We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Celebrations.....”
Review of Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 May 2014

we came to the Inn to rest and restore after a devastating loss of "family". it is the perfect choice. Comfort, quietness when needed, respect, helpful staff, red tulips, white chairs, snuggle in lounge and soothing bath. A view to let thoughts drift a sea, maintained boardwalk to travel "miles" yet mere steps to the beach...
The Inn by the Sea is for all travelers...no matter then journey

Room Tip: In the inn at the end of the hall there can be some morning noise of the laundry service elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyGust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear AmyGust,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry for your family loss and are glad that we could assist in providing some comfort to you and your guests at such a difficult time, Sincerely, The Staff of Inn by the Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Went to this inn for lunch on a Saturday, and ordered lobster rolls. Now ordinarily,as a New Englander, I would not order a lr anywhere other than a lobster shack, but I did. Long story short, the lobster tasted like it had been frozen and the roll seemed stale and not good quality bread. Even a Stop and Shop hotdog roll would have improved the taste. For $20, not good. Other than that the entrance to the main building is really lovely, but food really bad. I'm not too sure about this but I think it's the only game in town too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank masulliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBTSDOSM, Food & Beverage Manager at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear masulliv,

Thank you for your review of Sea Glass at Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor. We are disappointed to read that your lunch experience in Sea Glass did not meet your expectations and for this we are truly sorry. Please feel free to contact our Food & Beverage Manager at ext 855 so we can discuss with you in detail in hopes to resolve the issue for future experiences. We appreciate you taking the time to share and hope you will return to the Inn by the Sea in the future. Management Team at Inn by the Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Beautiful and peaceful Inn. We had a wonderful weekend and would definitely return. The Inn is peaceful and well maintained. We felt relaxed the minute we stepped through the door. Staff members were extremely helpful and attentive. Loved the fireplace in the room.
Perfect cozy and peaceful escape for a quick trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Melissa S,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvsior and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our atmosphere, accommodations and most of all our extremely attentive and helpful staff! We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the southern coast of Maine in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

My hubby and I took a trip to Maine for a wedding in town. We heard about this great spot and thought to try it out! We got to the hotel at around 2 pm. We were told our room would be ready at 1:30. But no:( The women helping us gave us a hard time about our complaints, that we should have our room ready by now. So we went to the bar and got a drink while waiting for our room. It wasn't until 4:45 until we got to our room. Once settled we put our stuff in the closet, there was a horrible smell. It was like cat pee. Very very disturbing. We asked the housekeeping to do a good job in the closet so that stench would get LOST!!! When we came back after a long day of sightseeing the smell was so so bad it was very hard to sit comfortably. My hubs looked around and found nothing. So we sucked it up for one more day. Dinner was very pricy but the food was good. Our last night left us with a wonderful walk on the shore of Maine. Our stay at Inn By The Sea was pretty but a bit stinking.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kelli_Green17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Kelli_Green17,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor. We are very disappointed to read that your experience at the Inn was less than fantastic and for this we truly apologize. Our Director of Housekeeping would be very interested in connecting with you as we have yet to find the unit with issues that you have described in your review. She can be reached via telephone at 207-799-3134 ext 872. We appreciate your other comments as well in regards to Crescent Beach and your Sea Glass dining experience. We do hope to have another chance to welcome you back to the Inn by the Sea in the future. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

A beautiful place on Maine's beach. Located near Portland it is also far enough for a peaceful trip surrounded by nature.

Excellent food, beautiful decoration, warm people...

It is a destination by itself.

Highly recommended, I will definitely schedule a new trip...

Stayed: May 2014
Thank michpostales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear michpostales,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our location, décor, Sea Glass dining experience and most of all our warm staff at the Inn. We appreciate the review and look forward to welcoming you back to the southern coast of Maine in the future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed here over Easter weekend and we were not disappointed. The lady who checked us in (I think she may have been called Eve) was wonderful and her directions were precise to various places. The inn is very clean, beds comfortable, and an amazing bathroom. The breakfast was good. The beach was beautiful and wonderful to walk on, which is minutes away from the hotel. Another person worth a mention is the guy who took our bags the room after check in, very helpful and was working on Good Friday tea time. I would stay again, I just wish it was nearer in England. Excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susieKnutsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear susieKnutsford,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your comments in regards to our accommodations, location, Sea glass dining experience and most of all our excellent customer service!. We appreciate you taking the time to share and we look forward to welcoming you back to the southern coast of Maine in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is consistently terrific. Rooms are spacious, clean and beautifully furnished. Service is casual, unobtrusive and excellent. A walk on Crescent Beach, then dinner at Sea Glass (as good as any of the top Portland restaurants) makes for an ideal weekend break. We return at least twice a year. It is one of my all time favorite places!

Room Tip: All have ocean views and vary in size but are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wink2ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear wink2ski,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your comments in regards to our location, accommodations, Sea glass dining experience and most of all our consistent service!. We appreciate you taking the time to share and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn by the Sea in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Elizabeth
6.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,503 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
6.5 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
2.7 mi away
Higgins Beach Inn
Higgins Beach Inn
#4 of 13 in Scarborough
41 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Sea

Address: 40 Bowery Beach Rd, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107-2599
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Cape Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Elizabeth
Price Range: £168 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn by the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a multi million dollar renovation the eco luxury Inn by the Sea is Maine's premier beach destination. Located on a mile of unspoiled beach guests enjoy intimate dining in the ocean view Sea Glass celebrating Maine fare, relax in the spa or fireplace lounge. Spacious redesigned suites, rooms & cottages w oversized bathrooms, or full kitchens, or fireplaces. Child & Pet friendly! 5 acre indigenous garden,pool, bocce, fire pit, golf nearby. 10 mins to Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Sea Hotel Cape Elizabeth
Inn By The Sea Maine/Cape Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing