We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gourmet Dining in coastal Maine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frankie & Johnny's Natural

Frankie & Johnny's Natural
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Cape Neddick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
140 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Gourmet Dining in coastal Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

F&J's is one of the best restaurants in New England. We have eaten there numerous times over the past 20+ years on our annual summer visit to Ogunquit. Johnny is a master chef. In our three recent meals, our guests and we have had the ahi tuna, chile encrusted salmon, divers scallops and an exquisite polenta/tofu vegetarian dish. Every entree comes w an amazing salad w fruit and vegetables or the daily special soup. Don't be fooled by the modest exterior. This is a special restaurant. Reservations are typically necessary and you need to bring your own alcohol.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    27
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Somersworth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly service, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

A recent trip to Frankie & Johnny's was a first. We had an early reservation and the restaurant was full quickly after. We ordered the pumpkin ravioli and the signature chicken dish. The portions were large, enough to take home. The house salad that came with the entrees was delicious -- picture all types of fresh vegies, fruit, and nuts along with fresh greens. We hope to go back and try other dishes on the menu.....don't forget, it's cash only and BYOB.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Surprisingly delightful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Bring your own wine and bring cash - the best and potentially the worst of the experience - but they do warn you of both ahead of time. Otherwise the service, the food, the pairings of various different foods that one would not immediately put together and the portions were all spectacular. My wife's stuffed haddock was topped with a lobster tail and I had (among other things) a mixed vege and fruit salad with a blueberry dressing that was absolutely scrumptious. Service was friendly and knowledgable. Somewhat overpriced but still worth the very tasty and filling meal. Recommended by several locals, we got there at opening and before too long they were turning folks away - so reserve but don't worry about the time you spend, no one is hovering over you worrying about the next service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband and I have been coming to York for 17 years and this is the first time we have ventured out of our normal dining routine. I am so happy we did! This place is by far THE best we have ever been to around York Beach. The atmosphere and staff (including owner Thea) were remarkable, and the food was to die for! Would highly recommend and already have to family and friends. Can't wait to come back next year.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake City, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This was hands down the best meal I've eaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We picked this restaurant solely because it was close to the campground. We were handed a bottle of wine by a couple leaving who let us know it was BYOB and saw my sad face and empty hands. Great bottle of wine, thank you stranger.
The food was incredible! Lobster purses almost made me swoon. I ate two appetizers, the purses and the spring rolls (also amazing). My husband had the chimichurri steak. We both had leftovers and no room for dessert - which looked delicious going by.
Service was wonderful, and we were amused to pay by out of state check. We didn't have reservations but they are recommended. Do NOT miss this restaurant if you are anywhere nearby.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mardi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frankie & Johnny's Natural also viewed

 

Been to Frankie & Johnny's Natural? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing