We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Even in the Rain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chebeague Island Inn
Tarrytown, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Even in the Rain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

The grandparents said they'd take the kids and my wife and I were looking for a place to get away and rest, and we found it at the Chebeaugue Island Inn. The weather was rainy, but we had a great time. We left the car in the ferry parking lot off Route One and took the school bus to the ferry. Taking the short ferry from Yarmouth made it feel like we were really getting away from it all. This was mid-week, before July 4th, and the only people on the ferry (and on the Island, really) were locals coming back from shopping on the mainland. We were the only people staying at the Inn - which was a little strange - but the owner and staff made us feel very comfortable and there were lots of people around for dinner. It didn't feel like The Shining at all! We ate dinner at the restaurant (there's really no where else to eat on the Island, except the Slow Bell or clamshack) and were pleased with the food and service. It's not cheap, but we're from Westchester, NY and the Inn felt less expensive than our local restaurants. After dinner the first night we borrowed lanterns and walked the 1/2 mile down the road to the Slow Bell and had a drink and conversation with the bar tender and some of the locals.
It rained and rained for most of the time we were there. So, we sat on the porch looking out over Casco Bay toward Yarmouth and read. It was late June, but there was a fire burning in the stone fireplace. But finally the rain slackened a bit, so we put on our jackets and borrowed one of the LL Bean bikes from the Inn and rode all over the Island for a few hours. We walked across the dune to Little Chebeague and nearly got stranded by the incoming tide (it comes in VERY quickly). Every car we passed waved to us. We waved back. We stopped for excellent lobster rolls and fries at the clam shack (I can't remember the name, but it's the only one on the island!). By the end of the ride, the sun came out!
The rooms are small, but the beds at the Inn are comfortable and we were so impressed with the pillows that we took the pillowcase off to check the brand - turns out they are Cuddledown, which are made in Maine. They have an outlet in Freeport, so on the way home we stopped and bought two half price pillows - and they're just as comfortable at home as at the Inn.
All in all, it was a great trip - just what we needed for a two-day getaway.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrIves99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    32
    14
    11
    9
See reviews for
21
58
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

One of the best kept secrets. Chebeague Island and Chebeague Island Inn, Both are amazingly laid back yet full of style and unique old world charm in real world luxury. We stayed 2 nights and wished we had planned for more. The great food, small but stylistically decorated rooms, warm hosts and staff, and the breathtaking views of the water was just what I needed to chill out and relax.

Room Tip: Splurge and get a room with a waterview with a bathroom it is worth it to sit on the pot and watch t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7prataap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed here in August this past summer for 1 night and wished we could have stayed for at least 1 more. The Inn is a perfect place for a quiet stay to unwind and get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We booked a Saturday night here on a whim after seeing a deal on a travel site. The island is about a two hour drive and a 20 minute ferry from Boston, so it's quite easy to get to for even a short stay.

I would suggest taking the Yarmouth ferry as it arrives at the northern pier, which is in sight of the Inn itself and can easily be walked to, even with bags. However, they will happily pick you up (at either pier) if you want them to. We had booked a room with a communal bath, but upon check-in we were pleasantly surprised to find that they placed us in a room with its own private bathroom, at no extra charge. The staff continued to treat us with top-notch service during our entire short stay. My girlfriend and I were truly impressed with the attitude and helpfulness of the staff, especially given that we were only staying one night (and paying half price for it, at that!). The girls at the desk explained the island and its sights to us and held our bags for the morning for us as we arrived early and went out exploring. The bartender was excellent, even attempting to make a favorite drink of ours that most bartenders flat out refuse to make (and they were good!). The servers at dinner and breakfast were all very friendly and attentive.

The rooms are small and sparse, but the grand room downstairs is a good place for congregating and spending time instead of in the room. A word of warning, there is no AC. However, we stayed during one of the hotter weekends of the summer and found that keeping the window open and using the oscillating fan was sufficient to keep the room comfortable. I would recommend spending as much time as possible around sunrise and sunset on the porch as the views are fantastic and the furniture is very comfortable.

Make use of the bikes. The bike fleet is in need of a tune-up but is still usable. The island is small but still a little too big to walk end to end (5 miles, north to south, roughly). Of course, they'll drop you off and pick you up anywhere you want to go if you ask someone at the desk.

I would definitely love to come back again and enjoy the tranquility of the island. I might hesitate to spend more than a night or two here as the price tag is pretty substantial, but the experience is definitely worth at least a night.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrendanD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

We arrived at Chebeague Island Inn desperate for some recharging and relaxation on our honeymoon.  It could not have been a better choice.  The setting is beautiful with open views of both the golf course and pristine Casco Bay waiting for us on the porch.  There are 21 rooms here, and their recent renovation is clear.  No detail is overlooked, from vintage-looking fans and lighting to fabulous linens.  Visitors should expect small rooms since the common areas are large and expansive. The new owners are incredibly warm and friendly, and they are clearly committed to preserving the old world class of this historic inn, as well as providing an excellent experience for their guests.  The restaurant, while not cheap, is priced in line with the quality of the setting.  Local seafood, especially oysters and mussels, was a favorite, and the hangar steak with truffle sauce is not to be missed.  We enjoyed kayaking around the island, tennis on nearby clay courts, and a day hike at low tide to Little Chebeague.  Sunset cocktails on the porch or lawn simply cannot be beat.  If you are looking for a high quality getaway with incredible views, Chebeague Island Inn is the spot for you.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AuroreDupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

We visited the Chebeague Island Inn almost on impulse--we'd planned out a Maine trip, saw a deal here, and changed our plans a little to visit. It was a great call. The Inn and the island are beautiful. The Inn's got this amazing greatroom with a big fireplace and boardgames, which made a sort of rainy first night there incredibly pleasant. We ate at the restaurant both nights we were there and weren't disappointed either time. The bikes for riding around the island are a great touch and well worth taking advantage of, and the porch has a great western exposure for watching sunsets. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank complicatedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

There isn't much on Chebeague Island, but that is a reason to go in its own. The only issue I have is I like polished and pristine lodgings and fresh local food. I found both at the Chebeague Island Inn. Unfortunately we stayed the one night of the week that had their "special" menu of old time favorites, such as prime rib, fried chicken, ribs and baked stuffed fish. Although expertly done and very fresh it was too heavy for us. We were looking forward to the chef's light and creative touch using local ingredients. We will have to go back. The rooms were simple, airy, light with some 4 star touches. All in all we had a lovely stay - just don't expect much action. The island is great for bike riding, exploring beaches, sailing and then returning to this lovely historic hotel.

The only reason I didn't give this hotel top rating was service. They tried but mixed up our water taxi plans and the waitstaff were overworked during dinner.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelguide55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

The inn was full of charming historic details...giving you a vacation experience of the past with modern ammenities and features. Exception: several rooms had a shared bath, but bathrooms were extremely well attended by housekeeping... Didnt bother us at all.
Our room was absolutely charming and well decorated, combining antique and modern furniture. Great bed and bedding. Small nice touches like Bigelow lavender body and shampoo products.
Restaurant great, we ate every meal there and staff was welcoming.
Not much to do on island at all, which can be a pro and con depending on your desired vacation. We rode to gorgeous beaches on free bikes provided by hotel, enjoyed sunset and cocktails on the hotel wraparound porch, and caught up on reading.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ach8d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chebeague Island
10.1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
10.5 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
10.0 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
9.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chebeague Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chebeague Island Inn

Property: Chebeague Island Inn
Address: 61 South Rd, Chebeague Island, ME 04017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Chebeague Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chebeague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chebeague Island Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chebeague (pron: shuh-Beeg) is one of Maine's most beautiful islands, currently home to 400 year-round residents, many whose families have been here for generations and many summer families. One of the few remaining inns that once dotted the coast and played an important part in Maine summers, Chebeague Island Inn has been thoughtfully restored to recapture its classic beauty and special place in the island community. Originally built in the 1880s, Chebeague Island Inn has been a landmark and destination for well over 100 years. Just 1.5 hours north of Boston and 25 minutes from the Portland International Jetport, getting to Chebeague Island Inn is easy; and once here you'll feel like you're a million miles away. Dining at Chebeague Island Inn is its own unique and memorable experience, marked by exquisite cuisine, delicious drinks and impeccable service. Featuring seasonal, local ingredients served in creative ways that enable the natural flavors to shine, there's sure to be a dish for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Chebeague Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chebeague Island Hotel Chebeague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing