We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
MAINE
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

All around excellent. Location. Pool, hot tub. Service, breakfast. The service was soo good. Our dog got behind the counter twice by accident and came back with a bone each time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank humbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    103
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
141
148
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We have stayed here several times, and it is always a good experience. The staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are good sized and have a micro wave and fridge in them. A continental breakfast is served, and if you want more, the Mariner Restaurant across the street serves a full breakfast. Camden Harbor, shops, Opera House and many sights are within walking distance. Hotel is far enough off Route 1 so that noise is not a problem, and there is plenty of parking with easy access. If you are looking for the quaint bed and breakfast experience, this may not be the place for you, but if you want a reasonably priced good place to stay in the beautiful town Camden, Riverhouse Inn is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bgbigadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We booked this hotel last minute due to a change in plans and selected it based on TripAdvisor reviews and we were definitely not led astray. The hotel is extremely pet-friendly, which worked perfectly for our two dogs. The room was very large and very comfortable, but the service was outstanding. The location in the heart of Camden makes it only a couple of blocks from anything in the very cute and cozy town.

Of course, it didn't hurt that we were able to take advantage of two rate specials - no pet fees and an especially low rate (mid-week off-season?).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gaarap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We have stayed many times at the Riverhouse. The staff make you very welcome; the rooms are clean and spacious; the location is great; you can open the window and sleep with the sounds of a babbling brook!

Room Tip: The rooms in front border a small stream. The back rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWMMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phila, Pa
Level Contributor
200 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Third stay in this downtown hotel. Located in a quiet corner of downtown Camden. I found it very clean, very quiet, comfortable, and well equipped. Even a little free breakfast thrown in! Best value in downtown Camden. I will continue to return there!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lermndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at the Camden Riverhouse for the first time and definitely will return. Clean rooms, nice breakfast, convenient to all Camden has to offer and free parking. Desk is staffed during off season until 9pm so you get a key to the hotel in addition to the key to your room! Such a special touch! Such a welcoming environment. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We have stayed here many times over the years.In fact I was surprised to learn we had not reviewed it before so here goes.Very well located,park (free) and walk to all the many things Camden has to offer(year round). While there not really a "view" it does see some Camden sky line and has a little walking bridge over the river,with very talkative ducks.We have always stayed in the main building that many years ago was a Best Western. It has been for many years now privately owned and has only gotten better.There are many types of rooms in several buildings so you can find what you want for any kind of stay. All of our other stays (roughly 10) were with our 2 boys so we got a two bedded room and a roll away.Rooms were good size Clean well layed out. This time (we had not been in 5 years) we were just 2 of us so we got a king room,again room was Clean and well layed out.large bath room. In the room it self fridge/micro/coffee maker comfy stuffed chair large flat screen tv .table with 2 chairs, two good size windows that open.A very comfortable king bed and plenty of lighting.The rooms have clearly been up graded since we were there last time.Very Nice. The breakfast while still better then many places is not a cut above any more. This not knocking the breakfast, just the fact that many places have stepped theirs up. All the stuff you expect plus Blue/straw/rasp berries for the waffles. There is not bacon/sausage/eggs/ potatoes, But it is a very GOOD breakfast served in a very pleasant room. The only real down side is the pool area. While it is very nice to have an indoor pool/hot tub this area clearly needs attention, it has not been freshened in a very long time. The pool/hot tub are warm and CLEAN. but the carpet to the bathrooms needs to be replaced and the lockers(very rusty) need to be replaced.
The Camden Riverhouse is a Good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlefield3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
622 reviews
6.5 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns

Property: Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Address: 11 Tannery Ln, Camden, ME 04843-1708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Camden
#1 Family Hotel in Camden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inn is Camden’s finest in-town Hotel. Our village location boasts its own onsite parking, a heated indoor pool, and spacious backyard with beautiful gardens. We are fully ADA accessible, with an entrance ramp, and an elevator that services all floors. A block off busy and noisy U.S. Route 1, our hotel is steps from Camden’s shops, restaurants, and the renowned Camden Harbor, Amphitheatre, and Park. Guests frequently say we have the charm and ambiance of a bed & breakfast with all the conveniences of a modern, up to date, in-town Hotel. The Camden Riverhouse Hotel has 35 beautifully appointed rooms some of which are Dog-Friendly. The Riverhouse Inn is a separate building with 8 luxurious cottage style rooms, and we have a cozy romantic Cottage located at the river’s edge which is also available. Whether you are in the Mid-Coast for one night or many, we have a selection of rooms to meet all needs. Free on-site parking, a heated indoor swimming pool, free Internet, and our spacious backyard, make us unique in downtown Camden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Riverhouse Hotel And Inns Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing