We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite sandwich shops”

S. Fernald's Country Store and Deli
Ranked #7 of 32 Restaurants in Damariscotta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner, Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Houlton, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of my favorite sandwich shops”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

My family has been going to S. Fernald's pretty much since it opened, and I have always loved it. A few months a go my dad and I did have a really bad experience with a sandwich messup and terrible service from one of the workers, but other than that S. Fernald's has always been great. I love the unique atmosphere along with the yummy sandwiches.

Helpful?
Thank Sassiersarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Yikes!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

You'll have to travel a little further, unless you're at home, to find a friendly staff, wonderful selection of sandwiches ( takes a few minutes to peruse the selection) and combos that would match any great deli! You'll like it without a doubt.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I visited the store Sunday for lunch. I was pleasantly surprised by the friendly atmosphere when I arrived. We ordered our meal, which was veggie chili and salad. The portions were huge!!!! I was also very pleased they did not use ice-burg lettuce in their salads. We could have ordered sandwiches, and even breakfast. I wanted to add they offer gluten free items at this deli as well. We ate overlooking the busy street, which allowed us to have a small view of the river. After our meal we browsed the selection of Moxie souvenirs, and dessert items. The only drawback to this deli is it only accepts cash.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlisonM1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth, ma
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We love this place. Every time we are in Maine at our nearby cottage we make sure we go to Fernald's country store for breakfast or lunch and sometimes both. We love their homemade muffins, sticky buns, breakfast choices and their sandwiches. We have tried many of their sandwiches and they use top quality ingredients and they are always fresh, great breads, and are delicious. When we are heading back to Mass. we get sandwiches TO GO for the road.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plymouth_MaAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Big price tag for a sandwich!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

First time customer, I ordered the Dagwood it was really good but pricey! Small little spot on the Damariscotta River. Cozy and inviting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EFW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed S. Fernald's Country Store and Deli also viewed

Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 
Newcastle, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to S. Fernald's Country Store and Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing