We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return visitors” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Return visitors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We have stayed at the Riverhouse for the past 4-5 years. The staff, and owner, are very friendly and make you feel like part of the family. David sits down and talks to you. Ralph is great! The place is soo quiet and so close to the harbor. The place feels more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. The breakfast is wonderful. We have met so many nice people that also stay year after year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    89
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
132
128
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife and I stayed overnight 08/18/2014 at the CRH after making the reservation the day before. We were on our way back to Portland - and Kentucky - after spending the previous 5 days traveling up and down US Route 1, re-visiting the route I used to travel for work back in 1978-81, when we both lived in New Hampshire and worked in Boston. The room, hotel and staff were OUTSTANDING! We had a Queen room with a sitting area, in a corner, so we had windows that opened on two sides. Very spacious. My wife, who had been driving, immediately took her shoes off, opened a couple of the windows, put her feet up, and said it was the most relaxed she had been all day.

The hotel is located on a quiet street, a couple of blocks from the Camden city center, so it was convenient to everything. It reminded me of a European hotel, with its steps up to the front entry; and the flowers and the grape vines lining the paths and the railings.

In the evening, Ralph - who I believe made our reservation - lit a fire in the fire-pit out back and provided s'mores to "bake" over the fire. We met a couple from New York, one from Massachusetts/Florida, and another one from Massachusetts, and had a great time trading stories.

I would advise anyone planning to stay in Camden to try to secure a room at the CRH. It is definitely worth it!

Bill and Elaine C.

Room Tip: Ask for either a Queen room with sitting area or, for a little bit more money, a King room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddeford, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Let's face it... you want to spend time in Camden, but you find the driving and parking experience to be frustrating. If given the opportunity, the answer might be the Camden Riverhouse Hotel. Conveniently located in the downtown district, this hotel is perfect for those who would rather walk to their destination. Also, it's location is far better than other hotels situated on the busy and noisy Route 1. You will find the staff friendly and accommodating, the rooms clean and the location perfect for a day strolling and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oconnell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We Stayed here this August the weather was great it was close to everything! Very welcoming staff and Very clean! Friendly staff, will definitely return soon! It's a home away from home. Can't wait to do some stand up paddle boarding in the beautiful lakes around the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pillar3208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Located in the heart of town. There are lovely restaurants around and a delicious ice cream shop right across the footbridge. If you get a chance try the "wiggy", named after the owners daughter. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killingworth, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Camden River house is in a perfect location,walking distance to downtown over a lovely footbridge.The entrance to the hotel is surrounded by a garden of flowers and vegtables. Rooms are clean and bedding comfortable. It is worth noting that this hotel is GREEN and environmental friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Been here a few times, nice and quiet thanks to being off route 1. The rooms are a bit tired, but clean and well kept. The staff is quick with good recommendations for dinners and activities. Very convenient location, quick walk to the best little harbor on the coast of Maine. Already of the next stay planned and looking forward to it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.2 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#2 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
0.5 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#3 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns

Property: Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Address: 11 Tannery Ln, Camden, ME 04843-1708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Camden
#1 Best Value Hotel in Camden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inn is Camden’s finest in-town Hotel. Our village location boasts its own onsite parking, a heated indoor pool, and spacious backyard with beautiful gardens. We are fully ADA accessible, with an entrance ramp, and an elevator that services all floors. A block off busy and noisy U.S. Route 1, our hotel is steps from Camden’s shops, restaurants, and the renowned Camden Harbor, Amphitheatre, and Park. Guests frequently say we have the charm and ambiance of a bed & breakfast with all the conveniences of a modern, up to date, in-town Hotel. The Camden Riverhouse Hotel has 35 beautifully appointed rooms some of which are Dog-Friendly. The Riverhouse Inn is a separate building with 8 luxurious cottage style rooms, and we have a cozy romantic Cottage located at the river’s edge which is also available. Whether you are in the Mid-Coast for one night or many, we have a selection of rooms to meet all needs. Free on-site parking, a heated indoor swimming pool, free Internet, and our spacious backyard, make us unique in downtown Camden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Riverhouse Hotel And Inns Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing