We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Inn”
Review of Captain Swift Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain Swift Inn
Ranked #9 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Our stay at the Captain Swift Inn was extremely enjoyable. The inn is so charming. And the innkeepers were very hospitable. But if we had to pick one thing that stood out, it would be the breakfasts - they were to die for. Also, very easy to walk to the beautiful town of Camden from the inn.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vogtma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Captain Swift Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2010

The food was delicious, the inn was comfortable and Linda and Alex were so welcoming and helpful. They gave us good advice about where to go in Camden and were even welcoming to relatives who came by to visit us (we were in town for a wedding). The breakfast and the cookies were great! Our room was a little bit small, but very clean and comfortable. We would definitely recommend this place to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CdnTraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Our stay couldn't have been nicer - the suites are ideal for families with teenaged children, as they have their own space in the "loft" with couches, TV/DVD player, table and refrigerator. The room was very tastefully decorated and impeccably clean, and made up everyday while we enjoyed our sumptuous breakfast (which was different all 7 days we were there). The location is so convenient to town and the harbor - a two block walk. There are delicious home baked cookies in the afternoon, plenty of books and DVDs to borrow in the reading room, and a computer available if you just couldn't break away! But what really sets the Captain Swift apart is the generosity and friendliness of Norm, Linda and Alex. They couldn't do enough for us, providing guidebooks and daily tips on things to enjoy in the area, and even offering their advice on their favorite harbor sailing tours and offering to help with reservations. We can't say enough about how much we enjoyed the Captain Swift Inn - the only place to stay in Camden, as far as we're concerned.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinnacleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed at the Captain Swift Inn for four nights in August in the Locke Room. It was air conditioned, had a TV, private bathroom, and a living room that was shared by others. There was a refrigerator available in the inn that was shared by all guests without refrigerators in their rooms. No problems at all connecting to their wireless internet connection. For the price we paid it was very good value. The room was small but we were out and about all week. There are other rooms at the Captain Swift Inn that are much bigger. Linda, Norm, and Alex all went above and beyond in their service and helpfulness on advice of where to eat, what to do, etc. The breakfasts were awesome (so much food). There was also a wide variety of breakfast items in the four days we were there. My favorite was the sausage and brie cheese omelet. Take advantage of the schooner ride deal if you plan on going out on a boat during your stay. There were so many little things that were great including freshly baked cookies daily, a dvd collection to choose from (for the one night we had bad weather, the rest of the days were beautiful!), the keurig coffee machine. It was a great time and Camden was very peaceful, but fun. I would absolutely recommend this inn to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metsandnets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

From the moment we arrived, our hosts Linda and Norm truly made us feel welcome and comfortable. We stayed in the Coastal Hideaway suite with our toddler and all three of us slept wonderfully in the spacious room. Linda and Norm went above and beyond the call of duty on several occasions to accommodate our needs, even before we asked (for example, I require a gluten-free diet and LInda baked me an entire batch of cookies to last me for our 4 day stay so I didn't feel left out at snack time). Our son was most welcomed at breakfast and they even provided a high chair. Another perk was location - the inn is only a few blocks (easy walk) to the Town of Camden and it's many shops and restaurants. We can't wait to return and would highly recommend one of the two suites (Coastal Hideaway or Cabin Retreat) for families.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gr8Outdrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Captain Swift Inn and definitely plan to return. The inn is a charming, historic home, tastefully decorated and well maintained. The host family bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. As stated, the breakfasts were outstanding each of the three mornings we were there. Everything was homemade, delicious, and well-prepared and there was always more than enough, with offers of second servings if we wanted them. The only downside for us was that our room was towards the front and we got a fair amount of traffic noise at night (the inn is on the main road into Camden), so we had to run the air conditioning unit to mask the sound.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Our four night stay at the Captain Swift Inn in Camden Maine was wonderful! From the first day we arrived (where fresh-baked cookies were waiting in the foyer for us to try), to the day we left (where we had a beautiful 2-course breakfast including spiced peaches, a brie and sausage omelets, fruit salad, and fresh-baked coffee cake) the Inn and Innkeepers were wonderful.
Out of the whole experience, I would say the Innkeepers and breakfast are the reason that this bed and breakfast stands a large step ahead of many other Inns and hotels. Linda and Norm were always available and willing to help, but also more than happy to let you do your own thing. They gave us great advice on where we should go for specific food, and what we could do in the area. Never having been to Camden before, this information ensured we had a wonderful time outside of the Inn. The breakfasts Linda made every morning were also impressive. Each morning we had a different 2-course breakfast that I could never finish! The food was fantastic and and freshly made- no rubbery eggs that have been sitting out for an hour like you find in many other hotels and inns. An added advantage (as we were budget-conscious) is that this meal really "replaced" lunch for us- we just came back for a granola bar sometime in the afternoon and we all set until dinner.
During our stay we slept in the Locke room. Now, if you plan on spending large periods of time hanging out inside of your room, or you have mounds of luggage, this room is not the best choice (as you can see by the pictures and description on their website). However, the room was perfect for us, as we primarily needed a place to sleep at night, and to watch tv for an hour or so in the middle of the day. We didn't use this room's sitting room (it was in a public area), but as I said, that was not our goal. A nice aspect of our room was that we had original exposed beams on the ceiling, and the bathroom was very modern and lovely.
Other advantages to staying at the Inn are that it is within short walking distance of the center of town and a short drive to Rockport, there is plenty of off-street parking, it is air-conditioned, and there are many unique touches left from the original home.
Overall, we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaitSnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.3 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.3 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
616 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
659 reviews
1.1 mi away
Timbercliffe Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.5 mi away
Camden Windward House
Camden Windward House
#4 of 19 in Camden
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Swift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Swift Inn

Address: 72 Elm St, Camden, ME 04843-1907
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range: £73 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Camden, Maine finest at the Captain Swift Inn. This 1810, Federal-style home sits in the heart of Camden, a beautiful seaside village in Mid-coast Maine. Just a short stroll from the inn and you will find yourself amongst the abundance of Camden's unique shops, galleries, restaurants and the historic windjammers of Camden Harbor... all just waiting for you to explore. The Captain Swift Inn offers guest rooms for romantic escapes, family getaways, or just to relax and renew. A delicious complimentary, multi-course breakfast is served each morning of your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain Swift Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing