We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Stat”
Review of Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Somerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Stat”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We had such a wonderful weekend. Inn by the Sea doesn't miss a single detail. Beautiful room, grounds and great service. Would go back in a second! Mark at the front desk was hugely helpful and the spa was incredible. I would encourage friends to make it a destination in future.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear ABillett,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our accommodations, grounds and great service! I’m always delighted to read that we are exceeding our guests expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    142
    53
    21
    8
See reviews for
242
515
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed in a pet-friendly spa suite at the Inn with our puppy and were completely impressed by our whole experience. The suite was fantastic--very spacious with a great kitchen, balcony, bedroom loft and an amazing spa-bathroom with heated floors. Our dog was in heaven too! The front desk staff doted on him and the bellman gave him cookies. They do a great job catering to pets, the suite was outfitted with special dog bowls, a bed, dog towel, etc. The dog loved taking the short trail from the Inn to Crescent Beach and playing on the beach, which seems to be a popular dog-walking spot in the off-season.

The Inn is just about a 15-20 min. drive to downtown Portland and all the great restaurants and shops, so it's well situated for those who want to be near the beach and the city. We also had nice breakfasts at the Inn's restaurant and enjoyed a massage in their spa--both fabulous! We highly recommend the Inn as a great weekend getaway hope to return again in warmer weather.

Room Tip: Choose a spa suite if you'd like a spacious 2 floor layout, with bedroom on the top floor and an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOSTravelHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear BOSTravelHound,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our accommodations, eco-friendly spa, Sea Glass dining experience and our VIP (Very Important Pets) service at the Inn. We are so glad to read that both you and your puppy were able to pamper yourselves during your visit to Maine. Again, thank you for taking the time to share and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales and Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Went for NewYears 3 day weekend Dec'12-Jan'13. I had been there in the late summer about 41/2 years ago and its even better now (though prices have skyrocketed for the summer season over those years). Its really cozy and service is great perticularly front desk and bar tender, I cant remember his name, but worked New Years eve) and they are super dog friendly. Dogs are only allowed in certain rooms so if you arent a dog person, you can still enjoy. Dinner was quite good both nights (with the bitter cold we decided not to go out everynight), breakfast (room service was very generous and feed us both with one order. Beds are super comfy. The beach was just enough snow for cross country ski, tho we didnt bring skis, but saw others; its a beautiful sandy beach and you can walk quite a ways really lovely in the winter. Deep soaking tubs are enourmous and perfect for a warm bath after a long walk. We are going back again this winter for another long weekend. Its expensive, but worth it. the only negative thing I can say is that they forgot the dog treats one night when they came in for turndown service. Not a big deal.Hopefully the next trip will be as good as the last.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear ctor73,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our accommodations, beach, Sea Glass dining experience and most of all our well trained friendly staff. I’m always so excited to see guests comments about our staff and service as they are truly passionate about delivering a top notch experience to each and every one of our guests.
I’m sorry we missed the treats on one of the nights during your stay. Double cookies for your VIP’s (Very Important Pets) upon your return, we promise! Thanks again for taking the time share and we hope to see you again soon! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The staff here is incredibly helpful.
This is a big treat for our family of 5 and the off season rates make it affordable. The kids really like that there are two story hotel rooms and they love the large bath with jets. They enjoy looking through the DVD collection in the lobby and watching movies in our room. The path to the beach right off the restaurant/ lobby area and the beach in the off season is so beautiful. We could spend hours out there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorgig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear lorgig,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our accommodations and pristine beach. We are so happy to read that you and the kids enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn by the Sea in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
166 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Just returned from a two night stay in one of the 3rd floor beach suites which was gorgeous, spotless and very spacious! We felt like we were in an apartment, not a hotel room! The view was stunning and to wake up every moring to the sight of the sea was special. My husband and I are seasoned travelers and can honestly say this is one of the best rooms we've ever stayed at. My only issue is the lack of soundproofing. Since it's mostly hardwood floors, sound travels. Throughout our stay, especially in the evening, we heard lots of "banging" such as doors slamming, drawers shutting, etc. which made it difficult to relax. The sounds came not just from out neighbors but from the floor below. One of the reasons we ask for a top floor is to avoid hearing the neighbors above us so we were very surprised how much you could hear from being on the top floor. My husband never complains but the banging sounds well into the night got to him as well. That aside, the property is beautiful, Sea Glass restaurant fabulous and the staff wonderful. I took advantage of the spa and was happy I did as my massage was wonderful! This was our first trip to Cape Elizabeth and would like to come back in the summer to experience the beach.

Room Tip: Beach Suites, although expensive, are more "apartment like" and are away from the main bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Saint,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your many positive comments in regards to our new Beach Suite accommodations, eco-friendly spa, Sea Glass dining experience and most of all our wonderful staff. I am disappointed to read about the noise from our hard wood floors and we truly apologize for the disturbance during your stay. We’ve gone ahead and shared your feedback with our design team in hopes to resolve this issue. Again, thank you for taking the time to share and please know that your feedback does not go unnoticed. We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to the southern coast of Maine. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We can't say enough good things about Inn by the Sea! We stayed there over New Years and enjoyed our beautiful view of the water and the relaxing atmosphere of the inn. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our room and the inn itself was very clean and well-kept.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HB_and_CE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear HB_and_CE,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your lovely comments in regards to our accommodations, well trained housekeeping department and most of all our entire friendly and helpful staff. We are so delighted to read that we were able to deliver a positive New Years experience and look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn by the Sea in the future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Just a legitimately beautiful place. We were really excited to explore Portland but the room and hotel was so nice we ended up only spending about 5 hours in Portland over the whole weekend. We loved the view, the service, the suite, the walk in shower, the spa in the bathroom, the balcony, the fact that you can bring your dog, the restaurant (amazing breakfast), the unique beer choices at the bar, the beach so close, and about a thousand other things. It was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slbobeldyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear slbobeldyk,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your positive comments in regards to our Spa Suite accommodations, Sea Glass dining experience and VIP (Very Important Pet) programs at the Inn. I’m so delighted to read that our staff was also able to provide you with top notch service to enhance your overall travel experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to share, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn sometime in the near future. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Elizabeth
6.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.3 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
6.3 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
19.3 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Sea

Property: Inn by the Sea
Address: 40 Bowery Beach Rd, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107-2599
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Cape Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn by the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a multi million dollar renovation the eco luxury Inn by the Sea is Maine's premier beach destination. Located on a mile of unspoiled beach guests enjoy intimate dining in the ocean view Sea Glass celebrating Maine fare, relax in the spa or fireplace lounge. Spacious redesigned suites, rooms & cottages w oversized bathrooms, or full kitchens, or fireplaces. Child & Pet friendly! 5 acre indigenous garden,pool, bocce, fire pit, golf nearby. 10 mins to Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Sea Hotel Cape Elizabeth
Inn By The Sea Maine/Cape Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing