We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food on the go” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Porpoise Kitchen

Cape Porpoise Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food on the go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I like to stop at Cape Porpoise Kitchen to get sandwiches or dinner to go. The food has always been good in my opinion, and they have a very good selection of wines. The staff were also very friendly, and helpful. I will be stopping back in when in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Slapinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    33
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good picnic fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Decent selection of takeout fresh salads and sandwiches. Nice selection of imported cheeses and wines. Great stop for a picnic lunch! Also has a small selection of nice (not touristy) gifts.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ciaociao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great spot to pickup food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

I have visited this place about six times over my last three vacations to Kennebunkport. Every time if have gotten great food - soups are fantastic, sandwiches are fresh and the food in the deli case is gourmet. I haven't been disappointed yet in the food.

The only downside is slow service. While they make things to order, it can take a while, especially if there are others in line ahead of you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn2124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“High-quality take-out food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is always one of our first stops upon arriving in Maine. We especially LOVE their crabcakes. The grilled asparagus is wonderful as well. There are three or four tables and a counter at the window if you want to eat there. They also have a selection of wine for a last minute stop on the way to a party. The food is good quality and well prepared. We highly recommend stopping in and trying some of their treats. We're converts and we'll be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melaniemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Takeout heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

When husband and I stay in Cape Porpoise for a week or two we always make this our 1st stop to see what we can take home for dinner! The fact that I love to cook goes out the window because why bother when the food here is so good and I am on vacation !
The to go offerings are always creative and delicious, as well as the sandwich list.
The scones and muffin's are simply the best !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mareonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Porpoise Kitchen also viewed

 
Cape Porpoise, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Cape Porpoise Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing