We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel has the most character of any place I have ever stayed. The rooms are exceptionally clean and quiet. They are huge in size and have many little touches. The staff is friendly and can help you with information about the area. Ralph is a gem, he had lots of information for us regarding the area. You can tell the staff really care about you. The flowers and pots of vegetables all around the place make it like a home. People are just hanging out around the hotel reading and relaxing. It is a short walk to anywhere. Cappy's is a must for food. I had one the best lobster and avocado salads I have ever eaten. Fresh, fresh local ingredients. We spent two days in Camden and would love to stay more.

Room Tip: My husband has severe sleep issues. I called when I made reservations and explained that to them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ishchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

When we made plans to return to Camden this summer, there was no doubt in our minds that this hotel is where we wanted to stay. It feels more like a Bed & Breakfast than a hotel. You can open the windows wide to catch a sea breeze. The staff is very friendly, and we love the flowers that grow profusely everywhere. In the evening we sat out with other guests around the fire pit as people made s'mores with the fixings provided by the hotel. The hotel provides an ample breakfast, and we love the little bridge covered with flowers that crosses over to an excellent ice cream stand. The hotel is only a block from the harbor and shops, but away from the noise of the Main Street. We love this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kinglaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

just returned from 4 days at the Camden riverhouse hotel.Hotel is in a great location 1 block from main street.everyone at reception was friendly and helpful.the free breakfast was very good,with 4 tables on the terrace if the weather is good.my room was good size with microwave small fridge and comfortable bed.there are concerts and shows in a small park behind the Camden library.if I return to Camden I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jeffrey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed for two nights with my family, the place is wonderful, clean, friendly staff, indoor pool, really nice property, free breakfast, a firepit to enjoy at night, excersise room. They have a beautiful footbridge that leads you right into town and past a great ice cream stand.
The breakfast was good.
Only con which may bother some the hotel desk closes at 10pm, first time I ever stayed at a place that didnt have 24/7 hotel desk. However the police station is located in front of the property. Should you feel unsafe
A great place to stay and relax while enjoying Camden!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank PRHOakland_NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
battie, Front Office Manager at Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear PRHOoakland_newjersey,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are lucky to have a great location off the main street (Route 1) but a short walk to all the restaurants and shops in Camden.

This spring we rebuilt the bridge across the river and can't thank you enough for mentioning the bridge. It is nice to hear visitors comments and appreciation.

I will pass along your comments to the staff. We all are local residents who have a love for mid-coast Maine and Camden in particular. We hope you will stay with us again when you are in the Mid-Coast.

Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Nice hotel right in Camden. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The price is right! Location is very convenient. Very short walk to heart of town and harbor. Not a 5 star establishment, but cozy and clean.

Room Tip: Third floor has very nice, quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dwg30039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I found the Riverhouse on TA. Our family of five stayed for one night on our way to Bar Harbor from Boston. We all really loved Camden and the hotel was perfect. It is a short walk (over a cute little bridge) to down town. The staff was super helpful in directing us to several places to eat and drink. The room was extremely clean. We have five in our family, so we had a cot for our fifth. We had plenty of room for the one night, but if we were staying for longer, we would have gotten two rooms. The setting is not the best, but they have made the best of it. Everything was homey, friendly and comfortable. I would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank imhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stopped in Camden on our way to Bar Harbor and wish we had planned on an extra day there. What a great little town and outstanding hotel. When we pulled up to the Camden Riverhouse we were amazed at how quaint it was....the pictures don't do it justice. It has the feel of a B&B, just on a larger scale. The location was awesome (walked to everything), the restaurant suggestions from the front desk were superb and the nightly bonfire a real treat after a long day. We definitely plan to return!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
625 reviews
0.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
174 reviews
6.5 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
0.3 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns

Address: 11 Tannery Ln, Camden, ME 04843-1708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Camden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camden
Price Range: £96 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inn is Camden’s finest in-town Hotel. Our village location boasts its own onsite parking, a heated indoor pool, and spacious backyard with beautiful gardens. We are fully ADA accessible, with an entrance ramp, and an elevator that services all floors. A block off busy and noisy U.S. Route 1, our hotel is steps from Camden’s shops, restaurants, and the renowned Camden Harbor, Amphitheatre, and Park. Guests frequently say we have the charm and ambiance of a bed & breakfast with all the conveniences of a modern, up to date, in-town Hotel. The Camden Riverhouse Hotel has 35 beautifully appointed rooms some of which are Dog-Friendly. The Riverhouse Inn is a separate building with 8 luxurious cottage style rooms, and we have a cozy romantic Cottage located at the river’s edge which is also available. Whether you are in the Mid-Coast for one night or many, we have a selection of rooms to meet all needs. Free on-site parking, a heated indoor swimming pool, free Internet, and our spacious backyard, make us unique in downtown Camden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Riverhouse Hotel And Inns Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing