We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff, good experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“friendly staff, good experience!”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Great central location,easy walking distance to restaurants and shops. Room was large, and beds were perfectly comfortable. The AC leaked water on the floor and the furnishings were older and dated. The staff was wonderful, especially the gentleman who served and preped the morning breakfast. The nightly outdoor fire and samores thrilled my 5 year old and truly made our stay special. Thanks for a good experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misfitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    109
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
166
162
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We traveled through Maine for almost three weeks and spent 4 days in Camden at this hotel, which was sight unseen. I could have not been happier. A perfect location-one block from the center of town.The hotel was extremely quiet, the room was very clean and large (#301), hotel grounds & lobby were spotless. The owner (David) and the entire staff (especially Ralph) were personable, courteous, and helpful. The front of the hotel and the bridge over the stream were planted with colorful flowers and veggies. I would stay there again and will recommend it to anyone who travels to Camden. Carl Smith Indianapolis IN

Room Tip: We stayed in room #301 which was on the top floor at the end. We had 2 windows that faced the harbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore County, MD
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

My family and I spent 3 nights at the Camden River House Hotel and it was wonderful! Our room was very spacious (2 adults and 1 child), the room and the hotel were clean, the service was excellent and the breakfast (included) was delicious. The hotel is perfectly situated within walking distance of any Camden Harbor activities but is located just far off the main drag so as to avoid most street noise.

Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerkeleyGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2012

nice hotel. would recommend it to any one! don't confuse yourself by those "picky" reviews.
We stayed here on 07/31; The room was very clean; The customer service was excellent! very considerable facilities; plus, wonderful location. would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dao2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Once again we found ourselves making plans to visit Camden for another family wedding. There was no hesitation when it came to where we would stay. The Camden Riverhouse has become the only place my family stays when we visit Camden every year. It's so convenient to the center of town , but tucked away and surrounded by the most beautiful landscaping... and a footbridge with ducks below!!! and a yummy ice cream counter where you can sit and relax and watch all the coming and goings. The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff are extemely friendly and accomodating.. and how about arriving back to your hotel in the evening, and sitting by a beautiful fire ring, in big comfy chairs, eating samores provided by the hotel?? They even have a swimming pool!!!!! Breakfast is awesome!! and free!!Try the raisin toast!! or belgium waffles.. The hotel is pet friendly on the first floor so I was able to have my best friend at my side all wknd long!!! Make sure you don't leave without saying hi to Dave the owner. He's always there ( he's responsible for all the beautiful flowers that await you) My trip to Camden wouldn't be complete without another wonderful conversation with him . His dedication and passion for his hotel will keep you and your family coming back year after year! See you next year Riverhouse!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodycocktail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed here 2 nights (July 16th and 17th, 2012). We were initially just going to spend a night but enjoyed the hotel and the town so much, we decided to stay another night.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Check-in was very fast and painless. The hotel has a nice indoor pool and hot tub. The grounds are very nicely landscaped and there is lots of parking available. There is a footbridge across the river in front of the hotel with an ice cream stand on the other side - ice cream was very delicious if a little pricey. You can feed the ducks from the bridge and it even has benches along the side so you can sit and relax and enjoy the scenery while you eat your ice cream. It is all very well lit and very colorful at night. The hotel is situated very close to all the downtown attractions of Camden with everything just a short walk away.

The room was nicely furnished and the bed was very comfortable. The place is quiet and it was easy to sleep late - I never heard a sound! The only negative thing I can say is that the bathroom fan was a little noisy and it came on with the light so you couldn't shut it off independently. It was a very minor annoyance but worth mentioning.

Overall, it was one of the nicest hotels I've stayed at in recent memory. The price was reasonable too. I would recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarranm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Very unique and lovely place. Check in time is 3PM, we arrived at 10:30 AM. I went to the hotel and asked if we could do an early check in. No problem, the gentleman at the front desk checked if the room was ready and we were checked in by 10:35!!! Loved it. That gave us almost an additional day to see Camden!!!
The owner plants vegetables around his hotel property for guests to enjoy. I find that most intriguing. The room was clean, the staff very friendly. Overall the entire hotel was clean and very inviting.
What a neat idea for the continental breakfast area. So many choices!!! The lady that was working there was so pleasureable to talk with and we thorougly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inga O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
162 reviews
6.5 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
0.7 mi away
Cedar Crest Inn
Cedar Crest Inn
#8 of 10 in Camden
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns

Property: Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Address: 11 Tannery Ln, Camden, ME 04843-1708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Camden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inn is Camden’s finest in-town Hotel. Our village location boasts its own onsite parking, a heated indoor pool, and spacious backyard with beautiful gardens. We are fully ADA accessible, with an entrance ramp, and an elevator that services all floors. A block off busy and noisy U.S. Route 1, our hotel is steps from Camden’s shops, restaurants, and the renowned Camden Harbor, Amphitheatre, and Park. Guests frequently say we have the charm and ambiance of a bed & breakfast with all the conveniences of a modern, up to date, in-town Hotel. The Camden Riverhouse Hotel has 35 beautifully appointed rooms some of which are Dog-Friendly. The Riverhouse Inn is a separate building with 8 luxurious cottage style rooms, and we have a cozy romantic Cottage located at the river’s edge which is also available. Whether you are in the Mid-Coast for one night or many, we have a selection of rooms to meet all needs. Free on-site parking, a heated indoor swimming pool, free Internet, and our spacious backyard, make us unique in downtown Camden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Riverhouse Hotel And Inns Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing