We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful, comfortable and friendly inn atmosphere in a great seaside area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hawthorn Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“A beautiful, comfortable and friendly inn atmosphere in a great seaside area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Hawthorn Inn and loved every minute of it. The inn is beautiful and well-equipped, clean, elegant, and, above all, welcoming. Maryann and Bill, the innkeepers, were personable and full of information on the area and tips on fun things to do. The breakfast was amazing, fresh cooked and delicious with treats like souffle and a breakfast tortilla salad. Our room was gorgeous, with a big deck, huge bathroom with shower and jacuzzi tub, gas-powered wood stove, and beautiful, thoughtful decor. The area is great, right on the beautiful Camden Harbor and nearby lots of quaint shops, restaurants, and some nice hikes in the Camden Hills. We hope to go back later this year, and will recommend it to our friends!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    14
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
175
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We visited the Hawthorn Inn several years ago and were delighted to find it equally enjoyable during a recent second visit. The Hawthorn exudes elegance and warmth, reflective of the innkeepers personalities. In addition, delicious gourmet breakfasts and a relaxing atmosphere combine to make the Hawthorn a gem in this lovely New England village.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed at the Hawthorn Inn on our honeymoon a year ago, and we decided to come back for our first anniversary. We have thoroughly enjoyed both stays. The owners of the inn are very gracious, and Maryanne gave us a complementary bottle of sparkling wine for our anniversary. The breakfast is delicious, beautifully presented, and vegetarian-friendly. We particularly like the Cabriolet Room, located in the renovated barn off of the main house.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Everything about this place is excellent: the location is a very short walk from the center of town; the hospitality is exemplary; the gourmet breakfasts the two days we were there were scrumptious and imaginative; the room was comfortable; the innkeepers make it a point to call everyone by name and treat you as old friends; reliable advice on where to eat out. We'd return eagerly and will heartily recommend it to anyone. ~ Bob & Evelyn

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob-in-Wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, ME
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed in the Caroline room (named after Maryanne's mother) which was recently renovated from top to bottom on May 17 to 19, 2013. It was fantastic. We had our own separate entrance, which doubles as a small art gallery featuring beautiful fabric artwork from Panama as well as many of Bill's wooden art sculptures which other guests might never see. The bathroom was spacious, clean and modern. Our room included a small flat panel TV and a DVD player along with about 8 various DVDs and an assortment of current Maine magazines. Breakfast is served promptly at 9:00am, and it was delicious on both days, consisting of a fruit first course followed by a more substantial second course which varies from day-to-day. My only complaint was it was too much to eat, and my fiancee and I would have been happy just with the fruit. The location is excellent, and only a short walk to town, plus they have a shortcut in the back yard to save you some steps. Maryanne does go out of her way to please everyone, and so does the entire staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miniml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Aurora, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

This was my first time visiting the Hawthorn Inn and from the beginning I felt very welcome. Maryanne and Bill are a warm, fun-loving and gracious couple willing to help in any way they can. The Inn is decorated with attention to every detail. Fresh flowers everywhere. The surroundings are neat and clean.
A delicious breakfast was offered each morning in the main house consisting of fresh, healthy ingredients. Table settings were pleasing to the eye and added to the whole experience.
There is a lovely yard with plenty of places to sit, relax and read. A short walk puts you in the middle of a New England town filled with nice shops, places to eat and close to the water.
It was a wonderful long weekend and I would go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

This is my third visit to the Hawthorn Inn in 10 years and the most enjoyable visit to date. The owner and innkeeper, Maryanne, works hard to ensure that the needs of each guest are met and surpassed. Rooms at the inn are spacious and spotless and full of special touches and amenities which make for a peaceful stay. The scenery is lovely when viewed from any of the bedrooms in the inn. I look forward to more weekends at the Hawthorn Inn in future travels.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mflynn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.2 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.2 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#4 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#3 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Inn

Property: Hawthorn Inn
Address: 9 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorn Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian mansion with spacious, beautifully appointed rooms, just 180 steps from the Harbor and a short walk to the picturesque sailing village of Camden, Maine. Warm, inviting, comfortable, serene, plenty of seating in the garden; an oasis in Camden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Inn Hotel Camden
Hawthorn Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing