We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything is great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Houlton Farms Dairy Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Houlton Farms Dairy Bar
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Caribou
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
New Sweden, Maine
Level Contributor
100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Everything is great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Most visits I will order a soft serve vanilla which is saying a lot because I am a chocolate lover. Add the hot fudge sauce and I am in heaven. Prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spruce92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“YUM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

After being gone for three years, I had to try out the Houlton Farms Dairy Bar and it still is delicous after all this time! I highly recommend it to anyone interested in not only quality but a large variety of treats :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jstroud983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“favorite ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Chocolate... or butter crunch?
Local dairy, local milk, local cows. this is my absolute favorite ice cream, anywhere. A small dish (which is probably all you'll be able to eat) will be about two bucks. You can also find their milk, butter, and ice cream in stores in the area, and they're fabulous, too.
Try the butter crunch ice cream. Chocolate is also spectacular. Banana is outstanding if you can find it. There are also Houlton Farms dairy bars in Presque Isle and Houlton. A friend and I tried to hit all of them in one day once... I challenge you to do the same.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rrruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houlton, Maine
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best there is!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Houlton Farms Dairy has hands down THE best ice cream there is. When going there, I either order just a small vanilla cone, an awful awful which is a very thick milkshake topped with more ice cream (you need a spoon!) or a brownie ala mode but made my special way.....hard chocolate ice cream, brownie and just hot fudge (extra hot fudge!) and that's it.....sooo yummy! No matter what you order, I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom24kats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
225 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great ice cream, great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Huge portions, great ice cream, friendly staff and a great value. It was a very popular place and we went there twice.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank debbymaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Houlton Farms Dairy Bar also viewed

 

Been to Houlton Farms Dairy Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing