We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I shouldn't but I am always glad I did!”

Round Top Ice Cream Stand
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Damariscotta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Friendship, Maine
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I shouldn't but I am always glad I did!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I am a bit over the moon with the Round Top Extra Thick Chocolate hard ice cream Frappe! OK, not from Maine??? This is a milk shake however they never made them like this in Chicago. I like to really pull this frozen delight through the straw (you need to work at this so you can really savor the experience) but do ask for a spoon. Round Top makes their ice cream. They have many, many, many flavors. They also have soft ice cream, sundaes, gelatos, just about anything else you'd expect from an ice cream shop. The place is large and air conditioned. You can also sit out on the porch. Round Top has been in the area for many years and after you visit, you will see why!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank UKloverWaldoboro_ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    17
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houlton, Maine
Level Contributor
85 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tons of choices, delectable icecream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I've been going to Round Top for years, and I love their icecream. Today I tried a new flavor, I believe it was called lots of dough (or something like that) and it was so yummy! Although the line is often long at Round Top the workers are quick and the icecream is worth any wait. Additionally at Round Top there are all the classic flavors along with interesting ones that are unique to the icecream store.

Helpful?
Thank Sassiersarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Maine
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Like ice cream?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Tasty ice cream, great variety, quick service, scenic vista, roomy dining area, interesting things to look at on the walls, and an antique soda fountain.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aerial04530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
462 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“You want ice cream?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Round Top has ice cream! And shakers, rappers, ice cream sodas, sherbet. Not a place for calorie counters. Outside deck with a view. Family friendly with great staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Try the new ice cream made for The First@ 150. The best! Cookie butter and chocolate cookie dough. Yum!

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Round Top Ice Cream Stand also viewed

Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Round Top Ice Cream Stand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing