We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“about its wine club dinners”

Damariscotta River Grill
Ranked #1 of 31 Restaurants in Damariscotta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
182 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“about its wine club dinners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

the River Grill is fine, so I hear - I attend its monthly wine dinners, and they are excellent. Selected wines and innovative cuisine. The chef goes to special lengths, and it pays off - there is a waiting list to join the wine club. I do know that many of the excellent wines quaffed by the club are on the restaurant's regular wine list. Pics here are of the entries at a recent club dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnH1892DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    97
    35
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Friendship, Maine
Level Contributor
108 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“SUPERIOR EASTER DINNER WITH A GREAT VIEW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We decided to not cook Easter dinner at home this year...so we and two friends thought to eat at Damariscotta River Grill. We had all eaten here many times in the past...but it had been about a year since our last visit.
We had never been seated in their back room with a view of the river. To enter the room, one must enter through the kitchen. I felt very much like when having dinner at The Culinary Institute of America in Napa Valley where you have a view of the kitchen and the chefs, cooks and servers at all times. Kitchen noise always makes me feel confident in the quality of the meal.
The back room is well-lighted and comfortable. I was hard pressed not to have the delicious mussels or extraordinary potato pancakes...but decided to have a more conventional Easter meal.
Our group of 4 had baked haddock, lamb and 2 orders of roast pork. Each of us really enjoyed the meal very much. I had the pork loin which was perfectly crusted and stuffed with cranberries, apples and a little cheese, served with tossed fresh carrots, peppers, mushrooms and broccoli, a smashed potato.....wonderful.
Drinks before dinner were just acceptable. Service was good and non-invasive. Left us all wondering why we had waited so long to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pamlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damariscotta, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Damariscotta Favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Great food and great wine in the heart of Damariscotta. During the off season they feature Winey Wednesdays, a selection of wines to accompany your meal for only $10!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midsouth USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“one of best hamburgers I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

I was taken to Damariscotta River Grill by local Maine friends when I was visiting. Location is pictoresque, waitress was fine, hamburger was one of best I have ever had. Would love to go back to have another burger there. (I am 65 and have eaten a lot of burgers!)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunlovermidsouthUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Great atmosphere, friendly courteous servers, good eclectic innovative menu. Dining upstairs and down are equally good though I prefer upstairs. A little noisy. The art for sale on the walls is interesting and a value. The food can go from "the best I ever had" which was the Duck Confit Risotto (the risotto was amazing) to "okay but" as the seafood filet was served (more than once so I guess this is their way) with way too much butter. I'll go back and back again. I like this place. Reservations are necessary Friday and Saturday.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomT4370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Damariscotta River Grill also viewed

Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Newcastle, Mid Coast Maine
 
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Damariscotta River Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing