We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to camp with your family”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damariscotta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Pemaquid Campground
Westford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to camp with your family”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I am so surprised by all of the negative reviews for this campground. I have been camping here every year for the past 27 years. We've taken our daughter for the past 3 seasons now. We just returned from a trip this past weekend. The campground was quiet. The night of the dance- Saturday night- was a bit louder but nothing wild. Our daughter is 2 1/2 and slept like a rock through the whole weekend and she's a light sleeper! This place is meant for families. There is so much to do with your kids- from rentals of paddle boats, motor boats, kayaks, water bikes, etc to weekend hayrides (that are SO SO SO much fun), mini golf, a pool and jacuzzis, a GORGEOUS lake that stretches on forever, multiple docks to swim from and a beach for the kids (the beach is smaller than it used to be but you don't have to rent a beach-front site to use all of it- you just walk down the beach and use it). There are weekly movie nights for the kids, rainy movie nights in case the weather is poor, DJ dances, country dances, children's singers (like Rick Charette), a train ride for the kids, an arcade, etc etc etc. There is SO much to do for families.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank groovytmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    8
    8
    13
    15
See reviews for
35
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Arrived at the gate to register, signs said "stay right to register", but the only place to stop was in front of other campsite entrances. Registered and paid the 10$ deposit for the entrance card (which i did not expect). Arrived at our site up on the hill to find a bag of trash that was torn open and several trash item around the site. We rented a row boat the first day and a motor boat the second , paid deposits for both, like the entrance card, on our credit card, then was informed they could not refund the deposit onto the credit card...had to give cash back. I was looking forward to swimming on the beach, only to see the beach was accessed by a small area , the rest was only accessible if you rented the site on the beach. The bathrooms were clean, the store had all the necessities, the younger staff were pleasant, they had free wifi and were dog friendly. I have mixed feelings about this place....not sure id go back as a first choice. Probably a great place for families with kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Islandgal1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Like dirt? This is the place for you. Camping in the dirt at its finest. Want a cabin? Sure but be ready to pay 6 star rates for a 1/2 star cabin. So you pay top dollar for the cabin then you pay a $200 cleaning deposit. Then check in time is 3:00pm but you will stand in line until 3:30 waiting for the front gate to get the message that the cabins are all cleaned and ready to enter. ( Funny part is they dont actually clean the cabins you have to.) Then you get to the cabin and there is a big sign on the wall that says "since we can't find responsible people to clean anymore cleaning is all on the honor system." ie you clean it. So after you have cleaned and left......the next family arrives and thinks the place is a dump ....then "YOU" lose your $200 and dont try to get it back. (Owner is a Lawyer) Many complaints on this campground are based around the cleaning deposit scam going on there. Also if you like pee pee pools then use the built in. If your looking for a infection then try the hot tubs. If your into losing toes and fingers play on the wooden toys at the playground or take a walk on the dock. If you have 10 kids and all your baby's daddy's are missing ....or If your looking for a campground to sit around in and get totally wasted .... and you dont care about anyone else... Then you will be in good company. Many empty sites this year... I think people are reading reviews.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JLC10756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My mother and father payed for 7 tent sites beside each other for her 6 children and all of our kids. There are no posted speed limits, there is trash everywhere. The quiet time is at eleven pm, but there were people yelling and fighting a few sites over from us until 4am. They were completely intoxicated, and were throwing things. They had kids there with them. Two police cars finally showed up at 4am. The police were actually just driving by because they were already at the campground for an assult at the other end of the campground. This was lastnight. Today we went to the registration to see if they would be leaving, but were told no, because they were not actually arrested, just warned. We will continue to stay because my mother already paid for friday-sunday, but we will never return. If you want to go to a place were there are no rules, there are loud drunks, trash everywhere, and the sites are all tiny and packed together, this is the place for you

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dantone2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

If you like to go to a tailgate party and enjoy drinking a cold beer while your ten yr old runs wild this is probably the right campground for you. We pulled up to a rv park with people playing beer pong Sites are packed in like sardines. You can see your next door neighbors car right near your fire. They have loud parties with a big ampitheater and sorround sound to keep you up right unfil quiet time. The grounds are filthy with trash everywhere. On our night they even have bagpipes until 10 at night, which the mgmt said is ok with them bc quiet hrs dont start until 11. When we camp with our young children we like to teach them the value of the good outdoors, hiking, and enjoying the peaceful outdoors. This campground was horrible, beware!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsham, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

__ this is a bad campground (period) ... the Reviews on Trip Advisor are Shocking about this dump ...... not a campground but , it's More of a " non-working " Hillbilly Hangout for Drunken joes and Hoes .... not safe for children at all ... the cabins are filthy and crawling with insects and Bed Bugs in the old rustic wood .. campsites are way to close and small for campers ... and the staff do not wear any name tags or shirts to identify them as campground employees .. they blend in with the rest of the Drunks .. the hay-ride for children is to Dangerous for kids , as , it is going to fast for campground roads .. the Local Hospital reports of injuries from this campground , almost Daily ... Employees will Not respond to your request for Any help at all . they tell YOU to call 911 .... Yes , the police are there often .. (they should be at the main gate day and night ) ... i would suggest that the police make routine patrols all night and check id's ... parties at sites go on all night . and No Campground security or Staff is around . other than that , it's Not a Bad Place to go Camping ... ( if you're a cracked-out Drunking bed bug ) ... However , - the best part of this " family friendly " campground is , The EXIT Gate .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jamie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Maine
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is the best campground we've ever stayed in. The lake, pool, & hot tub are GREAT. We've never used the sauna. There's entertainment, the laundry facility is nice. The store is stocked w/all kinds of stuff & not too expensive, there is a nearby grocery if you need, The restaurant has lots of choices & prices aren't too bad. Bathrooms are usually pretty clean. Nice dock for boats or swimming from. They are pet friendly. There's movies & cartoons available when it rains. The playground for the kids is very cool w/a short zip line. There's tons of things to do in New Castle, Damariscotta, & Pemaquid Lighthouse is beautiful. We've tried a number of campgrounds & we always come back to Lake Pemaquid.

Room Tip: For us anything near the water is great. If you want quiet & more privacy then choose a site on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PsycoRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Damariscotta
14.6 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
13.7 mi away
Bradley Inn
Bradley Inn
#1 of 3 in New Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
4.1 mi away
Newcastle Inn
Newcastle Inn
#1 of 4 in Newcastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa
16.3 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
5.7 mi away
Le Vatout Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Pemaquid Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Pemaquid Campground

Property: Lake Pemaquid Campground
Address: Box 967, Damariscotta, ME 04543-0967
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Damariscotta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Damariscotta
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maine campground located on a lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Pemaquid Campground Hotel Damariscotta
Lake Pemaquid Campground Damariscotta, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing