home away from home and we would return again.

  • Liked — Friendly hosts, spacious room, location.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DiegoFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

My Husband and I stayed at the Captain Swift Inn and we truly enjoyed the experience. The decor was beautiful, the bed more comfortable than my own at home. Norm and Linda were friendly and incredibly helpful in making suggestions on sights to see in our limited time in Camden. Linda prepared a delicious breakfast. She even had homemade oatmeal cookies and fresh lemonade available the night we arrived. Would definately stay there again

  • Liked — Norm and Linda
  • Disliked — we did not stay longer
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rmrdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2008

We have stayed in many inns and B&B's around the Northeast and the Captain Swift Inn is by far the very best! The rooms are comfortable and decorated beautifully. The Inn is just a walk into the center of town. Innkeepers Linda and Norm truly make you feel at home. The breakfast was wonderful- the pancakes alone are worth a trip back for us! We HIGHLY recommend Captain Swift for anyone looking for comfort, great food and exceptional service. We'll be back next year for sure!

  • Liked — Comfort!
  • Disliked — Yard
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cassiealaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2008

Great Inn! Great location, people, breakfast. Very very nice.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NewHampshireChevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
0.5 mi away
Hawthorn Inn
Hawthorn Inn
#3 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Swift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Swift Inn

Property: Captain Swift Inn
Address: 72 Elm St, Camden, ME 04843-1907
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Camden, Maine finest at the Captain Swift Inn. This 1810, Federal-style home sits in the heart of Camden, a beautiful seaside village in Mid-coast Maine. Just a short stroll from the inn and you will find yourself amongst the abundance of Camden's unique shops, galleries, restaurants and the historic windjammers of Camden Harbor... all just waiting for you to explore. The Captain Swift Inn offers guest rooms for romantic escapes, family getaways, or just to relax and renew. A delicious complimentary, multi-course breakfast is served each morning of your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain Swift Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing