We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hindsight being perfect the hotel was a perfect choice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, New Hampshire, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“hindsight being perfect the hotel was a perfect choice.”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

when planning to visit Camden we used Google to look for hotel. Although the Riverhouse was not the top rated in town it should be. Perfect location w/easy and close parking, an outdoor firepit w/ schmores at night, indoor pool, pet friendly, and kid friendly, good continental in AM all in all a "can't go wrong"

Room Tip: with a pet we had a first floor room which was ideal and easy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinnyWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    112
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
166
165
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Very well located in downtown with free, convenient parking. Rooms afre quiet and comfortable. Staff is universally friendly. I would like to see oatmeal at the breakfast buffet but it is nevertheless above average. I loved the touch of having tomato vines growing at the entrance. Their smell reminded me of my grandparents' garden many years ago. I also appreciated the basket of cherry tomatoes at the reception desk and the offering of them to guests. We would stay there again if we return to Camden and would recommend it.

Room Tip: We normally avoid rooms near elevators but here we were only a few yards from one and we noticed no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Otto W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed here recently with our two kids and had a wonderful time. The entire staff is very welcoming. On the night we checked in, the desk clerk directed us to the backyard, where there was a firepit and guests were making s'mores. How cool is that? The property is older, and has been nicely updated. It's comfortable without being overly fancy. We stayed in the extended stay building on the third floor, and everything in the room was very nice and clean, nothing to critique. Breakfast was good, and included muffins, waffles, toast, and the usual cold cereals, yogurts and fruit. The coffee was really good. There is a small indoor pool, but we did not use it. There is a small workout room in the basement, but the treadmill is not high-end. If you are a serious runner, I would plan on doing your run outside. Our kids LOVED the walking bridge over the river (creek?) and we spent a lot of time there. On the other side of the bridge is a small ice cream stand where they sell cracked corn to feed to the ducks.
There are a few things that make this hotel stand out, other than the s'mores. (1) the quiet location is perfect -- one block off Main Street. (2) the hotel uses solar energy to heat its hot water. It is GREAT to see a hotel stepping up to the plate and using renewable energy. Big thumbs up. (3) Last but not least, the landscaping. I totally disagree with the last reviewer about the plantings. We loved the creative mix of flowers and vegetables that are running riot all over this place. Who says you can't mix the two? Many vegetables are beautiful, and the mixtures at the Riverhouse are creative and unique. The nice man at the front desk said that the owners are in charge of the plantings, and Riverhouse owners -- if you read this review -- we LOVED it. Keep up the good work. It is way more beautiful than some sterile bedding flowers in a pot.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freqflyer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012 via mobile

They only had one night available for us and we were so sad to leave because it was perfect in every way. It's not too big. the grounds are kept up with flowers and vegetation that add such a lovely touch. They have a fire pit at night with all the Smores fixings. Breakfast was very nice and not hetic! They have breads, yogurt, ceral and even a waffle maker. Rooms very clean.
We met the owner he was so nice. My husband forgot our camera battery and he saved us by selling us his used one! You can tell this property is lovingly cared for. I would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Great central location,easy walking distance to restaurants and shops. Room was large, and beds were perfectly comfortable. The AC leaked water on the floor and the furnishings were older and dated. The staff was wonderful, especially the gentleman who served and preped the morning breakfast. The nightly outdoor fire and samores thrilled my 5 year old and truly made our stay special. Thanks for a good experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misfitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We traveled through Maine for almost three weeks and spent 4 days in Camden at this hotel, which was sight unseen. I could have not been happier. A perfect location-one block from the center of town.The hotel was extremely quiet, the room was very clean and large (#301), hotel grounds & lobby were spotless. The owner (David) and the entire staff (especially Ralph) were personable, courteous, and helpful. The front of the hotel and the bridge over the stream were planted with colorful flowers and veggies. I would stay there again and will recommend it to anyone who travels to Camden. Carl Smith Indianapolis IN

Room Tip: We stayed in room #301 which was on the top floor at the end. We had 2 windows that faced the harbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore County, MD
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

My family and I spent 3 nights at the Camden River House Hotel and it was wonderful! Our room was very spacious (2 adults and 1 child), the room and the hotel were clean, the service was excellent and the breakfast (included) was delicious. The hotel is perfectly situated within walking distance of any Camden Harbor activities but is located just far off the main drag so as to avoid most street noise.

Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerkeleyGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
165 reviews
6.5 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
0.7 mi away
Cedar Crest Inn
Cedar Crest Inn
#8 of 10 in Camden
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns

Property: Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Address: 11 Tannery Ln, Camden, ME 04843-1708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Camden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inn is Camden’s finest in-town Hotel. Our village location boasts its own onsite parking, a heated indoor pool, and spacious backyard with beautiful gardens. We are fully ADA accessible, with an entrance ramp, and an elevator that services all floors. A block off busy and noisy U.S. Route 1, our hotel is steps from Camden’s shops, restaurants, and the renowned Camden Harbor, Amphitheatre, and Park. Guests frequently say we have the charm and ambiance of a bed & breakfast with all the conveniences of a modern, up to date, in-town Hotel. The Camden Riverhouse Hotel has 35 beautifully appointed rooms some of which are Dog-Friendly. The Riverhouse Inn is a separate building with 8 luxurious cottage style rooms, and we have a cozy romantic Cottage located at the river’s edge which is also available. Whether you are in the Mid-Coast for one night or many, we have a selection of rooms to meet all needs. Free on-site parking, a heated indoor swimming pool, free Internet, and our spacious backyard, make us unique in downtown Camden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Riverhouse Hotel And Inns Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing