We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Get Away”
Review of Down Easter Inn

Down Easter Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damariscotta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Down Easter Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Damariscotta B&B and Inns
Morristown
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Get Away”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

What a pleasant break from the "always on" world! I spent a long weekend at the Down Easter Inn and it was really nice to get a break from constant technology. The inn has wifi available in common areas, which is great when you need it, but it is also really nice to be able to get away from it and relax. The staff is extremely friendly and the breakfast is wonderful. Not really sure what other reviewers issue is with wallpaper. This is a beautiful home built in the to the 1800's. Why would you want it to look like a Holiday Inn? Great, relaxing long weekend and I look forward to,going back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    1
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The staff were very friendly and considerate, they made us feel welcome.
The inn is a bit rustic, the decor dated and old fashioned, but it is clean and functional.
There was no television or AC in the room, but we were pleased to have the wheelchair accessible room which was huge and comfortable.
The fresh blueberry scones made the breakfast great.

Room Tip: Room 11 was very nice and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venice26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here for five nights. On the positive side: very nice staff, clean room, comfortable bed, decent continental breakfast (delicious scones), and peaceful, quiet setting. It's not modern, and that's OK too. Just know that you may be "out of touch" with the rest of the world due to no TV or phones in room, and no wifi available. This can be a positive or a negative depending on your view. The breakfast is served 8-10AM and the dining room area is a screened porch. It had a nice cross breeze and was usually open in the evenings until 10PM unless the staff went out. Then it was locked and unavailable. On the one hot day, we needed to use the ceiling fan in our room. It's a different kind of fan, more functional than decorative. There is no AC. We had a few beetles flying around our room each night, but they weren't that big a deal. The bathroom was tiny and the shower was cramped. When you bumped the shower door, it would open. But again, it's an older building and this is to be expected. The exterior of the building does seem to need some upkeep. It's a great location and if you don't require anything fancy, more than adequate, but a little pricey for what you get. With a little TLC, it could be so much more.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank buskey2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
352 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

As a Virginian who has traveled to Maine most years for the past 16 - it was part of the marriage agreement - I've been coming here for the last 12. I love the fact that it is family run and I love the people who work here. I have always gotten a great breakfast that includes homemade pastries and excellent service. One comment read that the place is rundown and I feel that is not the case, it is old and it is not a franchise motel that looks like every other franchise motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Our 5 day Maine vacation was anchored from the Down Easter Inn. It's location is perfect for day trips to Boothbay Harbor, Rockport and so many lighthouses. We very much enjoyed our stay at the Inn starting with the home-made muffins and pastries in the morning, all the way to the relaxing atmosphere out on the front lawn in the evening. It was nice to see children playing outside which made us feel at home. The rooms were well-kept and very clean & the decor was typical country-fare. We loved our visit to the area and can't wait until we can get away again and enjoy true country living!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolZ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We felt like family at this charming inn. We met up with some friends to celebrate a milestone birthday with lobster, sailing, and fun. We started and ended our days at The Down Easter. Mornings started out on the Adirondack chairs that were setup in the middle of the front lawn. It was a great place to read, drink coffee and enjoy the fresh baked goods from the continental breakfast. At then end of the day the giant screened in porch provided a nice place to enjoy ourselves.

Room Tip: Make sure you find the time to enjoy the porch. Nice cool breezes and comfy chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJShoreHomeFinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Stayed here for a wedding in Bristol only because it was listed on the couple's site as hotels in the area. Should have done my homework. From first glance, the place is run down. Paint is worn, grounds unkempt. Entering the office area was like walking into grandma's house. In fact, I think it's a living room. Tacky decor, unprofessional staff, and mild mothball smell.

Then the room. Oh, man, the room. More tacky hell. Horrible floral wallpaper, cornflower blue carpet, silk flowers, dated dark wood furniture and oh that wonderful mothball smell again. No AC, but there was this horrid loud "ceiling fan" that was like an oscillating fan bolted to the ceiling. To it's credit, nothing was dirty, just old and depressing. I've stayed in motels better than this.

But a free breakfast! Oh, the horrible, depressing breakfast. Dead silent little dining room with a few tables of people minding their own. Breakfast consisted of store-bought pastries and terrible coffee. And more silk flowers!

All in all, a miserable little place that would be fine for $50 a night. But at more than double that, it leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank getjustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Damariscotta hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Damariscotta
11.9 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
12.7 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
12.3 mi away
Bradley Inn
Bradley Inn
#1 of 3 in New Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
1.1 mi away
Newcastle Inn
Newcastle Inn
#1 of 4 in Newcastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
9.2 mi away
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wiscasset
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Down Easter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Down Easter Inn

Property: Down Easter Inn
Address: 220 Bristol Rd, Damariscotta, ME 04543-4010 (Formerly Inn at Damariscotta)
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Damariscotta
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Damariscotta
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Down Easter Inn Damariscotta, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing