We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a great meal”

Damariscotta River Grill
Ranked #1 of 31 Restaurants in Damariscotta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Morristown
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always a great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I love this restaurant! As I go to Damariscotta frequently, I am always looking for good restaurants. This one is consistently awesome. I love the barbecued shrimp appetizer and their daily specials are always good. The wine list is extensive with lots of reasonable choices. I make a point of a meal at the Grill when I am in town!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    97
    35
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
175 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent indeed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere, super friendly staff, wildly delicious dinners and desert- chocolate torte and blueberry sage sorbet. Reasonably priced. Fantastic blueberry soda.

Helpful?
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
203 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Reliable, tasty, locally sourced with great wine list”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This summer finds us relying on the River Grill for reliably yummy food before or after arts events like the theater across the street. Sharon's wine list is as good as usual, with Riedel wine glasses enhancing the experience. Staff knows their jobs and will get you out the door if your time is limited. Try the thinly sliced steak salad.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B F H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reisterstown
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pleasurable Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a pleasurable meal at the Damariscotta River Grill. We were seated upstairs, by request. It was a bit noisy, but expected because the restaurant was very busy. Our waiter, Ryan, was very polite and very attentive. I had the salmon with rice and a touch of pickles which was delicious. My wife had the Paella which was very tasty. Our 1 son and daughter had the pasta with vegetables which they said was very good. The other son had the salad with steak which was excellent. Our son's friend had lobster ravioli which was excellent, as well. We all enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jstark5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol Connecticut USA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good over all with some exceptional moments”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Had a very nice dinner here tonight. Initially seated upstairs near the bar but found it a bit loud for our taste. We were reseated downstairs after a short wait and was much nicer for us. I had Duck confit on risotto, duck was great but risotto was a real dish licking triumph. Wife had steak salad, also very good. Another extra special item was the crab crepe appetizer, yum! Our waitress was a bit jumpy and seemed new but she worked hard to please us. A great finish to our vacation.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickyRight2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Damariscotta River Grill also viewed

Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Newcastle, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Damariscotta River Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing