We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
Ranked #5 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I are more of upscale traditional hotel kind of travelers, but we thought if there was ever a time to give a B&B a try our visit to Camden was it. We couldn't have been happier. The hotel definitely had the B&B feel, but without being too outdated or the feeling that you are at your grandma's house. Our suite was a great size with a living room, bedroom, and huge bathroom. Everyone that worked there was absolutely delightful and helped with terrific suggestions for our visit. Location was great. And the food was FANTASTIC. We found it to be a great value as well.

Room Tip: Splurge on a suite. It was worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginny t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Positives about this B&B are the quality of the food for breakfast - home made and high end. The interior decor is very nice and well maintained. Location - you are right in the town so it's easy to walk all around.

The only item to think about is that the main house is located on a main road so the road noise may bother some people.

Room Tip: Away from the road side will be quieter for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NEProp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I took my boyfriend here for two night as a birthday present. We stayed in the Lavender suite at the hideaway (which is around the block from the Main house.
The room was beautiful , with lavish painting and soft high quality bedding. We had a gas fireplace in the sitting room.& A Jacuzzi Tub . they supply beautiful bathrobes to use . The Staff couldn't be more helpful. They give you suggestions on what to do and printout how to get there.
The Food OMG the food. Michael is an amazing Chef, I could rave all day about how delicious everything was. Friendly staff very clean. The Area is beautiful. I want to Thank them for everything. I will defiantly be back.

Room Tip: upgrade to a suite you get two rooms. and it not expensive to upgrade .The Lavender room is beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is one of the best B&B's we have been to in a long time. The food and the service was top notch. My wife and I have been to many B&B's domestic and international and we have found the service and food was nothing less than First Class. The staff was very professional and friendly. We highly recommend Hartstone Inn..
George & Ann S.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The rooms and food at the Hartstone Inn could not be more top notch. However, what really makes it even more memorable is the service. I'm used to navigating around the dairy on menus due to my lactose intolerance. Our first night at dinner, after I asked a couple of "is there any cream in this" questions, our server asked if I had lactose intolerance. Unknown to us, the staff was totally clued in after that for the entire weekend, and every dish was served to me in a special dairy free version without my asking. I have never had that level of service before.
We definitely plan to return to this haven in Maine!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lhgc999999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were taken here by friends and it was amazing. Our rooms were fabulous with the sleeping area up stairs and a sitting room downstairs. The staff were friendly and very professional - we were made to feel welcome and valued. Nothing was too much trouble. We had the five course tasting menu which was incredible - each course tasty and perfectly presented. Breakfast (included) was two courses and the food was wonderful. This is a very special place to stay and I highly recommend you save up and stay here! A highlight of our month in the USA.

Room Tip: We had a studio and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have stayed at the Hartstone Inn twice in the past year. Both times our stay was exceptional. The inn keepers greet you upon check in - always cheerful with a smile. The inn is absolutely gorgeous around the winter holiday! The rooms are unique with different decor for each - attention to detail is obvious! The food is beyond scrumptious! And the cocktail hour in the main inn is fun! Haven't experienced the spa yet, next visit:) The location is great, walking distance to downtown Camden - a beautiful, picturesque small town. Bedding is luxurious, furnishings specific to each room, an historic property with modern amenities.

Room Tip: Rooms with a private entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#2 of 10 in Camden
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Inn
Hawthorn Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camden Windward House
Camden Windward House
#4 of 19 in Camden
424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartstone Inn & Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartstone Inn & Hideaway

Address: 41 Elm St, Camden, ME 04843-1910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range: £73 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartstone Inn & Hideaway 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine dining B&B Fodor's considers "An elegant and sophisticated retreat and culinary destination offering a unique experience in pampered luxury." Recipient of AAA's 4 Diamond Award of excellence for lodging and dining. Luxurious amenities include: memorable multi-course breakfast, fine linens & robes, down comforters and pillows, gas fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, MP3 players, TV/DVD, complementary WiFi and guest computers. Enhance your stay w/a gourmet picnic, massage or become Chef for the Day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hartstone Inn & Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartstone Inn And Hideaway
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway Hotel Camden
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing