We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT family vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Pemaquid Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damariscotta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Pemaquid Campground
sarg08
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT family vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

I have been going to this campground since i was 8 years old. I stopped when i entered college but now i am married and at 22 going back to start the tradition with my husband and sister in law. This is a great place to relax and have your kids play and be safe. As for a previous post with the problems with noise and the sites not being raked. i its a campground and to i know for a fact that you always can get someone in the office just read the info cause they dont allow that.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarg08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    8
    8
    13
    15
See reviews for
35
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2009

We stayed in a cabin June 21 through 28, 2008. The cabin was very clean, all utensils, appliances were there and in good shape. We rented a boat for the week and were out fishing every day. The people at the campground were friendly and helpful, but not intrusive in the least. The kids (and dads) loved the rip wire, and the kids thoroughly enjoyed the old-fashioned (old) playground equipment, gameroom & pool. There were several playgrounds on-site, in addition to the main one by the pool. I would highly recommend this for a vacation where you want to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Make sure you bring games, cards, etc. as there are no TVs in the cabins. The internet connection worked very well, you can sit at the back end of the pool & get a connection while you watch the kids in the pool. We'll definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyBnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Housatonic, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2008

My family has been going to this campground for YEARS now! My grandmother lives in Bremen, so it's a hop to go see her or have her come visit us on the camp site. I'm the eldest child in the family, the others being triplets with Autism. The campground and the owners have always been particularly accommodating for us to have multiple sites next to each other so we can have our RV (for Mom and Dad and one of us kids to sleep in) our pop-up (for two of the triplets) and tents for myself and staff we need to bring along with us. We had a cat that would travel with us when we first started, and now we bring our dog! The triplets love it, it's the one place they don't mind going every year, since they like the dependability and predictability of things. They love the pool and hot tubs, and the other activities they have to offer, and my parents love the spacious sites so they can set up their outdoor kitchen (they met in culinary school so they love to cook!) and the people are almost always very friendly! Our big treat is to get a lobster dinner, and it saves my parents some cooking (sometimes you need a break!) and we always get it from the campground's "snack bar"...who can complain about a place that has fresh steamed lobsters and clams and mussels?!

It's a great place! I don't think we'll stop going any time soon.

  • Liked — Too much!
  • Disliked — Nothing I can think of really.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TrvlwithFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2007

Our family of 5 recently stayed at Lake Pemaquid Campground. Overall, we enjoyed ourselves but we don't have any desire to return. Our biggest concern was that the the beach area where you swim is home to lots (and I mean lots) of ducks and geese. Threfore, the ground is covered in duck and geese poop and feathers. You can get a pretty nasty rash from swimming in areas populated by ducks so we did not swim there at all, though there were plenty of people who were swimming. They do however, have a couple of floating docks that you can swim out to. We tented and the site was average. They do not rake or clean up when campers leave so sites can be somewhat a mess. We did like the tenting areas better than being in with the large campers which is also an option. We weren't happy that they let some people in at 10:45pm to set up their tents right next to us. We had to listen to them hammering tent stakes, blowing up air mattresses and slamming doors until some time after midnight and there is no one around to speak to after the store/office closes. When I told the office the next morning they did not offer so much as an apology. They do have lots of things for kids and families to do like minigolf, tennis, ball fields, skate park, kayaks, canoes, kareoke, dances, swimming pool, bingo etc. Also, the place is very welcoming to people who want to bring their dogs along as we did. The surrounding area is beautiful. We rode down to the coast and ate at Shaw's seafood right on the waterfront. We also found an excellent local swimming hole where we spent a lot of time. We also canoed and kayaked around the lake. They have an island with a dock that you can boat to which is a nice short trip for a picnic. Lots of people were repeat campers so maybe we were just pickier than most but here's the review for what it's worth.

  • Disliked — the baech
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wanatrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2007

Have been going for the past few years and each time it gets better and better. Lobster, campfires and a great lake what more can you ask for...It's the best way to spend a vacation with or without the kids....

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The difficulty in getting a reservation
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rnbsn1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Haven, Ct
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2006

Lake Pemaquid is one of our families favorite places to visit, we look forward to it throughout the year. Lake Pemaquid is peaceful, quiet and surrounded by nature. This will be our 5th visit to the Lake and the last 3 years have included our grandchildren. The town of Damariscotta is just lovely. We enjoy going into town to shop and have a bite to eat. If you like camping, small coastal towns, nature and beauty, I would highly recommend a visit to Lake Pemaquid.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Damariscotta
9.8 mi away
Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa
Show Prices

Been to Lake Pemaquid Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Pemaquid Campground

Property: Lake Pemaquid Campground
Address: Box 967, Damariscotta, ME 04543-0967
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Damariscotta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Damariscotta
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maine campground located on a lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Pemaquid Campground Hotel Damariscotta
Lake Pemaquid Campground Damariscotta, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing