We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly delightful”

Frankie & Johnny's Natural
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Cape Neddick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Surprisingly delightful”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Bring your own wine and bring cash - the best and potentially the worst of the experience - but they do warn you of both ahead of time. Otherwise the service, the food, the pairings of various different foods that one would not immediately put together and the portions were all spectacular. My wife's stuffed haddock was topped with a lobster tail and I had (among other things) a mixed vege and fruit salad with a blueberry dressing that was absolutely scrumptious. Service was friendly and knowledgable. Somewhat overpriced but still worth the very tasty and filling meal. Recommended by several locals, we got there at opening and before too long they were turning folks away - so reserve but don't worry about the time you spend, no one is hovering over you worrying about the next service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    27
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband and I have been coming to York for 17 years and this is the first time we have ventured out of our normal dining routine. I am so happy we did! This place is by far THE best we have ever been to around York Beach. The atmosphere and staff (including owner Thea) were remarkable, and the food was to die for! Would highly recommend and already have to family and friends. Can't wait to come back next year.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake City, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This was hands down the best meal I've eaten”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We picked this restaurant solely because it was close to the campground. We were handed a bottle of wine by a couple leaving who let us know it was BYOB and saw my sad face and empty hands. Great bottle of wine, thank you stranger.
The food was incredible! Lobster purses almost made me swoon. I ate two appetizers, the purses and the spring rolls (also amazing). My husband had the chimichurri steak. We both had leftovers and no room for dessert - which looked delicious going by.
Service was wonderful, and we were amused to pay by out of state check. We didn't have reservations but they are recommended. Do NOT miss this restaurant if you are anywhere nearby.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MardiR564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Steve S”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent good food huge
Portions excellent service
Fun place cash only and
Byob will go again in August
Reservations a must

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our new favorite in the OGT area”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were fortunate to be introduced to Frankie & Johnny's on our most recent trip to Maine through friends who live in the area. After visiting Maine for the past 5-6 years, I am in love with this place. A couple of helpful things to know - the restaurant is BYOB (which means you can bring in some awesome wine) and only accepts cash/check. I seriously can't wait to return next summer. There are great appetizers to choose from; however, you will want to order the Lobster Purses (trust me). You entree will also include one of their amazing salads. Our party had everything from the lamb special to their homemade pasta. You will not be disappointed as the portions are large. Unfortunately, we were too full to enjoy the idea of dessert. But seriously, make this a stop if you are visiting Ogunquit/Wells/York.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IndyMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frankie & Johnny's Natural also viewed

 

Been to Frankie & Johnny's Natural? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing