We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A summer time favorite - so many choices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Porpoise Creamery - CLOSED

Cape Porpoise Creamery
Dining options: Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Vienna
Level Contributor
92 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A summer time favorite - so many choices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

When I come up to Kennebunkport - Cape Porpoise - there are a number of places to go that are as essential as the beach and the little shops around Dock Square.

The Cape Porpoise Creamery is everything I remember as a kid growing up with the Mom and Pop Ice Cream shops (yes this is a Mom, Pop, Daughter, and Sister operation).

The ice cream they serve is all a product of Maine - and the hospitality is pure down-east. After the beach, after dinner ... heck between happy hour and dinner; there is no bad time to treat yourself. Flavors akimbo - but I'm pretty conservative. Love the hot fudge sundays - and the simplicity of three scoops of Mint Chocolate Chip in a dish.

Trust me on this one. there is no down side to making this stop while up in Maine.

The place is dog friendly by the way.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jhf0924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunk, Maine
2 reviews
“Great Ice Cream, Nicest Owners!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We are regulars at Cape Porpoise Creamery. Not only do they have great ice cream, they are absolutely the nicest people. Know our daughter by name. We love to stop in and support the little ice cream shop down the street from our house. You can't go wrong. These folks also own the Cape Porpoise Motel and get great reviews there as well!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Metravelbug7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing but ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Well, the best things about this place are the location and the view. Love love it! Right on the pier over looking ocean and docks. Fishing town. The service however was not so great- just "so-so", waitress did not show any interest in us or try to make sure we were all set. My seafood chowder was very delicious but was overpriced. We were here for Mother's Day, but did not feel like we were treated very well. So, it's worth a visit if you don't mind those details:)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank debn906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
92 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Picking the Flavor is the Challenge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

The ice cream selection at the Creamery makes every customer act like a kid in a candy shop. Take your time and ask the staff to let you sample the flavors before you make your final decision. (there are no wrong choices). One of the little secrets is that they have crushed coned for a topping - so you can get a bit of the cone crunch added to you ice cream or sundae.

And ... no one ever said that you have to pick one flavor - go ahead and mix it up ... when you go tell them John and Will from Virginia sent you!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jhf0924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Better than Ben&Jerry's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We saw this little ice cream shop on our way to dinner. So we made it a point to stop there for dessert. This little shop has a collection of old fashioned ice cream scoops and friendly employees. A great selection of ice cream flavors. We had a hard time deciding. I chose LL Bean muddy boots, vanilla ice cream wiith carmel swirl and choc. brownie chunks. Awesome! We had B&J's the next day and it didn't compare to Cape Creamery.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank linlamnpa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Porpoise Creamery also viewed

Cape Porpoise, Kennebunks
Cape Porpoise, Kennebunks
 
Cape Porpoise, Kennebunks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing