We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for sure.....”
Review of The Castine Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Castine Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Castine B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I was part of a small group this past weekend that had seven rooms booked.
We enjoyed our time in Castine. The accommodations were comfortable and the location was perfect for the event that we attended.

We especially enjoyed the kindness and professionalism that Mary (front desk) provided. She handled our reservations with ease, greeted us warmly when we arrived and really worked hard to make sure that we were well cared for. She is truly a great asset to the Castine Inn.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are similar to each other. One room has a tv if I recall correctly but they have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RFrohock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

I'm not going to say how I got my room at the Castine Inn once I climbed up the steps to the wonderful wrap-around porch and went into the lobby, since unfortunately there are people out there who might take advantage of the fact that there are folks in this world who still do business on a handshake.

Anyway, I was sent to a simple but very comfortable room with a view over the harbour, with a window that opened so I could enjoy the early summer air. This is for people who enjoy simple, honest, accommodations and are not always whining after air conditioning and state-of-the-art computer technology. (Hello? Why are you going Down East if not to simplify your lives?)

Breakfast was great, with an enthusiastic young waitress from Verona Island (opposite Bucksport, another little charmer of a place) who introduced me to the equally young (18 - 24?) chef fresh out of what I suppose was community college but a dab hand at what we here in the British Commonwealth would call a first-class English breakfast. (Do you think that in 1814 Castine was occupied by British troops from Nova Scotia might have had a lasting effect?)

And the front-desk lady, who has been there through several of the recent changes in ownership, is steady as a rock. As I sat on the front porch and observed, she directed all the passengers (sailors would call them supercargo) from the windjammer cruise to the showers where they could be clean at last (clean at last! I know that feeling) after three days aboard. It was good to see how the business of the port continues on a day-to-day basis: and the supercargo were mightily appreciative.

So, OK. Don't expect elevators and TVs in every room. Don't expect decor by Gucci, renovated last month. Don't expect computers that work - they don't even have that consistently at the front desk, though (give them time) they print a receipt (with maybe a discount, if you're not a complete twerp).

Expect an old time country inn, with great breakfast and, if you want fine diining, go where they send you - across the street or down to the waterfront. But stay - definitely stay - for breakfast..

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the harbour. In high season, maybe away from the stairs. But in June (an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Excursus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed here recently to visit the Penobscot Bay area and we enjoyed both the Inn and driving around the region. Generally we don't have a lot of experience staying in older facilities and as this Inn dates from the late 1800's it had much charm: like tall ceilings, wavy glass in the windows, lovely and spacious public areas (like the hand painted dining room and tastefully decorated living room),and the great wrap-around porch complete with wicker rockers. But, on the other hand, it does not have some modern conveniences like an elevator and TV's in each room. (it does have a nice flat screen in the common sitting room)
The staff are enthusiastic and helpful. One morning we got a tour of the third floor suites that were quite spacious and had lovely views of the harbor. Our corner room on the second floor was bright and breezy with a more limited harbor view. Breakfast was very good, cooked to order.
One drive we particularly enjoyed was to Stonington, on the southern tip of the peninsula.It is an active working harbor. When we were there we got to watch the lobstermen delivering their catch to the wharf. It was a fascinating and busy scene! It was also an attractive and charming village, on the water's edge.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed at the Inn for two nights--it had been recommended by a work colleague.
The staff couldn't have been nicer. Very friendly and accommodating.
Our room was adequate--a bit on the worn side plus it was somewhat noisy due to the fact that it was at the top of the stairs. But all in all, for the price, it was worth it.
The breakfast was huge (eggs, french toast, juice, cereal, scones, fruit)--and the service was prompt and helpful,
There is a more luxurious inn across the street from the Castine Inn but frankly, for the price, I would opt for the Castine Inn. We were told by the staff at the Castine Inn that the restaurant at the other Inn was excellent. We didn't try it although we did go to the bar and it's worth a visit.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room away from the stairs. Also be aware that there is a certain "institutio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeldamay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We had booked a Suite and a second room and arrived about 4 PM. We were sent to our suite but it had not been cleaned yet so our first impression was not great. The suite consisted of two open areas, one with a king bed and the other with some furniture so not an ideal setting to entertain others in our party. I would give this a small strike two. The bathroom was quite large and mostly occupied by a large bath tub but quite satisfactory. The room itself had several ceiling and desk fans but no air conditioning and since it was pretty warm outside sleeping was not particularly comfortable. We had to leave early the next morning and in reading the Inn Keeper information book in the room it said we could inform the front desk and they would arrange for a to-go meal package. When I asked the front desk to prepare that I was told they did not do that but there was a bakery down the street where we could get something in the morning so strike three. I went do to the media room to use the computer to check-in our flight and print boarding passes. Unfortunately the printer did not work and based on the print files queued for printing it had not worked for a while, another small strike 4.

Overall I would have too say the owners are not paying enough attention to detail and this will hurt their business going forward. We really like Castine but I would not recommend this establishment; in the future we will stay across the street at the Pentagoet Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarB798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Stayed here during some gorgeous weather. Castine is a one horse town but with a good restaurant and enough activities to keep you busy for the weekend at least.
The hotel was pretty although a little dated in terms of the room decor and the sliding door on the shower was no longer on the track. We had a view to the sea just about through some very lush trees, but you do pay extra for it. I'm not sure the extra was really worth it considering you are 5 min from the harbour anyway. Breakfast was very tasty although served a little late in the morning if you are an early riser. They did agree to seat us 10min early one morning. Bit disappointing that there was no tea or coffee available at all throughout the day for guests. I think they just need to get a kuerig or something as there is nothing in the room either. Most hotels offer this now. They do have some drinks out before breakfast but only offer cream to put in them, which totally ruins a decent cup of coffee! There was no one around to ask for milk although they did give us milk at breakfast for coffee. We would stay here again if going to castine, but a few days here and we felt we'd 'done' what we wanted so will probably not stop again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FootsoreUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We just stayed at the Castine Inn for four nights. The rooms are very nice, there's plenty of attractive, comfortable public space inside and out, and the staff goes out of their way to be helpful and pleasant. The breakfasts were wonderful, especially amazing cranberry scones. We did not want to come home. Our only problem was the 'heat' wave, but we knew up front there was no AC. Nice breeze from the harbor and fans in the rooms helped a lot, and eventually we asked if we could move to a lower floor. This was done pleasantly and immediately.

The inn is on the main street in Castine, a block up from the bay. Castine is a lovely New England village, small, quaint, and quiet. Three or four nice restaurants are within a block or two of the inn. We especially loved Stella's. There's enough to do in Castine for a day or two and dozens of gorgeous, interesting places within a 30-60 minute drive. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Room 11 is a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castine
8.9 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
18.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
625 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pentagoet Inn
Pentagoet Inn
#1 of 3 in Castine
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Manor Inn
The Manor Inn
#3 of 3 in Castine
87 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bait's Motel
Bait's Motel
#2 of 2 in Searsport
21 reviews
7.5 mi away
Homeport Inn
Homeport Inn
#1 of 4 in Searsport
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castine Inn

Address: 33 Main St, Castine, ME 04421-3004
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Castine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Castine
Price Range: £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Castine Hotel Castine
The Castine Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing