We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly hotel in a lovely town.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly hotel in a lovely town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The staff is very friendly and the location is lovely. The hotel is conveniently located and very family oriented. Excellent breakfast -- good selection of items. The pool area needs some work and the hottub was not only warm.

Room Tip: A room in the front overlooks the river that flows through town and the footbridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Skoogs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
battie, Guest Relations Manager at Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Skoogs4,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we appreciate your comments about our friendly staff, our breakfast and our great downtown location. Camden is a great destination for families year round and we strive to create a relaxing and memorable stay for our guest.

We are lucky to be the only intown hotel with our own pool and hot tub. I have passed along your comments about the pool and hot tub and we will be having the hot tub serviced. Thank you for sharing this problem with us and we hope it will be warmer in the future. The pool is scheduled for refurbishing this winter so we hope you will return and give it a try again.

We look forward to seeing you and your family return to Camden Riverhouse Hotel.. Have a happy and safe 2014.

Best,
Ryan Reynolds
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    89
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
132
128
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Camden, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Very nice hotel, clean & very comfortable. Location is ideal for shopping & restaurants in the downtown Camden area. The staff was very pleasant & helpful. I Highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Scrodfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
battie, Public Relations Manager at Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Scrodfish,

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and plan on returning to our hotel and Midcoast Maine. Our staff strives to make our guests feel at home and I will pass along your kind words. As you noted, our location can not be beat. We are lucky to be in downtown Camden but one block off the main street/Route 1. This location allows our guest the quiet solitude Maine is known for yet all Camden's restaurants, stores, and the harbor are a short walk.

Christmas by the Sea is a great community event and many of our guests return year after year.
We look forward to your return in 2014.

Best Wishes,
Ryan Reynolds
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We have had such a great, home like stay at Camden Riverhouse over the last 6 years. We joined a group of families who make this a tradition. It was easy to make it a family tradition as well. Ralph and Dave have made us feel at home and we appreciate it! We look forward to next year!

Room Tip: We have reserved a room on the second floor right by the stairs-a great spot for getting to the cont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Camden Riverhouse is located right downtown and within walking distance of most activities and all shopping and restaurants. Thanks to Dave, Ralph and the rest of the staff for your "like home" hospitality. This was out 10th year attending Christmas by the Sea and our 10th year staying T the Camden Riverhouse, see you next year!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KimJohnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
battie, Public Relations Manager at Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear KimJohn S.,
We are thrilled you are planning on returning next year for your 11th year. Christmas by the Sea has become a very special weekend at the hotel and our staff enjoys watching our returning families grow and change. We are lucky to have a good location which allows our guests to enjoy all the festivities in downtown while parking their cars in our private on site parking lot. We are pleased you continue to visit us and enjoy our " like home" hospitality. We are a family owned hotel whose staff strives to make our guest completely comfortable.

Happy Holidays to you and your family and we look forward to seeing you in 2014!

Best,
Ryan Reynolds
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsham, Maine
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay the location was right Dow town so we were able to walk to all the fun. The staff was very friendly and made us feel right at home. The boys enjoyed the cookies candy and hot chocolate at the front desk.

Room Tip: For a few extra dollars we opt for the bigger room. Glad we did .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
battie, Guest Relations Manager at Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Mark K,

Christmas by the Sea is a fun time. We have many repeat guests and we enjoy visiting with them and also welcoming new guests. We are thrilled your family enjoyed the cookies and hot chocolate at the front desk and indeed we are very lucky to be located in downtown with our own parking lot. All the great shops and restaurants are right at our door. We hope your boys were able to enjoy our indoor pool and hot tub inbetween the fireworks and the parade.

We hope you will stay with us when you are in Camden or mid-coast Maine.

Best,
Ryan Reynolds
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Perfect location for downtown Camden! Incredibly helpful and friendly staff who went out of their way to help, even making waffles for us at the great continental breakfast. Would highly recommend the Camden Riverhouse and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoVisitor14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
battie, Guest Relations Manager at Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Colorado Visitor 14,

Thank you SO MUCH for your nice review of Camden River House Hotel on our trip advisor page. We are lucky to be able to offer guests a downtown location while offering charm, comfort, and personalized service. Many people say our waffles are unmatched and we are pleased you enjoyed them.

The staff joins me in thanking you for your comments as we strive to provide friendly helpful service.

We look forward to having you stay with us when you return to MidCoast Maine.

Sincerely,
Ryan Reynolds
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbrook, Maine
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Whenever we are in Camden we stay at the Camden Riverhouse. Very friendly and helpful staff, and the hotel is located just one block from the main street for shopping and dining. Plus, we get to bring our chihauhau with us! She loves it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patooty6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
battie, Guest Relations Manager at Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Patooty6,

We appreciate and value your loyalty and are excited to see your contribution to our Trip Advisor Page. We have many repeat customers and your returning is the ultimate compliment. Our staff strives to make each guest visit relaxing and memorable. Our gardens and acreage out back make the hotel ideal for people who travel with their pets. We are glad your chihauhau enjoys the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you return and appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel and your stay.

Best Wishes,
Ryan Reynolds
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.2 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#2 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
0.5 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#3 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns

Property: Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Address: 11 Tannery Ln, Camden, ME 04843-1708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Camden
#1 Best Value Hotel in Camden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inn is Camden’s finest in-town Hotel. Our village location boasts its own onsite parking, a heated indoor pool, and spacious backyard with beautiful gardens. We are fully ADA accessible, with an entrance ramp, and an elevator that services all floors. A block off busy and noisy U.S. Route 1, our hotel is steps from Camden’s shops, restaurants, and the renowned Camden Harbor, Amphitheatre, and Park. Guests frequently say we have the charm and ambiance of a bed & breakfast with all the conveniences of a modern, up to date, in-town Hotel. The Camden Riverhouse Hotel has 35 beautifully appointed rooms some of which are Dog-Friendly. The Riverhouse Inn is a separate building with 8 luxurious cottage style rooms, and we have a cozy romantic Cottage located at the river’s edge which is also available. Whether you are in the Mid-Coast for one night or many, we have a selection of rooms to meet all needs. Free on-site parking, a heated indoor swimming pool, free Internet, and our spacious backyard, make us unique in downtown Camden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Riverhouse Hotel And Inns Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing