We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a quiet haven close to but off the hectic main street in Camden, ME”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I liked this hotel and inn because of the relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, proximity to the main street in Camden, location away from the hectic tourist throng, and the friendly attention to detail by the staff. For instance, we appreciated the collection of umbrellas by the front door in case of need, and the quiet but efficient way the staff handled check-in, questions, directions, etc.

A highlight was the evening gathering around the fire pit in the back of the hotel, where the makings of S'mores were set out and the fire stoked.

The breakfast room in the middle of the 2nd floor had ample window tables to observe the Camden scene while waiting for your waffles or reading the paper over coffee. I especially like the fact that breakfast ran until 11 a.m., so that you could either sleep in or take an early walk to explore the area and still get there before the buffet was closed.

One of the most striking aspects of the hotel is the beauty of the vines and flowers that spread throughout the front entrance and parking lot, and across the footbridge to downtown Camden.
Many different birds, butterflies and bees were enjoying the giant sunflowers and other blooms when we were there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claireleefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2012

Our stay at the Riverhouse added so much to our stay in Camden! The rooms were clean and well appointed and the location was perfect for touring the town and local area. We enjoyed the pool, hottub, garden, the historical photographs, and chatting with the locals and guests. But, what will bring us back to the Riverhouse is: the welcoming staff, the local blueberries on our waffles as part of a lovely (included) breakfast, the evening firepit (complete with the makings for s'mores), the wild mixture of flowers and veggies that turn a walkway and parking lot into an enchanted garden and a walk on the footbridge into an adventure, and the VIP (Very Important Pooch) package that greeted our four-legged, fourth child!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miacapretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Camden is full of beautiful and expensive inns. The Riverhouse Hotel and Inn is a reasonable alternative. The best thing is its location. Its off of busy Route 1 but just a block away from the center of town. The rooms are certainly adequate...clean and fairly up to date. I would rank them a notch below a Hampton Inn, but the ambience of the hotel coulduse some help. The lobby and hallways have a certain dated feel to them that does not feel warm and cozy. The continental breakfast is adequate, but probably two notches below a Hampton Inn. The indoor pool and hot tub did not look inviting. But the off season price we paid was fair and given the location, made it a reasonable choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jabsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We had a most pleasant three night stay -everything was just right
Location was accessible to good restaurants and sites of interest
Staff was friendly and helpful with directions.

Breakfast room was pleasant and waffles utterly delicious
Computers in lobby kept us connected with home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Visiting Maine from England, my wife, daughter and I were walking around Camden, Maine and enjoying the ambiance when we found Riverhouse and decided to stay. We received a warm welcome,our room was very comfortable and the location perfect for us to explore.
The hotel is relaxing, breakfast was excellent, the evening fire in the spacious garden was great. I recommend the hotel highly.
Good value for money and friendly.

Room Tip: At the back overlooking the garden best. The ducks on the river at the front woke early. Didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I have stayed at Riverhouse in each of the four seasons of the year, and each season is great at this friendly hotel. Staff is always helpful and the rooms are very well appointed. I would highly recommend this hotel to women, couples or families who want a relaxing and restful visit to Camden, Maine. You can enjoy the patio and it's evening fire or just walk the town...everything is convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank val-mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The Riverhouse is a basic hotel in a town full of charming B&B's and guesthouses. Outside of the beautiful gardens out front, the location (20 paces from downtown), the very friendly and attentive staff and the sweet little sitting area out back with a nightly fire pit roaring, the hotel is nothing special.

The rooms are somewhat dated, the breakfast is forgettable and the exterior holds little charm. The price is nice but for a few dollars more there are certainly other great options.

That said, my wife and I had an excellent time during our 2 night stay. They have dog friendly rooms so our little black lab Liberty was with us and she had a nice time too.

Room Tip: Skip the breakfast bar unless your budget is tight. Take a left hand turn out the door, walk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolandAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#2 of 10 in Camden
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
179 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
6.5 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns

Address: 11 Tannery Ln, Camden, ME 04843-1708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Camden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camden
Price Range: £80 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inn is Camden’s finest in-town Hotel. Our village location boasts its own onsite parking, a heated indoor pool, and spacious backyard with beautiful gardens. We are fully ADA accessible, with an entrance ramp, and an elevator that services all floors. A block off busy and noisy U.S. Route 1, our hotel is steps from Camden’s shops, restaurants, and the renowned Camden Harbor, Amphitheatre, and Park. Guests say we have the charm and ambiance of a bed & breakfast with all the conveniences of a modern, up to date, in-town Hotel. The Camden Riverhouse Hotel has 35 beautifully appointed rooms some are Dog-Friendly. The Riverhouse Inn is a separate building with 8 luxurious cottage style rooms, and 8 Tannery has luxury suites . Whether you are in the Mid-Coast for one night or many, we have a selection of rooms to meet all needs. Free on-site parking, a heated indoor swimming pool, free Internet, and our spacious backyard, make us unique in downtown Camden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Riverhouse Hotel And Inns Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing