We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend this motel...”
Review of Canaan Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canaan Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canaan
Aurora
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Recommend this motel...”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We have stayed at this motel several times over the last 10 years or so. Our recent stay was just last week (week of August 6th). It's a very small motel with a friendly staff. It's quiet even though off of a main thoroughfare (Rt 2). The grounds are clean, the rooms are clean and very spacious with double sink. Room had a nice size refrigerator and microwave oven. Towels and washcloths were fluffy not the flat ones in most hotel chains. I didn't use the pool area during this trip so I can't really comment on that. This motel is definitely worth my money. The only reason I couldn't give a 5 rating was the TV is a 19" old style and was up too high on wall. Hard to watch such a small TV from the beds especially since rooms are large. Motel should consider getting the newer 32" TV's.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Roadrunner T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
6
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stop in Canaan the motel is right on Rt 2 and is a good place to stay at a very reasonable price. It is close to Skowhegan and Pittsfield. The new pool will be open soon. Enjoy your stay in the land of milk and honey!! You can even take a rine down Easy Street once you are in Canaan.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank SteveAugusta_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

A nice little inexpensive motel run by wonderful people. I always stay here on my way through Maine to and from Nova Scotia. It is quiet and clean with an indoor pool and spa. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Also the gas station next door usually has the best prices for gas in Maine. Pet friendly for a small extra charge. Some rooms have a kitchenette.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank capebreton_bound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

my family and i stayed there this past friday and it was a great experience ..rooms were super clean...pool and hot tub was a great bonus..also it was great that liz had a pack n play available for my 15month old.....i would recommended to friends and family..we will be back soon...thanks

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
14 Thank jernscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We had a family reunion in the area, so 28 family members and 2 pets stayed here at the Canaan motel. The owners and staff were very friendly and very accommadating. Rooms are very reasonable, very roomy and super clean. Would definately recommend to anyone to stay here and would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank mcfaddenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW HAMPSHIRE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

I've been staying at the Canaan Motel for approx. the last 6-7 years during deer hunting. Last year my pick up broke down on a paper company road! What to do?? I called the motel, and got Liz. She asked where I was located, and told me she'd call right back. She did, and lo and behold my helper was Gary. They helped me get the truck to there house, and offered to let me use Gary's truck. I'm a mechanic, and told Gary I needed an alternator. He said no problem. He ordered it, and I had it the next morning I had it, and repaired it using Gary's tools. I don't care where your from, but it's like being with family when I'm staying with them. God Bless you guys!!
Sincerely, Brett Aither
P.S.- See you in November!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BRETTAITHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2008

A small motel, but very clean and easy to find. Quiet town, so rooms were quiet, even though on main street.

Coffee and Tea along with homemade donuts were available for breakfast.

Guests are made to feel very welcomed.

Definately would stay there again.

  • Liked — cheap and CLEAN
  • Disliked — really nothing.
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rosalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canaan
13.7 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Waterville
263 reviews
14.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Waterville - North
13.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterville
Hampton Inn Waterville
#1 of 6 in Waterville
400 reviews
24.9 mi away
Bingham Motor Inn & Sports Complex
7.9 mi away
Kyes Motel
Kyes Motel
#3 of 4 in Skowhegan
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canaan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaan Motel

Property: Canaan Motel
Address: 205 Main St, Route 2, Canaan, ME 04924-3404
Region: United States > Maine > Canaan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canaan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Canaan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing