We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Near Nirvana”
Review of Quisisana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Center Lovell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quisisana
orlando
Level Contributor
537 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Near Nirvana”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We went with high expectations to Quisisana, after having it on our Bucket List for a number of years. This slice of earth not only met, but exceeded our expectations. On a scale of 1-10, this resort is an 11. First of all, it's a campy-like resort, so if you are expecting the Ritz Carlton, don't come here. This spot of paradise is so unique. The staff, not only went through an interview, but also an audition. Why? Because these "kids" are all college students {or graduates} from colleges with strong performing arts programs. So, during the day, they are your beach crew, getting your kayak out for you; or serving you a delightful meal. But in the evening, these college kids, give you the performance worthy of Broadway or Carnegie Hall. There is an opening night review of the week, a night of chamber music, a couple of children's performances {a play and an opera} which the adults should NOT miss, there is Puccini, and a Broadway play, etc. Every night is different, but expansive and absolutely first class. Even opera aficionados will be pleased. Then the next morning at breakfast, you can talk over your server's performance from the night before. If that isn't special, I don't know what is. What else is special at "Quisi"? Well, there are no cottage keys. Where else in the world do you feel safe enough to simply walk out your screen door and carry nothing with you, but your smile? [there is a safe in the office,though] There is also no cell service here, but there is internet service in the card room/office. Also, you are more than welcome to use one of the three phones in little rooms, to connect with family and friends back home. The owners, Jane and her son Sam, think of everything here. There is a little glow-worm flashlight in your cottage, so that you can walk back from the evening performance through the woods with a lighted path. There are umbrellas stashed everywhere in case of rain, but what is printed on the umbrella? Quisisana ~~ We're singing in the rain!! There are cottages right on the water, near the water, and further back in the woods. I would suggest you ask Jane to select a cottage for you, she did a great job for us. Do bring your own hair dryer, and if you want a big bar of soap for your shower, bring that too. With all of this written, I haven't even mentioned the food: it is ambrosia. In addition, there are many choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner. If you need a gluten free diet, not to worry, you will be accommodated. You can BYOB, but only for cabin use. There is a bar so you can have a drink before dinner on the back porch of the main lodge, or with dinner. Many people come year after year, and being "newbies" I was a bit skeptical about that. But, the guests are so friendly, we left with emails of couples who have been coming here for years, in the hopes that we can see them again, same time, next year. And we made some new friends too with first timers like us!! It is expensive here, I will be honest, and there is a 15% gratuity added to the bill, for all the college kids to split. But, where else on this planet can you find a heavenly atmosphere, three gourmet meals a day, and a top-notch entertainment every evening? It's right here, at Quisi. We didn't say good bye to the staff when we left, we simply said 'so long' because we know we will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank EmEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I can't say enough about Quisisana! It's like a full-service camp for the family. You stay in well-appointed white cottages, which sprawl throughout the pine woods--gas lamps affixed to trees, light up the paths after dark. The staff is wonderful, food is always delicious, and the shows at night are truly impressive. It is very family-friendly, although adults without children can easily avoid them; there is actually an earlier "kids dinner" each evening, with activities provided for them while their parents can enjoy a civilized meal in the dining room. The lake is stocked with every floatation device you could want, and staff tirelessly and good-naturedly assists helping you on & off boats, etc. While the beach area is an obvious draw to families, there is a "quiet area" for people who want to read. The guest's every need is considered and addressed. My family counts down the weeks to our time there--it is the one time and place that we can all truly relax. Qulisisana is a delight to all the senses!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A friend & I celebrated our 50th birthdays together here at Quisisana and it was one of the highlights of my life! It is a magical place filled with nature, music, gourmet food, water activities, hiking, relaxing, great service and a young enthusiastic staff. Cottages nestled among the pine trees, music & preforming arts students as the staff, a gourmet chef preparing your meals and catering to your every need! You have found heaven on earth in a small town in Maine! If you enjoy music, food and nature, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bevjmo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Quisisana is one of the best resorts I've ever been to. It's located on beautiful Lake Kezar, so during the day you can read on the beach, play volleyball or tennis, swim, wakeboard/waterski, or take out a peddle boat, kayak, or sail boat. The meals are amazing, and the staff all put on shows at night and many of them actually seem like Broadway quality performances. It's a great resort to get away and unwind - no TV, and very little cell service and wifi... but you don't need it! Quisisana is definitely a place not to miss if you get the chance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
401 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Quisisana is a truly magical place. Imagine summertime in Maine, living in a neat cottage along the shore of one of the most beautiful lakes in the world with a view to the mountains beyond. During the day you play on the lake – swimming, boating, reading, relaxing – and enjoy exceptional meals in the common dining hall. In the evenings, you're mesmerized by the nightly performances given by some of the most wonderful young actors, musicians and opera singers to be found anywhere. And it all takes place in a small performance hall in the middle of the Maine woods! The owners' love for the property shows in everything that happens here, and it just keeps getting better every year. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skgbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have been going to Quisi for years and although the weather isn't always "perfect" the resort is. One of the most beautiful settings in the world !! Quisi is a rare place where you can unplug or at least slow down the pace of our frenetic lives. It's a safe place for little children to play unsupervised and for lovers to enjoy one another.

Last winter, they installed air conditioners in the cabins. When I heard about this I wasn't too happy. I like Quisi the way it has always been and was worried about the noise the compressors would make. Of course the owners of this first class resort were worried about this too. They installed AC's that a as quiet as a whisper. Each bedroom in our 3 bedroom cabin has it's own thermostat. The AC was a great improvement.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

When first getting there, I was not sure if we would be happy. I mean there is no television, cell service is pretty poor, and wifi is only in the main lobby. Well, that is exactly what we needed! To get back nature, and what is really important.... Family! Each day we looked forward to an amazing meal for breakfast lunch and dinner! The food and service was perfect! We enjoyed all the outdoor things. Tetherball, badminton, tennis, volleyball, sailing, kayaking, paddle boarding, waterskiing , and wake boarding. Besides long walks and runs. In the evening the entertainment offered each night was fabulous! All of the staff that serves you all day, now put on operas, musicals, and even jazz and chamber music shows! The talent was unreal! After a week there, I have never been so relaxed! I can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Center Lovell
4.5 mi away
The Old Saco Inn
The Old Saco Inn
#1 of 5 in Fryeburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Bethel Inn Resort
0.8 mi away
Center Lovell Inn
Center Lovell Inn
#2 of 2 in Center Lovell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Noble House Inn
Noble House Inn
#1 of 3 in Bridgton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
11.8 mi away
Oxford House Inn
Oxford House Inn
#2 of 5 in Fryeburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
20.7 mi away
Lakeview Inn
Lakeview Inn
#1 of 5 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quisisana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quisisana

Property: Quisisana
Address: 42 Quisisana Dr, Center Lovell, ME 04016
Region: United States > Maine > Center Lovell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Center Lovell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort with its rooms located among cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quisisana Hotel Center Lovell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing