We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for snowsledders”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caribou Inn & Convention Center
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Caribou
Bangor, ME
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for snowsledders”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stay at the CICC every winter. Great location for snowmobiling, right off the trail and next to gas station. Rooms are basic. The staff is outstanding. From housekeeping, to the front desk, to the bar, to the restaurant - they do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. But what really makes the CICC stand out is the Greenhouse food. We have never had a bad meal in ten years, breakfast, lunch or dinner!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBSHOSPITALITY, Owner at Caribou Inn & Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with others. It pleases me that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you find the time to come enjoy our facilities as well as the Great trails we offer. We look forward to having you back as our guest.
Kevin B Simmons
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    32
    11
    17
    7
See reviews for
29
20
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, MA
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This was our 2nd visit to the Caribou Inn & CC. Very easy to get to, right off the main roads(important if pulling a sled trailer). Plenty of room in the parking lot for trucks, trailers and sleds. Rooms facing the outside can give you direct view or your 'toys' as well, for peace of mind - not that it seems needed, but easy to unload your gear and settle into your room. Restaurant & bar in the hotel for ease of meals OR they have mini fridges in the rooms with small sink - perfect to bring some of your own food & munchies. We stayed in some nights and enjoyed meals made in our crockpot for a yummy post ride chili or soup. We also enjoyed choosing from some complimentary breakfast choices (not all just cold options either) or we could choose anything off the menu and enjoy $3 off their already affordable prices. Breakfast for two when we picked our own options was usually less than $8 including tip! I do think this is a weekday option, but even if no deals are running on the weekend, great & affordable way to start your day. As an FYI they also have vending machines for munchies and a quick stop style gas station/gift shop across the street if you'd like something of that nature. We stopped there every day to gas up the sleds before putting them away for the night. So we just geared up and left for a ride every morning - so easy!

Indoor pool and hot tub, Ah-Ma-Zing after riding all day. And they have one of the best and biggest gyms I've seen in a hotel in a long time. Not too busy, so you can get to a treadmill or weights without waiting. I think this is even the 'local' gym folks go to.

Is it the fanciest hotel we've ever stayed in - NO, but we're not fancy people. We like comfort, convenience, and the general friendly nature of the staff - especially the housekeeping - so nice. We love the location and ease to trails - right out the front door. Rooms can use a face lift, but we don't really care about the color of the curtains. As long as the bed is comfy and room is clean - we're happy campers. We were so happy with this place and the affordable nature - we've been back twice and take friends with us when we go. I'd say it's good for couples, singles, families and business if needed. We had a great time

Room Tip: We liked the outside view rooms to have the natural sunlight, but inside are cozy too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NonRevFlyer2342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I was in town for a business meeting being held at this location, so it only made sense to stay here. The funny thing is I had been to this inn when it first opened, years ago and remembered that is was very nice. I asked the clerk what year it opened when I checked in, and she had no idea...she thought maybe in the 80's. That is probably right -- maybe around 1988..ish..
In looking around my room, I think it has the original decor! It's no wonder the place looks tired.
I agree with other reviewers that the staff is friendly, but the facility could definitely use some upgrades to make it look more up-to-date & modern. It was fine for one night, but I definitely prefer the Hampton in Presque Isle.

Room Tip: I had requested a king room on the second floor, but upon registering found out there is no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBRECED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBSHOSPITALITY, Owner at Caribou Inn & Convention Center, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Thank you for given our property high marks on your stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I will forward your comments to the staff. I am sorry you found our property to be “tired”. This surprises me. Yes, the property was opened in late 1989/1990 and purchased myself in 1994. Since then the only thing that has not been updated is the foot print of the property and the hallway walls. All room have been updated 2 times over, with the most recent all new furniture, fixtures, mattresses and carpet. The property had a complete remodel and addition to the restaurant as well as the lobby and the lobby recently upgraded early summer. We are presently installing flat panel televisions upgrading public space and new spreads. In order to keep our rate far below our competition we make necessary changes and upgrades as needed in order to stay competitive and not impact our customer’s value.
We hope to have you back as our guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabrook, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I was very happy with this place and will stay there every time I am up there. It has a nice country setting and the place was clean. It is dated but that goes with the overall charm of the place. Staff are all smiles and willing to help.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
996 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This Inn is the best place to stay in Caribou - but, that isn't saying a whole lot. This is a dated, tired inn;; and, is the best only for being the last man standing. One has to factor in that this is in Caribou, a town which is in decline, bith economically and in culture.

The Inn is generally quiet because of the extensive use of carpet in the halls from floor to ceililng - not a bad idea for them; but, it is dated and a little dingy feeling. The rooms are good sized, but somewhat "dark." The Internet works okay, but the TV kept turning itself off, which was definitely annoying. The TV's are old and perhaps they no longer want to work. The bedding is not very good. The front counter staff are not professional, perhaps even a little "don't bother" in their attitude.

It is called the Caribou Inn and Convention Center, but one gets the idea that it is actually the place where the Buffalo roamed and no one took up after them.

Room Tip: Be sure to stay in an outside room, preferably facing north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherokeeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glens Falls, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed here last weekend and had several problems: 1) the fridge in our room was tiny and the door did not seal properly and was very loose. Our food only got slightly cool and our ice packs did not freeze over night. 2) Huge frustration: we were watching TV and suddenly it shut off by itself! When I turned it back on, it was back to the TV Guide channel and the volume was so low you hear nothing. This is apparently a “reset” for every time the TV is turned off, but when it kept turning off by itself, it was apparent that the hotel has set the TVs to turn off automatically after some period of time. The problem is, if you’re watching a show, it shuts off in the middle of your program, then you waste time turning it back on, trying to remember what channel you had been on (if you happened to notice when you were surfing and stopped on something to watch!), then you have to turn the volume back up to hear anything! I’ve never been in a hotel that’s done this crazy TV stuff before!

3) Our biggest complaint was due to very poor communication: when we checked in Friday evening, I specifically asked if there was a complimentary breakfast. The gal said there was a good restaurant in the hotel and they had reasonable prices and good food. In the room, I looked in the Directory to see what time breakfast was at the restaurant. This is what the Directory states on page 6, under the Greenhouse Restaurant, verbatim: “Complimentary On The Run Breakfast. Redeem your On The Run breakfast voucher for a complimentary limited breakfast menu or $3 off a regular breakfast menu entrée.” In the morning, I called the front desk and told them I had not received the comp breakfast voucher…were they at the front desk? The gal said, “Hold on, let me check.” Check? Either they are or they aren’t! I could hear her typing on the keyboard, then she said because I had been given a reduced rate, I wasn’t given the vouchers at check in. I said, “It doesn’t say here in the Directory that these vouchers are dependent upon the rate you paid! The wording doesn’t discriminate between which guests get it and which don’t!” I also told her that the person who checked us in didn’t tell me that we were not entitled to a comp breakfast because of the rate we paid, and I had specifically asked her about a comp breakfast! So, the gal on the phone, said I could go to the front desk and she’d give me a voucher.

The poor communication doesn’t end here! With voucher now in hand, we went to the restaurant for breakfast. Sign said “Please wait to be seated,” so we waited though it was nearly empty. The only staff person we could see, saw us but picked up a water pitcher and disappeared into the kitchen. She did not acknowledge us in any way. No one else was around so we seated ourselves. Finally a gal came with menus. I didn’t see anything in the menu related to the On The Run comp breakfast menu, so I asked the server what was included on that menu. She stated that the free breakfast voucher was good only for Monday – Friday, and on the weekend we could only get the $3 off each entrée. Again, I refer you to the Directory page 6 wording and no where does it state that this comp breakfast was only good M-F! She pointed out that it says that on the voucher. Again, the front desk gal could have told me that when she handed me the voucher, at which point I would have asked her to show me where it says that in the room Directory! (It doesn’t!) My mom ordered 1 pancake and 1 egg. When we got the bill, only one $3 was taken off, even though the voucher showed it was good for 2 people. I asked the server why there was only one discount and she said it was because mom’s meal wasn’t an entrée! What a scam!

Clear communication is the key to customer satisfaction! Communication that agrees in all places: front desk staff, in the Directory, on the actual voucher, and in the restaurant! This would go a long way to make customers understand what they are or are not getting! Don’t have front desk staff tell guests one thing, the Directory tell something else, the voucher have a third story, and the restaurant staff not be gracious enough to point out what one orders doesn’t qualify!

With these problems, I wouldn’t stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne,WY
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have stayed at this property many times. The AARP rate is $20 less than the Hampton Inn. On the positive side the property havs a very good in house restaurant, lounge, and the largest exercise facility and pool you will ever see in a hotel. They offer a free simple breakafast or $3 off a full breakfast. on the negative side the property is around 20 years old but is well maintained. Recommend an outside facing room.

Room Tip: Book an outside room not facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarvArdieCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caribou
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Presque Isle
Hampton Inn Presque Isle
#1 of 5 in Presque Isle
539 reviews
10.2 mi away
Presque Isle Inn & Convention Center
5.2 mi away
Aroostook Hospitality Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand-Sault Hotel & Suites
20.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 4 in Grand Falls
127 reviews
4.0 mi away
Crown Park Inn
Crown Park Inn
#2 of 2 in Caribou
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribou Inn & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribou Inn & Convention Center

Property: Caribou Inn & Convention Center
Address: 19 Main St, cnr US Rt 1 & 164, Caribou, ME 04736-4159
Region: United States > Maine > Caribou
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Caribou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribou Inn & Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-Service Hotel & Convention Center offers 73 newly appointed and furnished spacious and comfortable guest rooms, two-room extended-stay suites. Indoor Heated Pool & Hot Tub. 12,000 sq' state of the art fitness & wellness center. Restaurant and lounge. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caribou Inn & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribou Inn & Convention Center Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing