We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice campground; would stay again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Neddick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dixon's Coastal Maine Campground
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice campground; would stay again”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We arrived in Ogunquit with no reservations anywhere. We like to travel by the seat of our pants. We found Dixon's and they had space available. Wonderful location for visiting Ogunquit, Perkins Cove and Portsmouth NH. Really nice RV site except it had no sewer. The dump station was easy to navigate to on the way out, though. We just stayed for a couple of nights, so it wasn't a huge deal. The showers and restrooms were really nice and clean. We didn't use the showers because we were traveling in a motorhome, but since they were close we checked them out. You have to pay for them as well. There was no wifi, so that was a bit of a downer. No cable either. Got a good sat signal, though. We would likely stay here again. The staff was very nice and helpful and the campground layout was nice. It's a little tough for big rigs getting in (we have a 38-foot). They have hills and turns. It was off season, so not very crowded, even for a weekend. We only rated them a 4 because they lacked sewer hookups.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stef2dotoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    16
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My fiancé and our one year old son had reservations for July 26-29. Our overall rating for our stay at Dixon's was average to poor. We were expecting one other person to join us and they could not make it at the last minute, they give no refunds; no questions.
The night we checked in the staff was helpful- a man on a gator made sure we found our site ok. That night after eating out we came back to a deflated mattress; we were all exhausted from traveling so we decided to purchase a blow up mattress from the main office- after the 50.00 purchase we learned they were selling the same mattress at Walmart for less than 1/2 the price. Long story short- we take responsibility for this because we did not check our mattress before leaving however, in short, we don't mind when someone is trying to make an honest buck- but between the mattress, firewood, being forced to "shop there" or forfeit our third person credit- we simply felt ripped off.
During the stay, we found it did not have the "camp" feel we were looking for. The sites were very crowded and noisy at night; we were let down because while not everyone respects quiet hours; nobody from Dixon's enforced it. Our fire pit was about a foot from the road so as we made s'mores we watched other families go about their business- there was nothing quiet about it.
The showers felt clean but the bathrooms were fishy smelling- the did however do a good job at keeping hand sanitizer and tp stocked.
We had no issues with bugs, perhaps they take the liberty to spray from time to time to make it that much more enjoyable.
Lastly, access to the beach was tricky. They are not close enough to be able to walk and it did not appear to be public transportation. We left our site around 10am and about 35 mins later (Saturday traffic) we made it to the beach. We drove around the town for another 30 mins or so then the stars aligned for us- we found a spot.
Dixon's is close to numerous restaurants, stores and antique stores. Easily accessible to 95.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vermontahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We camped at this location as a family of four with two pre-teen children for 8 nights in early July 2013. We camped in a pop-up trailer in a wooded site which was quite spacious. This campground was filled with many tents and pop-up trailers, as it cannot accommodate many large RV's. This made it a bit unusual for us, as we are used to being in the minority with our small pop-up. It also made the washrooms/showers very busy, as very few campers have their own toilet. Each camping section has their own washroom/shower building, with 2 toilets and 2 showers in each building. Showers cost 50 cents for 10 minutes - hot water was never an issue. The one thing that threw us off initially is that there are no sinks in the room with each toilet, though there is a hand sanitizer dispenser on the wall which is always full. There are sinks on opposite ends of each bathroom building, but no soap is provided, and dishes are being washed in those sinks as well so I'm still kind of iffy on that one. Regardless, the bathrooms/showers are kept very clean and are obviously cleaned several times a day. The showers tended to get busiest in the evening after supper. The pool is nice and clean, and you can access wifi from the deck next to the store. The staff here is very friendly and helpful. The campground is super quiet (no partiers here) which was great for us - no noise whatsoever after 10pm. My kids complained it wasn't exciting enough for them, but I was happy with it. This campground is in a great location; Kittery is just 15 minutes in one direction, Ogunquit/Wells is less than 10 minutes away in the other direction. Portsmouth NH is just 20 minutes away and has a great mall for tax free shopping. We didn't do any sea kayaking though this was well advertised at this campground. The majority of campers had Quebec license plates - lots of older couples (50+) camping which I thought was great! The beach in Ogunquit is beautiful, Old Orchard Beach is approx. 40 minutes away, as is Funtown/Splashtown which makes for an enjoyable day in the extreme heat that we faced. We would definitely return to this campground.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kook541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Nice sites, clean bathrooms and showers, friendly hosts. Sites are bigger than you would expect. It is in a great location to many activities. The camp store is not too overpriced and fully stocked. The sites 1-7 are closer to route 1 and road noise might be an issue, but with 90 sites you can;t go wrong.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariuccias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights- It was our very first 'real camping' experience. There was enough space between sites so that you didnt feel cramped, it was quiet and the bathrooms were spotless! We were expecing the worst, but got the best!

Room Tip: try requesting a site away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lcolbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We were scheduled to camp/ bike through Maine using this campground. My wife suffered a stroke and broken shoulder, ribs and pelvis as a result of her fall. Dixon's was 1 of 8 campgrounds we were scheduled to stay at. They were the ONLY one that would not refund or at least give credit for a future date. I explained the extraordinary circumstances but was told " we have strict refund policies and we cannot do anything for you". I spoke and wrote them re: this issue but was given no satisfaction. I would not stay there if I were you. They show none of the Maine hospitality we were told about.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank parenava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Dixon's has a great location for cycling north to Ogunquit and south to York and Kittery. The campground is beautiful, with lots of open space, woods, and great facilities. We really liked being able to wash our dishes in such nice sinks. Outlets and mirrors outside were so hand. Staff were helpful when we needed them. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emlsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Neddick
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
6.5 mi away
Studio East Motel
Studio East Motel
#17 of 36 in Ogunquit
177 reviews
8.5 mi away
Moody Beach RV Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
477 reviews
7.8 mi away
Mariner Resort
Mariner Resort
#15 of 36 in Ogunquit
408 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western York Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dixon's Coastal Maine Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dixon's Coastal Maine Campground

Property: Dixon's Coastal Maine Campground
Address: 740 US Route One, Cape Neddick, York, ME 03902
Region: United States > Maine > York > Cape Neddick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Cape Neddick
Number of rooms: 87
Also Known As:
Dixon's Coastal Maine Campground Cape Neddick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing