We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding food and service”

Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We really enjoyed our dinner. The appetizer, salad and entrees were all superb. The service was excellent and we appreciate that they are promoting and serving sustainable seafood choices.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stillwater54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie D, Manager at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Stillwater54, Thank you for your recent review of Sea Glass at Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor. Chef is very passionate about utilizing sustainable seafood. He does a lot with the Gulf of Maine Research Institute to ensure that we are the most up to date information regarding the underutilized fish and creates amazing dishes around them. Thank you again for your review. Carrie Dyer, Hotel Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    58
    35
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
217 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“One of the top Restsurants in Greater Portland”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful dinner at Sea Glass last night. I had salmon and my partner had a wonderful pork special. Both were wonderful and the accompaniments were outstanding. I have never been a fan of Brussels sprouts, but mine were grilled and a real treat. The focaccia served with the meal was special, too. In addition, the restaurant is lovely and the view outstanding.

Those of us who spend any amount of time in and around Portland have a choice of many excellent restaurants and Sea Glassc is, in my opinion, one of the best.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KaseyME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie D, Manager at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear KaseyME, Thank you for your recent review of Sea Glass at Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor. We like to consider ourselves a part of the Portland food scene, but with better parking options! We are glad that you took the time to give us a try and enjoyed your experience! We hope to have you back again soon! Carrie Dyer, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
256 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a lovely setting”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I'm happy to echo the positive comments below, and sorry for the folks who were less than pleased. My friend and I enjoyed a cocktail in the bar (fireplace didn't want to lite, alas) and then moved to the main dining room for dinner. It's a small intimate space with about five window tables (reserve early for those), but the food and service more than made up for it. I had the lobster bisque which actually comes with chunks of lobster (heavenly) followed by the Atlantic salmon with its root vegetable preparation which was excellent. Dessert was a molten chocolate cake with raspberry sorbet (they humored us and added a scoop of vanilla for an extra charge) which was also terrific. Nothing is going to blow you out of the water, but for a lovely intimate evening with excellent food and attentive service, don't hesitate to give this a try. Prices are reasonable for this level of quality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pen_Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie D, Manager at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you, Pen_Princess, for your recent review on TripAdvisor or Sea Glass at Inn by the Sea. Since Chef has changed the menu for the season we have received a number of great comments about our Salmon dish. I am glad that you were able to enjoy it during your visit to the East Cost Portland area. Perhaps during your next visit we will be able to get you a window seat. Carrie Dyer, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cosi Cosi”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Inn by the Sea this past June and were looking forward to mostly dining at the Sea Glass Restaurant. The first evening we were there we had dinner. The ambiance and views were amazing, and our server Anthony was great. Per our servers suggestion I started with the lobster bisque and was wowed - huge chunks of lobster with a broth that was brimming with flavor. For dinner I had the filet -while the cut was great it had absolutely no flavor at all, very disappointing. It needed some type of sauce to help out its sad state. The side - mashed potatoes and brocollini were both great - and full of flavor as they were doused in butter.
The next two mornings we decided to have breakfast at the sea glass as well. We sat outside both times and were mesmerized but the stunning views. Too bad we did not feel the same way about our food on day 1. We started with the fruit cup - for the price it was a modest serving and consisted of un-impressive fruit types. I had an omelet with the home made English muffin. They skimped so bad on the cheese in my omelet I was unsure if they added it at all and had to open it to double check. Yup it was there but so minimal I couldn't taste it. The English muffin to my dismay had the same issue as their filet - absolutely no flavor.
I cannot believe I came back here the next day for breakfast, but we were lazy and just wanted to walk to eat versus drive. What a difference a day and choice make. I had the best blueberry pancakes of my life! I love my pancakes thin, which they were, and packed with flavor. Fresh blueberries and the real deal maple syrup. I had to ask for extra syrup as they were a bit skimpy on this. The service both days was wonderful.
Our last night we decided to have desert on the deck and bring our pup Carmelo. We decided to go as no one was on the deck .We were conscious of this because we had our dog and did not want him to disturb anyone begging for their food. I ordered apple crisp and waited 45 minutes for it. I was trying to be patient but eventually had to go in and ask if our order was coming. They forgot to put our order in and apologized. They came out awfully fast for a crisp after I mentioned it, and to my dismay my apple crisp was actually an apple crumb, and cold to boot! I mentioned this to the server and he admitted it was very misleading on the menu. The worst part is that it did not even taste good. He took it off our bill but never offered us anything to replace it. Ultimate fail on our romantic desert on the patio.
Overall I found this place to be incredibly inconsistent for what I expected for the Inn and price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JennaBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie D, Manager at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Sea Glass at Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor, JennaBird. I apologize that your experiences with Sea Glass were inconsistent. That is certainly not the level of service that we strive to provide our guests. I have shared your feedback with both Chef and our Food & Beverage Manager, as it is through candid feedback from guests such as yourselves that we are able to improve our products and service. I hope that you decide to give Sea Glass at Inn by the Sea another try if you happen to be in the area again. Carrie Dyer, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious & Memorable Dinner”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

What stands out most was the amazing food. For dinner, I had the grilled lobster with a lemon risotto. SO delicious- it was actually one of my favorite meals of the entire 10 day vacation. The view was really nice of the well manicured hotel grounds. Service was good. Overall a great experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisamarcelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie D, Manager at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Sea Glass at Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor, Lisamarcelle. Though we don’t serve a traditional boiled or steamed lobster, I believe that this dish is the next best thing, and it sounds like you do as well. Chef’s menu will be changing soon with the seasons, so you will have to join us again when we have more flavors of the fall on the menu. Carrie Dyer, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing