We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance without pretension”
Review of Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

It's a beautiful place right on the beach with all the amenities of a 5 star hotel but none of the pretensious annoyance. And a big bonus - they are over the top dog friendly. Portland is 15 min away and definitely worth a trip in but there are so many state parks and beaches that you can't fit everything in!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrazyaboutDiving88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear CrazyaboutDiving88,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank for your comments in regards to our location, pet friendly practices and most of all our warm, friendly service at the Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

I believe the Inn by the Sea was overpriced for the following reasons: (1) the view of the sea practically required binoculars – it’s a half mile walk to get to the beach (2) the beach is not well maintained – the beach was more algae than sand, (3) the pool is tiny, (4) the restaurant is overpriced with small portions. The service was friendly and efficient so I would give the team that works there a thumbs up!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank 12345food9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear 12345food9999,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor. We are very disappointed to read that you felt the Inn by the Sea was unable to meet your expectations in regards to our location, beach and Sea Glass dining experience and for this we are truly sorry. We appreciate you taking the time to share. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My wife and I stated here for 2 lovely days. The staff was extraordinarily polite and welcoming. I have stayed through out the world and I have to say that I found the room rates a bit overpriced. I agree with a prior review about the service in dining areas being slow. I think the ace would benefit from a little more training of its young service staff. Overall if you don't mind spending a lot than it is a beautiful charming east coast vacation spot. Small, beautiful and very relaxing!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank x0vnara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear x0vnara,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your positive comments in regards to our location and welcoming staff! We are disappointed to read that you felt your Sea Glass dining experience was less than perfect and we truly appreciate that you took the time to share. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn by the Sea sometime in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Very tranquil, quaint beach resort. Lots of guests from Boston and NYC (picking up their kids from sleepaway camp). Came here with 7yr olds and they loved it. Their highlights were blueberry picking right in front of the hotel, meeting Derrick during the nature walk and learning about butterflies, plants, finding birds nests, and nightly s'mores. Our highlights (as parents) were the lawn of games right in front of the restaurant deck so the kids can run around while we finish eating; the reasonable prices for meals considering its a hotel ($11 for a kids rigatoni pasta is ok for us); and local/organic options for food.

We had a room with pull-out couch. The couch cushions were filthy upon arrival, covered in dog hair ( it's a pet friendly hotel), and needed housekeeping to vacuum & replace the sheets. Rather gross, but we moved past that. Good sized room though.

The restaurant food is fine. New England Clam Chowder and banana pecan French toast were fantastic. The rest of the menu was fine. All the servers are high school grads or early college students. So so young, hence the bad service in all these reviews. Coffee w/o bringing sugar, disappearing waitstaff (like all of them) for long periods of time, and long wait to order or get food. The service is sincere, but lacking. Like your teen serving you!

The pool is small, about 18 chaise lounges more or less. And cold!! Not really heated to accommodate for cold Maine summer days.

The hotel can walk down chairs & umbrella to the beach for free. Lots and lots of seaweed, so it smells very gamey. Also, it's rocky by the water, so wear flip flops/water shoes.

Sweet resort. Would return if in the area again.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank kzl1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear kzl1973,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor. It appears that the Inn by the Sea missed the mark in many areas of your travel experience and for this we are truly sorry. Our General Manager, Carrie Dyer would appreciate the opportunity to discuss these challenges with you via phone and can be reached at 207-799-3134. We look forward to the opportunity to speak with you and hope to be able to welcome you back to the southern coast of Maine in the future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is a beautiful resort with truly lovely accommodations that are clean and comfortable .... The view from the hotel is magnificent .... Truly breathtaking ..... We have enjoyed the pool, the ocean, the yoga and the nightly s'mores .. The housekeeping stuff is meticulous and lovely .... The major issue we have had is the hotel restaurant, which has been a huge disappointment ....the food is decent but the menu remains the same each night and there are no specials... The service is erratic ... Some of the waitstaff is lovely whereas others are inattentive, sloppy, unsanitary, and not interested ..... If we were to return, we would hope to see improvements in the restaurant and or would plan to eat elsewhere

Room Tip: The suites are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Opinioned_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Opinioned_traveler,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our location and top notch housekeeping staff! We are very disappointed to read that we failed to meet expectations in our Sea Glass restaurant and for this we are truly sorry and are working to correct this issue immediately. We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the southern coast of Maine in the future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Mid August...lots of young families with kids and dogs....The dogs were well mannered...The families all seemed to be happy,active and prosperous...The pool was at the center of activity for kids....the beach was fine...all the staff were pleasant,but at night the dining room service was slow,but I think the hotel was understaffed in this area...only about 20 minutes from tourist ridden Portland....not much going on at the hotel...4 or 5 ladies in a yoga class in the morning...the rooms were well furnished and well provided with towels,coffee,soap,the usual...our room was quiet,with view of the ocean about 600 yards away....there were 2 or 3 casual restaurants nearby...try The Lobster Shack,long,fast line at dinner...I think there is a nearby golf club,but I did not hear anything about it....I rate this place 4 star,because the young people seemed to be having a lot of fun....

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank judge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear judge1,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your comments in regards, to our location, guest room amenities and pleasant staff. We appreciate you taking the time to share and hope to see you again at the Inn sometime in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Inn by the Sea has it all...beautiful rooms, gorgeous views, great amenities, and an outstanding staff to make your stay a magical experience. You can even bring your dogs and they are pampered too! Dining at the Inn is a culinary delight!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mollygram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Mollygram,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our accommodations, resort amenities, pet friendly services and most of all our outstanding staff! We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the southern coast of Maine in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Elizabeth
6.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,456 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.3 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Higgins Beach Inn
Higgins Beach Inn
#4 of 13 in Scarborough
41 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
19.3 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Sea

Address: 40 Bowery Beach Rd, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107-2599
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Cape Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Elizabeth
Price Range: £200 - £495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn by the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a multi million dollar renovation the eco luxury Inn by the Sea is Maine's premier beach destination. Located on a mile of unspoiled beach guests enjoy intimate dining in the ocean view Sea Glass celebrating Maine fare, relax in the spa or fireplace lounge. Spacious redesigned suites, rooms & cottages w oversized bathrooms, or full kitchens, or fireplaces. Child & Pet friendly! 5 acre indigenous garden,pool, bocce, fire pit, golf nearby. 10 mins to Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Sea Hotel Cape Elizabeth
Inn By The Sea Maine/Cape Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing